We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really average hotel”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Firstly the hotel is in a fantastic position for the historical part of Lincoln, other positives include a free car park, modern decor, nice bar and restaurant. But at this price you cannot get away from the negatives: poor wifi that did not work in my room, towards the top of the hotel, which is poor for an executive room. The rooms really are on the small side, while mine was barely acceptable my business partner's really was tiny and yet we booked the best rooms. I also know that tastes differ but I believe it to be a shame that whilst inside of the hotel, you really would not know that you are in a listed building.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank Dominik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahA, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your views on your recent stay at the Castle Hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you have these negative comments as we always ask on departure if everything has been alright with your stay This gives us the opportunity to deal with any potential problems that may have arisen and resolve any issues and we would have appreciated you mentioning them at this point.

The Executive Rooms are not the best rooms as you stated, they are in fact the standard rooms of which they are all the same size so I can only assume that your colleague was in the Single Room. This room is smaller but still has a double bed and is clearly for one person.

The issues with Wifi we were unaware of but have not had all areas tested. We do have boosters on all floors to alleviate any problems but unless we are told of any issues, we cannot address them.

With regard to décor, the building is not listed but we worked had to empathise with any original features left in the building when we took over - of which there were few. As you also put décor down as a positive I am unsure why it is then a negative.

Again,we encourage guests to talk to us while still in-situ to give us the opportunity to ensure everyone leaves having had the best possible stay.

Regards,
Saera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Recently stayed at this hotel as part of a winter break and loved every minute of it, from attentive staff members to the fantastic food in both the bar and Reform restaurant. This boutique hotel has a fabulous feel to it as soon as you walk through the door which flows through to the luxurious rooms where every single detail has obviously been well thought through. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

It was spotlessly clean with everything having been thought of. The beds were about 4 ft off the floor and my son felt like a king! It's in a great part of a beautiful city and the views are pretty good too.
All of the staff were very friendly with one young lady even offering advise on the university!
Only eat breakfast in the hotel and that too was lovely.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Chubbychubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Needed a couple of days away to recharge before returning to work after the Christmas break and this hotel was just what we hoped for. The hotel has a lovely ambience as soon as you enter. We found all the staff to be very pleasant which makes the stay so much better. This is our third trip to Lincoln and The Castle Hotel is definitely the best we have stayed in. See you next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in 202, and had a lovely view of the cathedral. The room isn't huge but was big enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pogopope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Having stayed in nearly every hotel in Lincoln including it's closest competitors; The Bail House and Charlotte House Hotel, we can firmly say this is by far the best.

Service was second to none, food was gastronomic perfection (I asked for my steak blue, and it actually was!) and the rooms are furnished to a high standard.

We stayed in the Bador Suite and the view of the castle at night was gorgeous. The only thing we could say is that the rooms could be bigger, but they use the space well and I had to find something to put!

Even if you don't stay here - try the Reform restaurant. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a name - these are suites and placed on the end of the building and therefore hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IamJelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I really like this little hotel. We booked in last minute as the hotel we had booked was such a let down. The staff were extremely helpful, friendly and polite and the room was contemporary, tasteful and comfortable. Lovely shower room and good facilities.
We chose to eat in the hotel in the evening and were not disappointed, it was pretty busy but the staff were really on the ball and food was excellent. I would really recommend this place. Not luxury, but pretty damned good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sholt66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I am so often disappointed with the pictures on the relevant website compared to when you get there and see it in the flesh so to speak but this time they were a very good reflection of what it was like and we were not disappointed. You won't find a better hotel in terms of accessibility to the town and the castle and Cathedral are literally 5 minutes walk. The restaurant was fully booked with Christmas parties so we wandered into the town for something to eat and there are a lot of different types of cuisine to choose from. Parking can be a bit limited so get there early to ensure a space, the literature tells you that you have to vacate the parking space when you check out but the receptionist advised us we could stay there a bit longer. There does seem to be lots of parking around the town centre and some gorgeous independent shops rather than the same old places you normally see on an average English High Street. The room was recently renovated and everything you would expect from a nice hotel, bed was not as comfortable as it looked - not bad though, just not great. We had a drink in the bar and the ambience was good, very expensive though - it was £15 for two glasses of wine. Our only criticism was the breakfast, it had obviously been prepared earlier and sat under some warming lamps so it was a bit 'sad' when it came out. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place. One observation - there is no lift and there may be up to two flights of stairs.

Room Tip: There are no lifts so if you have difficulties getting up and down stairs, ask for one on the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,869 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
560 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
369 reviews
2.8 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Address: Westgate, Lincoln LN1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
#5 Business Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range: £93 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle hotel and Reform Restaurant is a luxury standard hotel located at the heart of Lincoln's historic quarter, nestled between the historic castle and magnificent cathedral offering views of both the Castle is the perfect location for both leisure and business guests. Reform restaurant at the Castle is an award winning restaurant serving modern European cuisine in a decadent yet relaxed setting. The Castle Bar is open to all for a few drinks or a quick snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing