We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our needs”
Review of Tennyson Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tennyson Court
Ranked #32 of 48 Lincoln B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect for our needs”
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Stayed in 3D (Premier Retreat or something similar) during Nov 2010 and found it ideal for our needs. I was at the end of a 5 month trip and was visiting a mate who lives in Lincoln (with his parents) so T.C was ideal for us to stretch out in and enjoy for 5 days. Close to the city centre, some good pubs, eateries etc, safe/plentiful parking, peaceful neighbourhood. The apartment itself was clean, warm, modern, well-appointed and cosy - I don't have anything negative to say about the actual apartment except for the dishwasher not working (well, it was clearly new but I couldn't get it to function for some reason). Other than that, it was a great stay. The only let down is the slightly indifferent character who lives at the front house (manager? owner?). When asked for an extra duvet and some fresh towels, they never arrived and when asked again about them an hour or so later, it was claimed that there were none to give. It all seemed a little too-hard for him and my request had clearly been forgotten. I was certainly not expecting 5-Star service but this was a pretty straight-forward request. You are certainly left to your own devices - which is absolutely fine and understandable - but you shouldn't have to pester people for straight forward requests.

All in all - we had a great stay at TC - definitely served our needs and I would definitely stay again should the chance arise.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nathank1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    26
    10
    11
    17
See reviews for
30
30
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2010

Despite reading some of the terrible reviews about this establishment we decided to take a chance and book for one a night when Lincoln have their Xmas market. This proved to be a costly MISTAKE. Initially Andrew kindly made contact with us to advise us that the market had been cancelled due to the appalling weather conditions. As the weather was so bad this meant that we couldn't travel, and although the terms and conditions state that you can't get a refund we thought that Andrew would at least let us change our booking - even offering to stay for more nights. I am afraid that he has refused to accomodate our request (the room cost an already inflated price o£150 per night) and I felt that I should warn other potential guests that if they intend to visit Lincoln when the Xmas market is being held they should book early with a hotel that offers 24 hour cancellation but DEFINITELY don't stay here! We can't claim the money back on our travel insurance either. All in all a VERY costly and poor choice to have made.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie1960_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_TennysonCourt, Owner at Tennyson Court, responded to this review, 21 December 2010
If you cancel a hotel reservation on the day, you have to pay the full amount. I really don't see what they have to complain about, Tennyson Court was open other guests arrived. It was thier choice not to take up their reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lincoln hotels

nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
214 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2010

10 minutes walk from Lincoln city centre. Ample off street parking behind security gates. Modern, recently refurbished accomodation, ground floor king size bed, comfy pillows, a fantastic wetroom, 1st floor ultra modern kitchen with sitting area, 32" digital tv, free wi-fi. Finishing touches champagne and chocolates. I would highly recommend this Premier Retreat.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfrican2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terling, Chelmsford, Essex
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2010

My good friends booked this two-night break for us, as a 50th birthday present for me. The group included a married couple, two single guys, and me. So the fact that this place, 3A, had a double room, a twin room, and 2 singles, was perfect.
I always do my homework when I go away, and when I received this present, I then went on trip advisor, and looked at reviews. Most were very bad reviews. We were all dreading what we were going to find!
What a nice surprise it was to find this really nice place, everything you need was there. Thank goodness nobody checked reviews before it was booked, as we'd have never gone.
I bagged the twin room for myself, Being a woman I like to have room, and spread my stuff around!
It was a nice walk into town, lots of good shops, lovely sights, walks, the castle was great, the cathedral beautiful. Steep Hill was...very very steep!
Shame about the rain, but we sheltered in a nice pub!
Had a lovely Chinese take-away from the place 5 minutes away.
All in all, a great weekend, and we would definately go there again.
I honestly don't know what some people expect from self-catering. I certainly didn't expect a big freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, coffee machine etc.
Some people are just toooo fussy!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supa_pisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2010

we stayed in 3C - we werent very impressed here are the pointers!

BAD POINTS:
*noisy creaky bed - hard to sleep
*bins weren;t emptied and no bin in bathroom or kitchen
*Pillar in middle of Kitchen which made life difficult
*dishwasher was still full and needed salt in it!
*old out of date food in fridge and freezer from last guests
*no toilet rolls at all, no soap for washing hands and no washing up liquid or cloth/brush
*sofa dirty, worn and springs gone
*kettle full of bits and toaster not safe as no proper lever
*hob old, dirty and took ages to boil water
*bed up in lounge - not requested as just two of us staying!!
*no dvd remote so was hard to watch dvds and a dvd was left in the player when we arrived
*general tidyness left a lot to be desired - need to hire a decent cleaner
*check in was not very good we arranged to get there for 1pm on the day and we were expecting to be met as per booking instructions so weren;t impressed that we had to phone to get the key as stood in rain for 15mins trying to get in.
*given only one dishwasher tablet for 4 nights!
*washing machine smelt disgusting needs cleaning/replacing we tried to wash clothes but it didn't do anything but make everything smell 10 times worse!
*cable is very very basic pretty much freeview
*wetroom was a nice idea but for this you really need a bigger room as it was very cramped and no shelves or handwash again - lovely heated towel rail tho
*the hot water was no existant pretty much we had about 1 min warmish water then cold so we only had one shower- which wasn;t exactly pleasant!!
*also didn;t like how the lights flickered everytime u tried to use any hot water

GOOD POINTS:
*good walk into the centre with shops, cathedral and castle only about 15 mins walk (when u take short cut- 25 if u go normal way)
*good secure gates
*very peaceful as tucked away from main roads
*fantastic mini supermarket 5 min walk away looks small but is massive and has loads of basics to keep u going til you can get to the morrisons supermarket which was approx 25 mins with a good selection of shops/food places around it!

All in all it wasn't the lovely romantic few days away we had expected for our holiday the website promises so much but delivers so little. i know we didn't exactly pay top money but you still expect a good level of basic hygiene and cleanliness and for the management to deliver on what they promise on the website - we are very glad that we did not waste even more money on the retreat room as we can imagine it would be exactly the same! we even ended our holiday a day early due to not enjoying it like we thought we would and this put a huge dampener as it was our first holiday away together and valentines so we had wanted it to be extra special.
lincoln is a gorgeous city and i recommend visiting and being near the centre of town but i would not recommend staying here there will be much better ones around i am sure!
just wish we would of been able to have our money back but at least we know for next time never to book here agin!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveJWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

Stayed at 3B. No staff contact, arrived to a note on a door and phone number to ring.

Double Bedroom - pine bed was incredibly creaky. Every time you turned over it made a noise and this resulted in a bad nights sleep. I have never experienced anything as noisy and have stayed in many beds all over the world. The room was basic but clean. Towels provided had some pink stains on.

Kitchen/Living room area was ok, sofa was like something out of a student flat but comfortable. Clean crockery and cutlery. Even the glasses were extremely clean - no marks when held to light.

Easy to walk to town and onsite gated parking good.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scienceladyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We stayed in 3C and while it wasn't particularly lovely, it was cheap and the beds were clean, although other bits weren't. The sofa and chair were fairly grimy.

I suppose that if we had been stuck indoors with small children it might not have been much of a treat, but I think we got what we paid for and a wee bit more. The locked courtyard, secure parking and free wifi were a nice bonus.

The toaster was a novelty, holding down the button was a new one for me, but it had a kettle, mugs and hot and cold running water.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mspolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
Brayford Guest House
Brayford Guest House
#9 of 48 in Lincoln
5.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Tennyson
The Tennyson
#19 of 48 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pemberton House
Pemberton House
#45 of 48 in Lincoln
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Poplars
The Poplars
#25 of 48 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen In The West
Queen In The West
#26 of 48 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.1 mi away
Longdales House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tennyson Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tennyson Court

Property: Tennyson Court
Address: 3 Tennyson Street, Lincoln LN1 1LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tennyson Court 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering / Bed and Breakfast in Lincoln, Lincolnshire. Set in a 19th-century cobbled courtyard, Tennyson Court was a Victorian racecourse stable. Old beams & wood floors define the classic charm of old England. The building has been elegantly converted, while retaining all the character of the 19th century. Self Catering Cottages in Lincoln, Lincolnshire have 1 double bedroom; 1-3 single or 1 twin & 2 single bedrooms; toilets(s), shower, lounge, kitchen (with dishwasher & washer dryer). Linen and Towels included. Free CableTV, Payphone and FREE Wireless Broadband Internet Access. B&B (Bed & Breakfast) Cottages in Lincoln, Lincolnshire consist of a double bedroom plus 1-3 single or 1 twin & 2 single bedrooms, shower, WC(s) and lounge. Cable TV & Telephone. Continental breakfast included. Secure courtyard parking inside automatic security gates ensure total privacy in an area of the city popular with residents and noted for its quiet Victorian charm and close proximity to the Cathedral, Castle and City centre. (10 min. walk). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tennyson Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing