We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to look around”
Review of Lincoln Castle

Lincoln Castle
Ranked #2 of 76 things to do in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Three great attractions. One great day out. Medieval Wall Walk. Victorian Prison. Magna Carta. Enjoy spectacular views across Lincolnshire from our completed Medieval Wall Walk. Visit the David P.J. Ross Magna Carta Vault and see one of only four remaining original Magna Carta along side the Charter of the Forest. Immerse yourself in the lives of prisoners and their daily routines in the Victorian Prison and see the unique separate system chapel. 1000 years of history - where it happened.
harrogate
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to look around”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Although we visited whilst it is undergoing some major refurbishments we could still walk around the garden and part of the wall. A very interesting couple of hours were spent looking around and getting to know it's history. We shall return when the complete refurb is done

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank grebeHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,037
    960
    293
    62
    50
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Free guided tour”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately due to major refurbishments in place not all the castle is available, however with our tour guide-Mark- the visit vas just perfect. He was knowledgeable, as you would expect, yet entertaining, full of stories and able to keep attention of my 7 year old daughter for more than an hour, which isn't easy task. I would recommend to all to go and see.

Helpful?
Thank libor b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great castle”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have been to a few castles, but this is beautiful. They spend a lot of money on it and you can tell. At the time we went some of it was closed off as they were renovating it.
It was a little pricey getting in. I would recommend a packed-lunch as there is a lovely patch of grass to sit on. The castle is up a steep hill from the city center, however I do believe there is a car park nearby at the top of the hill.
Opposite the castle is the cathedral and lovely pubs, cafes and an excellent ice cream shop which is very cheap for the deliciousness of the iced treat!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nut_farm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Curious castle”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Some may be disappointed at the moment (till next summer) as the castle is having a major refurb for the 800th anniversary of Magna Carta. However if you take the free guided tour you will not be disappointed. Our guide was knowledgeable, friendly and had a touch of humour. We will certainly return next year when the whole site will be open.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deeside
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It'll be nice when its finished.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

There isn't a great deal to see but it cost two quid to get in so you can't really complain. You can walk a section of the wall and climb down into an oubliette which to be fair doesn't smell the best, I'm not sure if thats supposed to be the case or some visitors have been caught short :-0. Apart from that there's a carved tree stump and a bust but not much else, the castle is currently undergoing renovation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ali1967Deeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lincoln Castle also viewed

Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Lincoln Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing