We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sanctary in the bail Lincoln”

Sanctuary in the Bail
Ranked #84 of 447 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Healthy, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sanctary in the bail Lincoln”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Discovered recently on a trip to the Bailgate , now a frequent visitor ,averaging at least once a week , food good quality, and really great ingredients,catering for everyone ,I'm a vegetarian coeliac, and they were able to cater for me nicely ,coffee fantastic ,gradually taking everyone I know for lunch ,and not been disappointed yet ,always a friendly welcome ,would highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coffeeconiseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    17
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SCUNTHORPE
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My friend and I came across this fab place while on a shopping trip. We popped in for a coffee but on seeing the menu decided to have an early lunch. Simple jacket potato with posh chili (no mince -just proper beef cooked until meltingly tender) and the best coffee you will get in Lincoln was a feast. The staff and owner were lovely and the ambiance was just right. I will certainly be back - soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rubiconbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Truly Scrumptious!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Amazing!!! I visited The Sanctuary on the 1st and 8th February and the food we ate was fabulous on both occasions. Stephen is so lovely and friendly and the atmosphere is very welcoming. The chorizo and bean soup was the best soup that we have eaten for a very long time - a delicious meal in a bowl! The quiches, too are divine and the salads very fresh and interesting. The menu had so many things on it that we would have liked to try and it was quite difficult for us to make our choice! On both occasions we did not have any room to try the cakes which looked equally delicious and tempting and everything is HOMEMADE! Next time I will endeavour to eat cake! The Sanctuary also has a wonderful range of gifts and treats - quite different from those sold by a lot of the other shops in the near vicinity which is so refreshing. I do believe that The Sanctuary is now my very favourite place to eat!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to visit, good food and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Popped in for a drink after walking up Steep Hill, but seeing all the home made cakes on display, could not resist have a slice of Coffee and Walnut cake, which was so large, ended up sharing it. Steven who runs it, is very friendly and always has a smile. Prices are reasonable and seeing over people eating, the salads looked very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter12101948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Superb home made food and cakes to die for!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The title says it all, really. My wife and I regularly eat here, since Sanctuary relocated from The Lawn. The home made soups are simply delicious, the range and quality of the sandwiches and quiches are superb and the cakes are stunning. Everything is home made and tastes delicious. Well worth a visit. Oh, and great coffee, too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dansettemajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanctuary in the Bail also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Sanctuary in the Bail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing