We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Rest
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Lincoln(North Hykeham)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$170
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$85
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveller rating
552
78
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
552
78
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillgarden suiteparish hallvelux windowlovely boutiqueboutique hotelb bperfect locationbreakfast was deliciousironing boardsmall fridgecar parkunderfloor heatinghigh standardbeautiful roomcomfortable bedsmall hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
629 - 634 of 643 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I carefully selected this hotel. The Rest is a superb hotel and wonderful Cafe. 5* in all respects, beautiful room, wonderful bed, excellent hosts. I would throughly recommend you try this little gem!

Room Tip: no advise on rooms to choose they all looked to the same amazing quality!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My wife and I booked to stay at The Rest for a random weekend away from the kids and we were absolutely thrilled with every aspect of it. The position of it is perfect - right in the middle of Steep Hill, just minutes from the Cathedral and Castle. Although it doesn't have its own car park (this would literally be impossible given the position of it) for £5 they provide a subsidised parking pass for the car park just up the hill.

The room itself was immaculate and had a great balance of being stylish, comfortable and homely but with some modern touches where necessary. Underfloor heating, an electric blind on the velux window and an HD tv picture (never understood why some hotels find this so hard to achieve!) reflect the effort to make everything spot on. The shower was powerful and my wife commented that it was good to get a decent hair-dryer for a change.

Breakfast was served in the very popular cafe bar downstairs and like everything else was perfect.

It would be unfair not to also mention the staff who were friendly, efficient and willing to go the extra mile. I had left a bottle of wine outside our room to keep it cool; having seen this, a member of staff knocked on the door with a wine cooler and an offer of some glasses. A little thing really, but a nice touch and the sort of thing that makes a place stick in your mind.

For £109 including the fantastic breakfast, I'd rate this as one of the best value places I've ever stayed. I'm sure we will be back there at some point.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNormanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Truly stunning place to stay on the award winning Steep Hill, Lincoln. We stayed overnight in this boutique hotel and received an incredibly warm welcome. I agree with a previous reviewer this stylishly renovated period property certainly does tick every box. . The location is perfect to explore the wonders that the Cathedral quarter has to offer. Was good to know you can book the entire venue for private functions. A true new gem in Lincoln.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The Rest Hotel is a little gem for the business traveller. Set on a quiet street near the Cathedral, it is perfect for both business and relaxation. The room was comfortable and spacious, the bar, relaxing and bright. Staff were very professional, courteous and mannerly. Would highly recommend this hotel as a base for the region. Could not have asked for more. Will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A stunning place to stay in the beautiful historic centre of Lincoln, a real find. Perfectly placed amongst vintage boutiques and second hand bookshops this stylishly renovated period property ticks every box. We stayed with our 1 year old in a suite, with a separate bedroom, couldn't be happier. Equally lovely for a private romantic stay, shopping weekend or central spot for sight seeing. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews