We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Marston's Brews Please!”
Review of Lion and Snake

Lion and Snake
Ranked #160 of 453 Restaurants in Lincoln
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
946 reviews
608 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
“More Marston's Brews Please!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The service in the Lion and Snake is always friendly and you can normally find a seat without a problem. I have only drunk here, never eaten, and my only criticism is that as a Marston's pub, the classic cask ales are extremely limited. Often, it's Lincoln Gold and that's yer lot!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    86
    48
    23
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DERBYSHIRE
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Friendly Service and Good Food”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We visited here for lunch on Saturday, we didn't like the look of the other menus on offer nearby (posh and over-priced). The food here is proper pub grub.

We didn't have to wait long for the food and it arrived hot and tasty.

Well worth the money, the staff were helpful and friendly, will definitely visit again if we are in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PINKPRINCESS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I visited the Lion and Snake for the first time after being disappointed by the previous offerings at another local Marston Group pub we used to visit.What a difference.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Soup was plentiful,nice and hot and NOT WATERY.Main courses (LASAGNE AND GAMMON)served on hot plates and were delicious.
Overall we received excellent service,food and hospitality AND VALUE FOR MONEY.and will no doubt transfer our allegiance to the Lion and Snake.
By the time we go again hopefully the young man behind the bar will know how to make a Cappachino properly !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Seven of us ate here for Sunday lunch and we all enjoyed our food. The food was general pub grub and tasted fine.
The service was great and the ambiance was nice. Will go again soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank MissMcJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fab food and Fab service EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We ate here with our two young children on Monday 28 Oct 2013. The service was excellent and the waitress was very good and was very accommodating. I think she had a soft spot for our 6 year old son who was on top form that day and very humorous!

The food was very well priced and we all enjoyed our food. We didn't have to wait too long for our meals to arrive, it all tasted lovely and fresh. We all left full to the brim!!!!

Thoroughly enjoyed with no negatives to comment on. Thank you!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lion and Snake also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Lion and Snake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing