We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining experience.”
Review of No 14 Bistro - CLOSED

No 14 Bistro
Price range: US$41 - US$51
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent dining experience.”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Good attentive service - excellent food - in heart of Lincoln old Cathedral Quarter. Very friendly and was no problems in retrieving a pair of glasses (next day) we left behind.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Baileyboy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    13
    14
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“French-inspired cuisine, reasonably priced, central for cathedral area”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We ate here twice, once at night and once at lunchtime. The old town area is quite lively at night and we reserved a table to be sure of getting in. It was busy when we arrived at 8pm on a bank holiday Sunday, but by 10.30 we were the last people in there. This seems to be the norm for Lincoln. Decor is modern basic (hard surfaces, wooden chairs) with fun red, white and blue bunting, Miro paintings on the walls and chansons playing softly in the background. There was a large round dark wooden thing in the centre of the room where cutlery etc was stored. If you want a cosy, candlelit, intimate, romantic meal, the atmosphere here probably won't fit the bill as the lighting is bright and the tables are not widely spaced, but couples do come here and at least the hen parties avoided it. The menu is French-inspired, quantities were plentiful, but a couple of items didn't quite hit the mark for me. Little things like very slightly overdone duck and a tasty gravy when I was expecting rare meat and an orange sauce flavoured with grand marnier, nothing horrendous, and when they got it right it was absolutely delicious. I've paid more for a lot worse.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Epicurious01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I and family had dinner here recently while staying a night in Lincoln. It's stylishly decorated with a very upmarket feel, but not too formal. It was busy (Saturday night) with a buzzy atmosphere.

The food was French with a twist - an interesting range of dishes, of very high quality. Prices seemed reasonable at about £30 per head. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

Coming from London, which naturally has a good standard of similar restaurants, I'd recommend this place highly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bf99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice food, good wine, strange staff”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We had a nice meal a No14. The food was good if not exceptional. the Bouillabaisse was good but not very authentic, The Sea Bream was better. The starters were again nice, very large and quite tasty. Wine was good and reasonably priced. My only moan is the staff, for the price of the meal the service was poor, we had to ask for dessert menus and after 20 minutes of waiting i had to ask for someone to take our order. The restaurant has nice food and a decent setting, however the basic bad service and severe lack of input from the staff was a real shame. The seemed aloof and did not want to mix, maybe thats the restaurant owners intent? I cannot recommend the restaurant as there are many more places near by that make you feel like a valued customer and serve food that is just as good as No14.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mta1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely place for lunch”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Delicious lunch - top quality ingredients well cooked and presented. Good service and good value. Well situated in the centre of town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No 14 Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing