We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!”
Review of The Bronze Pig

The Bronze Pig
Ranked #8 of 467 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$62
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 8 June 2013

After reading such great reviews and anticipating excellent food from Eamonn Hunt (Master Chef finalist)) I rang the restaurant the night before on the off-chance that they would have a space for my husband and I, and to my amazement they promised to squeeze us in. We have been customers at the deli a few times and so knew the quality of their produce is excellent and how convivial Pompeo, the owner is but the service and food last night were beyond our expectations.

When we arrived we were greeted warmly by Pompeo, a wonderful host and you could tell immediately that the atmosphere was relaxed, intimate and very professional. Our table was lovely; sitting amongst the produce of the deli is unusual, but the eclectic decor really works and it creates a slightly off-beat, but cosy environment. The menu itself is small; only four choices to each course, but offers fish, meat and vegetarian options all produce being sourced locally and seasonally. A unique feature of The Bronze Pig is that you can see Eamonn cooking your dinner and plating it up at the pass.

We started with scallops for myself and asparagus for my husband both absolutely delicious, then we both had chicken with a pistachio and tarragon crust and dauphinoise potatoes again amazing. For pudding we shared the stilton which was the most simple of dishes served with walnuts, honey and plum bread, this relied on top quality ingredients to work magnificently. The food was all beautifully presented.

Our evening was quite special and we both left feeling that we have truly discovered a real gem of a restaurant. We hope to return soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vicki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Over the past few days we have had a number of reviews, and we feel humbled by the write ups. What we do, we do out of passion for quality food and service. As restaurateurs is virtually impossible to cater for every taste and meet all expectations. Reviews like the one you and many other diners have written or simply communicated to us verbally, tell us that we are doing something right. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

977 - 981 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

The restaurant is faultless - great atmosphere, great host/waitress - The food was exceptional. Didn't even realize your man in the kitchen was from Masterchef. This is a great place to experience the best food in Lincoln, I really hope everyone has the opportunity to experience what I have.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Many thanks for the short and sweet review. We are glad you enjoyed the experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Little it may be, but the Food and Service really deliver a big punch! Smart or casual, this restaurant is a wonderful eating experience. So comfortable and friendly with great "front of house" service. The food was divine and although only a choice of four Starters, Mains and Desserts, we felt the balance was exactly right. Any more to choose from would have been confusing as it was all so very good! Perfectly crisp Asparagus wrapped in Salami. Sauteed Scallops cooked to perfection for starters. The most amazing Fillet Steak that I can still taste from the memory. And for those that don't eat meat, the most delicious Asparagus and Leek Tart served with baby new potatoes. And that's without all of the little extra sauces and veg. The Panacotta had a perfect wobble, as I heard many other diners comment! Our evening was unrushed and very satisfying. A great evening had by us all. Definitely one for the Phone Book.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jdcannon509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

You are absolutely correct when you say we are “little” and we are glad you think that ‘food and service deliver a big punch’ coupled with unrushed and relaxed atmosphere as this is exactly what we try to achieve. Thank you for putting pen to paper…..or fingers on keyboard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

The restaurant is small and intimate and has decor that is made up of the shelves and goods from the delicatessen that it transforms itself into during the day.

The front of house service is like a soothing balm that is applied to allow customers to unwind and slow their pace so that they can enjoy the food experience.

The menu is simple, with a small range of 1st, 2nd and 3rd courses. The choice available is just right. The food, which is almost cooked in front of you, is sublime. Its wonderful.

However, there are slight imperfections. The wine list is lacking difference, it could be the wine list from a Bernie Inn. Why serve spectacular food that has been crafted and nurtured into something that sings on your palate and then offer a wine that is so so? Its screaming out for a small selection of wines that tease customers with intrigue and stun them with tastes that they have not experienced.

My wife and I ordered a steak to be served 'blue'. It came medium rare. for me the is unforgivable in a top class restaurant. Having said that, the steak was divine.

We will eat here again and next time I hope to give the Bronze Pig a well deserved 5 stars. Maybe.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lymph1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

Thank you for the detailed review. We take constructive criticism seriously as it is in our interest to do so. As such your comments are duly noted. Creating a selective wine list which includes some tantalizing labels while at the same time offering known labels that offer a certain degree of ‘comfort’ to the less adventurous customer is a challenge but we take your valid point on board and are looking at a number of interesting additions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

we were taken to this restaurant by our son and daughter in law when we were visiting them this week. wow what a treat. the menu was excellent the service of front of house and the waitress was very professional we thought the food was the best we have had in a long time we were very impressed with everything well done looking forward to our next visit hopefully in the not too distant future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank keith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2013

We are very pleased that you had a dining ‘treat’ while visiting family in Lincoln. Thank you for your wise words on the night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bronze Pig also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Bronze Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing