We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execllent”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

This hotel offers all you would expect from a perfect 5 star hotel! We booked 5 rooms and the apartment they were all amazingly clean and well decorated. Just a minute from the shops and town centre. Totally perfect!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danni094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2012

This hotel doesn't seem to know what it is trying to be but it lacks direction and the service is erratic - all we saw were young staff trying to be helpful but without much sense of what to say / do when things don't go smoothly. It is also very inflexible: completely incapable of serving a cooked breakfast 10 minutes before the starting time for breakfast, despite the chef clearly being there and looking like he wanted to start cooking! It needs managing - and for that manager to be visible.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KandEilidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahA, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

While I appreciate all guests comments and acknowledge the time and effort taken to leave them, I am very suprised by the review you have left. The Hotel has a wealth of different aspects which other guests comment on but it would seem that the Breakfast is the main thing you mention.

Regarding the Hotel lacking drection, we are an Owner operated Hotel and myself or Paul the other owner is in the Hotel every day. We do this to ensure consistency of service and to ensure all guests have a pleasurable stay at the Castle. We actively look for feedback and would have appreciated you speaking to us regarding any issues as it is important to us.

With regard to Breakfast, we offer Breakfast for two hours every day but are more than happy to accomodate guests requirements outside of these times if it is requested in advance. Breakfast times are communicated verbally at check in and also clearly written in the guest information.
The Chef does come in early but that is because all food is cooked to order and does not mean that he will be ready to serve early due to the preparation that needs doing pre-service. Obviously we offer tea, coffee and toast until that point.

As businesses can lose customers over bad reviews, I am glad to say that the vast majority of what our guests leave differ to your opinion but understand that it is your opinion. I just hope other future guests read the rest of our reviews and also that any guests feel able to communicate any issues direct with us as we always react positively to constuctive comments.

Regards,
Saera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Would like to thank the staff of The Castle Hotel in Lincoln for making our stay so enjoyable. We stayed in the Franklin suite, which is a room with views of the castle and the cathedral (the latter slightly obscured by trees).

The facilities were all top notch, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is super close to both castle and cathedral, and also a host of pubs and selection of restaurants.

Would thoroughly recommend if you plan on staying in the Bail area of Lincoln. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The Franklin suite has a bit of character (nice bathroom including monsoon shower) and some nice vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luke_ad_murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Franklin triple aspect room overlooking the city walls with views of the Cathedral.

We like small friendly boutique hotels and were a bit worried when we booked that it would be a too corporate. How wrong we were! Service was so friendly, room was stylish, cosy and of a high standard. Able to park easily at the hotel (a luxury in this historic part of town). Quality bedding, TV and fab shower.

The meal we had in the restaurant was phenominal (and the cream tea we had in our room, even though the kitchen was closed, was lovely). This is definitely 5 star standard but unfortunately, because it's impossible for the building to have a lift, it's also impossible to get the star rating this hotel deserves. Fantastic stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louisepod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We just stayed for one night and would highly recommend this for luxury close to the cathedral and castle. The rooms are not large, and we found it over heated, but everything else was superb. It's certainly worth having dinner in the Reform Restaurant there, expensive but has to be the best meal one could get in Lincoln- imaginative menu, top class ingredients and elegant presentation. The chicken terrine and belly pork as a main were first class!
I'd prefer it if breakfast went on a little longer and check out was 11am rather than 10am - not all mid week guests are there on business!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LFF549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahA, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We value customers feedback and think the points raised are valid - we understand that not all mid week guests are corporate - so we are looking at extending Breakfast and also considering a later checkout in the week to bring it into line wilth the weekend checkout of 11am.
We do always try and accomodate guests requests if a late check out is required but understand that not everyone will ask for this.
Thank you again for this review and your positive comments regarding the Hotel in general and Reform and we hope to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Saera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

We arrived last minute and were pleased to be shown around before booking, The staff - with one exception - were very helpful and obliging. The restaurant is first class but not cheap and we really appreciated the food. We stayed three nights and upgraded becasue being tall we both found the bed in the standard room was too small. Very good location and very convenient: a bit "special."

Room Tip: We suggest you ask carefully about bed sizes. All are quiet (we believe!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Thank you for a fantastic experience - both in terms of the amazing accommodation (we stayed in The Courthouse which is a self contained two bedroomed apartment with beautifully furnished living room and very modern kitchen, not to mention the bathroom with the best shower ever!) and your excellent staff, who are well trained, efficient and unflaggingly polite and cheerful in dealing with guests.

We ate in the restaurant on both evenings and had two wonderful meals. The food is beautifully cooked and presented and the menu is varied with something to suit all tastes. The service was excellent, with the varying courses being served at exactly the right time - not too long to wait between courses, but not rushed either - perfect. Nothing was too much trouble for our waitress who had a lovely smile on her face the whole time we were in the restaurant.

After enjoying such a large dinner on the previous evening, we didn't think we would manage a full cooked breakfast, but manage we did. It was again cooked to perfection with a wide range of choices from a full english to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs to bacon and lincolnshire sausage breakfast baps. Add to this the choice of cereals, fruit juices, yoghurts, croissants etc and the saying "breakfast like a king" was written with The Castle in mind.....

We had a truly enjoyable weekend, and will definitely go back soon. The location is perfect, overlooking both the castle and the cathedral, and in exactly the right spot for exploring the old part of Lincoln. The owners, Paul and Saera, should be very proud of both their hotel and their staff, and what they have all achieved together.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,845 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#2 of 14 in Lincoln
367 reviews
2.8 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: Westgate, Lincoln LN1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
#5 Business Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range: £89 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle hotel and Reform Restaurant is a luxury standard hotel located at the heart of Lincoln's historic quarter, nestled between the historic castle and magnificent cathedral offering views of both the Castle is the perfect location for both leisure and business guests. Reform restaurant at the Castle is an award winning restaurant serving modern European cuisine in a decadent yet relaxed setting. The Castle Bar is open to all for a few drinks or a quick snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing