We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cafe With Indoor And Outdoor Seating”

Stokes Collection Cafe
Ranked #9 of 31 Coffee & Tea in Lincoln
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: Contemporary, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Description: Say hello to the newest member of the Stokes cafe family, Stokes Collection Cafe. Housed within the Collection Museum, a stone's throw from the Usher Gallery and beautiful Temple Gardens, Stokes Collection Cafe offers museum visitors (or those sneaky souls who just make a beeline for the cakes) a modern haven filled with Stokes goodness. Peruse our menu and choose from the signature collection of blended speciality teas or freshly roasted coffees, or try something even more special from the Brew Bar at Stokes. Our freshly made crepes always tempt a museum-goer or passer-by, especially with live musicians in session to help you sit back and relax. Our menu is bursting with delicious homemade treats, starring lots of locally sourced ingredients of course, and you can enjoy a weekend treat with our Weekend Brunch menu featuring Eggs Benedict, Butterscotch Waffles, and even a sparkling Mimosa or two. We also do some great gluten-free options, and the little 'uns will love our children's menu and play area. Not wishing to neglect our furry visitors, our dog-friendly menu at Stokes Collection Cafe will keep pooches happy whilst they bask on the outdoor terrace. Stokes Collection Cafe is quickly becoming the go to venue for event hire in Lincoln. We cater for weddings, birthday parties, anniversaries, and more. We also host top notch music event throughout the year, so don't forget to join our guest list to be the first to hear about our next soiree.
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a great little cafe, not really a restaurant that serves both hot and cold meals. Our Grandchildren enjoyed the Sausage Rolls made from local sausages and my wife and I enjoyed the Cold tartlets served with a small side salad. One tip we picked up was that grated carrot served with grated mint works well and was delicious! We shared a large slice or Carrot Cake afterwards which was also enjoyed by us all. A pot of tea for one made close on three cups so was great value. WE sat outside and our order was brought to our table by various members of staff all of which were clean, well presented and friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive comment. Once again, the majority of our food is locally sourced and home made, something in which we take great pride! Our carrot cake is definitely one of our best sellers and as for the prices; we like to think that we offer good value for money…
You can be assured that your positive comments about our staff will be passed on! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions and I may assure you of our best attention.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

Trip Advisor seems to think this is a restaurant, but it is not. It is, however, a very superior museum tea room, and the coffee and cakes are of a very high standard. Reasonably priced too.

There used to be a home-made-style tea room in the Usher gallery, which this has replaced. With much better coffee and cakes nearly as good as the volunteers used to make.

1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Felt I had to write a review to tell others about the Collection. We walked down Steep Hill, Lincoln, with the dog, and sat out in the courtyard which protected us from the wind. Although we only had morning coffee, the service was great - a bowl of water, and even a homemade doggy bone was brought to out dog. The cakes and coffee were perfect and I would recommend it as a great place to sit in the sun and relax - the inside looked modern and comfortable as well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jenny12UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to rate us so positively on Tripadvisor ! The museum and café might be a little of the beaten track but are definitely a must when in the area, and we find ourselves very lucky to be located in such beautiful surroundings… And it is lovely to read that our patrons (and their four-legged friends…) enjoy it too! Thank you also for your comments about our food and drinks, and we hope to welcome you back again very soon!

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have visited here twice this week and will definitely be returning! The food is homemade and this is reflected in the taste. We had paninis followed by a stack of pancakes with banana and butterscotch which were made to order. Devine! Excellent value for money. Staff were also very attentive and polite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vwqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your very positive comments! We are very proud indeed to offer home made and locally sourced food at competitive prices in our café! Crêpes and pancakes are one of our specialities (along our teas and coffees of course…)
We also like to think that our staff are friendly and approachable, and are happy to read that this is noticed by our customers.
We look forward to your next visit and please be sure that your comments will be passed on to our staff.

The management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Having booked the cafe for my wife's birthday, the planning, service & attention to detail before the event was great.
The excellent food, room layout, attentive staff, good bar prices and helpfulness on the night made it a great time.

1  Thank thompma30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding the event recently held at the Collection café for your Wife’s Birthday. We are glad that everything lived up to your expectations and the party was a success. The Collection is certainly a stunning space for a party and the transformation from day time café to evening venue has surprised many guests in the past.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stokes Collection Cafe also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Stokes Collection Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing