We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtesy of Trip Advisor”
Review of The Bronze Pig

The Bronze Pig
Ranked #7 of 467 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$34 - US$60
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We spent a couple of days in Lincoln last week, and needed two restaurants for evening meals. Enter TA, as we had never visited the city, and as usual we find our recommendations from this source. Once again we came up trumps and were very happy with the Bronze Pig. A small restaurant with perhaps 25 covers, with an understandably limited but interesting menu. Fairly busy, but a lovely ambience, with first rate cooking and professional service.
We were not looking for a cheap meal, which was just as well, but you get what you pay for. The cost could have been halved, but it was the wife's birthday and she insisted in coming.
It is unlikely that we will return to the city, but for others, take this as a definite recommendation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank alancgreen8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for your wife's insistence in wishing to dine at The Bronze Pig and we are glad you were not disappointed. Thank you for writing the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

754 - 758 of 991 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you're looking for superb modern english cuisine in Lincoln then you must try The Bronze Pig. My wife and I went with 4 friends all celebrating our respective anniversaries. The menu is compact but you'll not struggle to find a dish that appeals. The wine list is extensive and has been clearly considered to match.

Everyone in our party agreed that the food was outstanding, each course seeming to build on the kast with a balance of favours that delighted. Our recommendations would be the beef, pork cheeks and scallops and chocolate tart. All fabulous demonstrating a level of expertise and skill that underline its growing reputation (we went as a result of friends).

The service was great. Friendly, professional, attentive yet not intrusive. In short, front of house and kitchen work really well and are to be commended.

On my business travels I've eaten at some fantastic restaurants, some of which hold 2 Michelin stars but I can honestly say that The Bronze Pig is up there with them in terms of quality. What is diesn't share is their prices as we paid £45 per head for a 3 course meal with wine and water. I think that's real value for money.

Well done guys, keep it up and looking forward to our return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Day_Meehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

We thank you for selecting The Bronze Pig to celebrate your anniversaries and are glad that you had a positive dining experience. Thank you for your kind and inspiring words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Firstly the booking was done via email, very simple and efficient. We booked mid-week for 7.30 and were offered any table we wanted as they weren't fully booked for the evening, as the night went on however it did get busy so booking is definitely recommended. There are a number of sample menus on their website but it was explained to us that they change them on a daily basis depending on what produce they get. My partner had grilled halloumi and watermelon salad to start and I went for mackerel and manchego. Both lovely. For mains I had slow cooked pork cheeps with scallops and the OH had an artichoke tart. Both came with a good selection of vegetables. We had a nice bottle of red to go with.Desserts were stilton with pear and local plum bread plus a glass of pudding wine. The bill came to over £100 but we weren't complaining. Service was friendly and the table was ours for the evening, this meant we could relax and enjoy our evening and allow the mains to go down sufficiently to enjoy our puds.

One niggle. My partner doesn't eat meat but she does eat fish. Although there was a veggie option each course both the fish dishes included meat. The mackerel came topped with prosciutto and the sea bass dish came with chorizo. It effectively halved the number of dishes my partner could have.

That aside, she loved what she had so we will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SaulMcIntyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for coming to us for dinner and for taking the time to write the detailed review. If, on your next visit, the fish courses on the menu will have some form of meat in them, please ask if this can be omitted when the food order is taken, mention it when you book or call us a couple of days before your visit and we would do our best to accommodate your requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Amazing host ,amazing food ,amazing decor an absolutely fantastic evening will definately be back and have recommended it to everyone I've met since!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for dining at The Bronze Pig and for writing the "amazing" review. We also thank you for recommending our restaurant to your contacts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The food was so good and well worth the price given the quality. Everything was perfect. We were able to get a table right away (on a Wednesday night) so don't assume you have to book weeks in advance to eat here. We are looking forward to coming again to try other things on the menu. By the way, be sure ask for and take note of Pompeo's wine suggestions. How lucky Lincoln is to have such a great restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pompeo s, Owner at The Bronze Pig, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for the review. You are quite correct to point out that during the week a table can be booked with a very short notice.

Thank you for thinking that "everything was perfect".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bronze Pig also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Bronze Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing