We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round hotel.”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I really like this little hotel. We booked in last minute as the hotel we had booked was such a let down. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and polite and the room was contemporary, tasteful and comfortable. Lovely shower room and good facilities.
We chose to eat in the hotel in the evening and were not disappointed, it was pretty busy but the staff were really on the ball and food was excellent. I would really recommend this place. Not luxury, but pretty damned good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sholt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 865 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

I am so often disappointed with the pictures on the relevant website compared to when you get there and see it in the flesh so to speak but this time they were a very good reflection of what it was like and we were not disappointed. You won't find a better hotel in terms of accessibility to the town and the castle and Cathedral are literally 5 minutes walk. The restaurant was fully booked with Christmas parties so we wandered into the town for something to eat and there are a lot of different types of cuisine to choose from. Parking can be a bit limited so get there early to ensure a space, the literature tells you that you have to vacate the parking space when you check out but the receptionist advised us we could stay there a bit longer. There does seem to be lots of parking around the town centre and some gorgeous independent shops rather than the same old places you normally see on an average English High Street. The room was recently renovated and everything you would expect from a nice hotel, bed was not as comfortable as it looked - not bad though, just not great. We had a drink in the bar and the ambience was good, very expensive though - it was £15 for two glasses of wine. Our only criticism was the breakfast, it had obviously been prepared earlier and sat under some warming lamps so it was a bit 'sad' when it came out. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place. One observation - there is no lift and there may be up to two flights of stairs.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if you have difficulties getting up and down stairs, ask for one on the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here Saturday 28th December, the staff are very friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean and nicely decorated with a modern but contemporary feel. Breakfast was delicious and a great choice. It's located perfect for a Lincoln visit and we really enjoyed our stay here and will return again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamespb1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Booked one night, the Saturday before Christmas, to spend time just with my husband before the Christmas madhouse started. Lots of other hotels down below near the river but wanted to be in the historic area and encouraged by previous reviews. We were not disappointed - the décor was lovely, view fantastic and lots of interesting historical facts pointed out. Most importantly housekeeping standards to be applauded and also service; very friendly and helpful. Just double check checkout times - I sent the hotel an email (as laterooms booking said 10am) and they replied that it was 10am but for £5 we could buy a later checkout. We thought this was still unlikely for a Sunday morning and indeed on arrival reception confirmed that at weekends it was 11am. Breakfast was very good quality and service in a lovely room.

Room Tip: Executive rooms have a cathedral view, which is beautifully lit up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolinoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

I loved staying here. Great food and lovely rooms.
We managed to get a discount, and compared to lesser hotels in the area, it proved great value.
I would stay here again should I decide to visit Lincoln again.
So clean and well decorated.

Well done to the Management and Staff.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Brummieboxing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I enjoyed my time here. The place is a little difficult to find and signage needs to be improved. Check in was easy. My room was olde worlde but great. WIFI isn't really there, even though I brought an Ethernet cable with me, which for business isn't brilliant.

Food was fantastic, albeit the wine list is a little limited. The only two difficulties I had was the waiter downstairs who was taking orders before we went to the restaurant didn't know his menu, was quite ill informed and one of the girls had to take over. But for that and the WIFI, it would have got 5 stars!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieJo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We decided to treat ourselves and booked the junior suite which was a room called Tennyson. We were not disappoined, the room was decorated beautifully and was very clean with lovely views. Overall an excellent stay and would certainly stay again if we return to Lincoln.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,850 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#2 of 14 in Lincoln
367 reviews
2.8 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: Westgate, Lincoln LN1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
#5 Business Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range: £89 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle hotel and Reform Restaurant is a luxury standard hotel located at the heart of Lincoln's historic quarter, nestled between the historic castle and magnificent cathedral offering views of both the Castle is the perfect location for both leisure and business guests. Reform restaurant at the Castle is an award winning restaurant serving modern European cuisine in a decadent yet relaxed setting. The Castle Bar is open to all for a few drinks or a quick snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing