We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it.”

Stokes Collection Cafe
Ranked #103 of 447 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Say hello to the newest member of the Stokes cafe family, Stokes Collection Cafe. Housed within the Collection Museum, a stone's throw from the Usher Gallery and beautiful Temple Gardens, Stokes Collection Cafe offers museum visitors (or those sneaky souls who just make a beeline for the cakes) a modern haven filled with Stokes goodness. Peruse our menu and choose from the signature collection of blended speciality teas or freshly roasted coffees, or try something even more special from the Brew Bar at Stokes. Our freshly made crepes always tempt a museum-goer or passer-by, especially with live musicians in session to help you sit back and relax. Our menu is bursting with delicious homemade treats, starring lots of locally sourced ingredients of course, and you can enjoy a weekend treat with our Weekend Brunch menu featuring Eggs Benedict, Butterscotch Waffles, and even a sparkling Mimosa or two. We also do some great gluten-free options, and the little 'uns will love our children's menu and play area. Not wishing to neglect our furry visitors, our dog-friendly menu at Stokes Collection Cafe will keep pooches happy whilst they bask on the outdoor terrace. Stokes Collection Cafe is quickly becoming the go to venue for event hire in Lincoln. We cater for weddings, birthday parties, anniversaries, and more. We also host top notch music event throughout the year, so don't forget to join our guest list to be the first to hear about our next soiree.
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love it.”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

What a nice cafe, they do some really interesting food especially the savoury crepes. Good coffee as Stokes is in a modern, comfortable cafe with good seating. Kids love it as they can spend quite a lot of time playing in the kids bit in the Collection upstairs. Grab a coffee to go and take it to the play area.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments and for sharing your experience at Stokes Collection Café!

We gave a lot of thought to our menu so that it would 'match' the venue and our crêpes are definitely one the food that we are most proud to offer (along with our own-label teas & coffees)… We also worked with the museum (that offers such a wonderful space for young children with the ‘Play’ area…) to tailor a menu for all the ‘Little Vikings’ and Saxon Princesses’ that visit us...
We hope to welcome you back on many more occasions.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    20
    14
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Came here on a friend's recommendation and wasn't disappointed at all.......quite the opposite!! The food was so delicious....heartily recommend the the veggie brekkie.....mmmmm! My friends enjoyed their meals and thanks on behalf of my friend who had dietary restrictions....well done for getting her order particularly right.
What more can I say other than really nice, friendly staff who were always on hand to deal with any requests. Will be going back there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cgwell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your positive review! Our brunch menu has proven to be very popular and was very well received by our customers. We also try our best to cater for people with special dietary requirements (gluten free options, vegetarian, dairy free, etc.) and it is lovely to hear that we succeed. We can assure you that your positive comments about our staff will be passed on to them.
Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to your next visit.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, but disorganised.”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Lovely courtyard where you can sit outside in the summer weather. Pity that the staff appear to be so feckless.

(1) Asked three times whether we want brown or white bread; umm we both have ordered a bagel. Person could not seem to understand this, and kept stating, 'but the till says white or brown bread'...

(2) The actual bagels themselves could not be cut with a knife and fork, as they had been toasted too much. This is why there is a bagel setting on toasters... The deluxe bagel had about a tablespoon of capers, and quite a bit of raw red onion; I'd be surprised if the cream cheese was Philly. A useful tip is to soak onions in lemon juice otherwise you end up with an aftertaste of raw onion for the next couple of hours. The egg which came with the scrambled egg and salmon bagel was overcooked. No one asked if we'd enjoyed are brunches.

(3) Throughout the time we were there, servers would come out asking almost every table whether they had ordered so and so, before finally getting the right people. Get a number service or figure out which order is for whom...

I'd come here for coffee again due to the environment, but would probably avoid lunch until the staff have been trained a bit more.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bathreviewsmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear guest,

We’re sorry that your recent visit to our café was not up to your expectations.
We are very proud to be located in such beautiful environment that is the Collection museum, and always try our best to offer an unforgettable experience to our customers. We regularly get very positive feedback (from visitors and regulars alike) about the quality of our food as well as the friendliness and efficiency of our staff, and were very sorry to read that you had such a bad experience on your visit. Unfortunately, sometimes things go wrong and this appears to have happened in this case.
We cannot understand what would have caused the bread issue, unless it is because the staff member initially understood that you wanted the smoked salmon and cream cheese sandwich? As for the deluxe bagel and the egg and salmon bagel, if you had mentioned the issues at the time we could have rectified the situation. Please note that if there was a problem with table numbers for the outside area, it should now have been resolved...
We thank you for taking the time to review us and be assured that we do take your comments very seriously.
In the hope that if you ever return to the Collection, you will offer us a second chance as it appears, this time, you were very unlucky.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
874 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Great Cafe With Indoor And Outdoor Seating”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

This is a great little cafe, not really a restaurant that serves both hot and cold meals. Our Grandchildren enjoyed the Sausage Rolls made from local sausages and my wife and I enjoyed the Cold tartlets served with a small side salad. One tip we picked up was that grated carrot served with grated mint works well and was delicious! We shared a large slice or Carrot Cake afterwards which was also enjoyed by us all. A pot of tea for one made close on three cups so was great value. WE sat outside and our order was brought to our table by various members of staff all of which were clean, well presented and friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StokesCoffee, General Manager at Stokes Collection Cafe, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your very positive comment. Once again, the majority of our food is locally sourced and home made, something in which we take great pride! Our carrot cake is definitely one of our best sellers and as for the prices; we like to think that we offer good value for money…
You can be assured that your positive comments about our staff will be passed on! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on many future occasions and I may assure you of our best attention.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
208 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“coffee shop”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Trip Advisor seems to think this is a restaurant, but it is not. It is, however, a very superior museum tea room, and the coffee and cakes are of a very high standard. Reasonably priced too.

There used to be a home-made-style tea room in the Usher gallery, which this has replaced. With much better coffee and cakes nearly as good as the volunteers used to make.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stokes Collection Cafe also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Stokes Collection Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing