We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rest
Ranked #2 of 52 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Truly stunning place to stay on the award winning Steep Hill, Lincoln. We stayed overnight in this boutique hotel and received an incredibly warm welcome. I agree with a previous reviewer this stylishly renovated period property certainly does tick every box. . The location is perfect to explore the wonders that the Cathedral quarter has to offer. Was good to know you can book the entire venue for private functions. A true new gem in Lincoln.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    50
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
284
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

The Rest Hotel is a little gem for the business traveller. Set on a quiet street near the Cathedral, it is perfect for both business and relaxation. The room was comfortable and spacious, the bar, relaxing and bright. Staff were very professional, courteous and mannerly. Would highly recommend this hotel as a base for the region. Could not have asked for more. Will be returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

A stunning place to stay in the beautiful historic centre of Lincoln, a real find. Perfectly placed amongst vintage boutiques and second hand bookshops this stylishly renovated period property ticks every box. We stayed with our 1 year old in a suite, with a separate bedroom, couldn't be happier. Equally lovely for a private romantic stay, shopping weekend or central spot for sight seeing. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

During New Year's Eve break in Lincoln, whilst walking Steep Hill, we came across The Rest for coffee...friendly staff, great building and best coffee in town!
We were shown around this stunning renovation by Andrea, the rooms have been elegantly finished to the highest quality to make this boutique hotel a truly superb place to 'rest'. I am sure we will enjoy a stay sometime throughout 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LellyP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We are so happy to find a really nice place to stay in Lincoln. The rooms are perfect, clean and modern and everything works! The staff are charming and the location could not be better. We fully recommend a stay here. We will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cropwell Bishop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

Great location in the historic centre of Lincoln, fabulous rooms - incredibly stylish boutique decor. Breakfast was great, room facilities second to none - would thoroughly recommend . A hidden gem! We will come back again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We were so lucky to find this gem of a hotel, which describes itself as a boutique hotel. We wanted to visit the wonderful Christmas market (first weekend of December this year) and only found this hotel to stay in, which had just opened. i understand we were the first guests and the first booking. We stayed in Sunflowers on the ground floor which was a lovely room, independently situated and not accessed internally. Despite the hotel's central location in the city, the room was extremely quiet aside from other hotel guests going upstairs and talking - perhaps the first floor would be better .

The location of this hotel couldn't be better as other reviewers have said but it wouldn't suit a more elderly couple because Steep Hill is as steep as you get but so quaint ; i understand it was voted the best street in Britain last year.

We found the decor gorgeous and exquisite, the towels and bedding to die for if not a bit warm for two ladies of a certain age.

It was lovely to have a bath and a shower - rare these days in guest houses. And the bathroom was great.

The staff were lovely; breakfast plentiful even if the sausages were a bit under-cooked! The coffee bar is lovely . We suggested on cold winter evenings that a fresh hot soup would be a welcome addition (particularly for when you arrive and haven't quite got your bearings) but as the hotel is right in the centre of town there are some lovely restaurants and tea shops locally.

I would definitely stay here again if I visited Lincoln if the reviews continue as they are and the couples running it down run out of steam!

Room Tip: Ground floor may be noisier than the first. The room itself was lovely on the ground floor (Sunflowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahPaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rest

Property: The Rest
Address: 55A Steep Hill | Lincoln, Lincoln LN2 1LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Rest 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Hotel Bed and Breakfast Accommodation in the cathedral quarter Lincoln. Situated on the idyllic cobbled streets of the Bailgate, between the Cathedral, Castle and City. The Rest is on Britain's Best Street 2012, Steep Hill. Unique luxury quality accommodation you would expect from a boutique hotel with the friendly informal service of a Bed and Breakfast. Private entrances and excellent location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing