We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service”

Stokes Collection Cafe
Ranked #8 of 30 Coffee & Tea in Lincoln
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Say hello to the newest member of the Stokes cafe family, Stokes Collection Cafe. Housed within the Collection Museum, a stone's throw from the Usher Gallery and beautiful Temple Gardens, Stokes Collection Cafe offers museum visitors (or those sneaky souls who just make a beeline for the cakes) a modern haven filled with Stokes goodness. Peruse our menu and choose from the signature collection of blended speciality teas or freshly roasted coffees, or try something even more special from the Brew Bar at Stokes. Our freshly made crepes always tempt a museum-goer or passer-by, especially with live musicians in session to help you sit back and relax. Our menu is bursting with delicious homemade treats, starring lots of locally sourced ingredients of course, and you can enjoy a weekend treat with our Weekend Brunch menu featuring Eggs Benedict, Butterscotch Waffles, and even a sparkling Mimosa or two. We also do some great gluten-free options, and the little 'uns will love our children's menu and play area. Not wishing to neglect our furry visitors, our dog-friendly menu at Stokes Collection Cafe will keep pooches happy whilst they bask on the outdoor terrace. Stokes Collection Cafe is quickly becoming the go to venue for event hire in Lincoln. We cater for weddings, birthday parties, anniversaries, and more. We also host top notch music event throughout the year, so don't forget to join our guest list to be the first to hear about our next soiree.
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Having booked the cafe for my wife's birthday, the planning, service & attention to detail before the event was great.
The excellent food, room layout, attentive staff, good bar prices and helpfulness on the night made it a great time.

1  Thank thompma30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding the event recently held at the Collection café for your Wife’s Birthday. We are glad that everything lived up to your expectations and the party was a success. The Collection is certainly a stunning space for a party and the transformation from day time café to evening venue has surprised many guests in the past.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

Popped in here this afternoon and tried the Kenyan AA coffee. Proper wow factor all I can say is do yourself a favour and try it, i've sampled many a coffee around the town (and Europe), had some good, bad and ugly but this is the one of the BEST. Well impressed with the little place, very friendly staff & looking forward to returning and sampling something for lunch (along with another coffee)

Thank Samdeadwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review and for visiting Stokes at the collection.
We are so pleased that you found our Kenya AA coffee to be to your liking! We have introduced the buono coffee as a way for our clients to try rarer coffees not often offered in most cafés and it is proving quite successful!
Your encouraging comments will certainly be passed on to our staff at the Collection café and also to our master coffee roaster who chose this particular Kenyan coffee from the many samples that were tried before selecting the right one!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you once again for taking the time to review us so positively on TripAdvisor.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013



We have been several times now for lunch at this architecturally stunning venue. Excellent service every time, matching the fine coffees and healthy eating options. The food though not Michelin class is great value, tasty and presented well.
Excellent for young families and for couples, I hesitated as to whether or not advertise it on Tripadvisor or to keep for myself!

Top tip, do make use of the toilet facilities, the architect ensured those spending a penny would not be bored.

Thank ali208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and for sharing your experience of Stokes at the collection.
We are very pleased that you have found the service and food to your liking. The food offering is indeed very different to our more traditional High Bridge Café...
Whilst aiming to maintain the same level of quality and value for money, we have worked hard to develop a contemporary style menu that would match the venue which is, as you mentioned it, a stunning architectural masterpiece... The crêpes, paninis and daily dishes are becoming increasingly popular during the week and we are now offering a Sunday Brunch between 10 am and 2 pm which too, is proving to be an extremely popular & a welcome alternative to the traditional Sunday Roast...
We hope to welcome you back on many more occasions.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

What a big improvement on the former restaurant. The menu is far superior. It's clean and well run. Staff are friendly and helpful. Well worth a visit. Prices are about average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OptimistEastMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive & encouraging feedback!
Stokes took over the running of the Collection café in November 2011 and we have worked hard to “turn it around” to what it is today...Your comments indicate that we are on the right track! We have developed a contemporary menu that offers crêpes, paninis, sandwiches, salads, daily hot dishes, cakes and pastries -all homemade- as well as our famous coffees & teas.
We also aim to cater for coeliac diets, with our gluten free offerings as well as offering a children’s menu that is both healthy & different...
There is even a doggy menu for dog owners that sit on the outside seating area!!
We hope to welcome you back soon & thank you for taking the time to write such positive review.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Its a hidden treasure..as it is set just off the main walkway up the steep hill..could do with a good sign, its a great place to get refreshments before or after the hill climb.
The food is great wether you just want a cuppa and slice of cake or a great snack...im looking forward to visiting again for the new sunday brunch menu..it sounds great!!
Also great to look round the museum..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzie71Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Stokes at the Collection and for your positive comments.
The Collection is indeed a hidden treasure and is slightly off the beaten track, but once it has been found, we hope it won’t be forgotten! The café, situated in the modern Collection museum (next to the Usher Art Gallery) is definitely a "must-see" in Lincoln and is the perfect place to stop off as you pointed out, either before: climbing Steep hill, or on the way down back into town....
And we like to think that the homemade cakes and pastries are worth making a slight detour our way...
The Sunday Brunch is now proving to be very popular and we hope to welcome you to sample some of its delights soon!
Once again thank you for your positive comments.

The Managament

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stokes Collection Cafe also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Stokes Collection Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing