We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Haut Cuisine done properly!”
Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
151 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Haut Cuisine done properly!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated on the North side of WestGate in Central Lincoln. It has limited on-site parking.

The Reform Restaurant is located on the Ground Floor and serves non-residents. Booking is recommended.

Service is a little slow, but the quality of food (and wine) served here is outstanding. Haut Cuisine beautifully presented, in sufficient quantity (so often not the case) and tasting delicious. The staff are attentive and very friendly.

This is not a cheap restaurant, but with quality matching the best on offer in London it is worth every penny!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IanGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    254
    67
    25
    15
See reviews for
77
503
34
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had booked a table for 6 people to celebrate my daughters graduation. We asked for pre dinner drinks to be served outside but we're told this was not possible as the outside area was closed because of an issue with licensing. The bar was oppressively hot and I could not face the prospect of dining in such conditions and therefore we cancelled our booking. The 3 staff in the bar were not at all bothered and seemed glad at the reduction of their work,they were extremely flippant and told me they had a fan which was equivalent to their air conditioning. I was not encouraged to spend my time and money there. Disappointed !

Room Tip: More than my jobs worth govnor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mollieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahA, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
I was interested to read your review but unsure why it was left as you had not actually had a drink, food or stayed at the Hotel but seemed to be simply judging us on the heat of the day. Something clearly out of our control.

We are unable to serve drinks outside due to our Licensing restrictions and not simply a whim, it is something we are appealing but staff were simply doing their job by enforcing it. Your table was booked for 7pm, the point at which we cannot serve drinks outside anyway.

Your guests seemed happy in the bar and it would have been the Restaurant that you dined in so your comment of not being able to dine in the oppresively hot Bar seems bizarre. My staff were concerned by your actions and no, we don't have air conditioning, do many hotels in Lincoln?

It left us with a table of 6 that we could have sold to other guests. The rest of your party seemed happy to stay but maybe you should not dine out until after this hot spell.

Trip Advisor is an opportunity to leave reviews following the quality of food, accommodation, ambience, etc. Not just to judge a place in 5 minutes for reasons outside of their control.

Regards,
Saera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel has a great location, near the castle and cathedral, in a very pleasant and bustling small city, Lincoln. It's a great place and walking up and down Steep Hill is good fun - strenuous on the way back.

We stayed in one of the newly renovated (newly acquired?) cottages next to the hotel. These are neat two-bed terraced houses with a small courtyard at the rear. This 'service apartment' accommodation was just what we wanted, comfortable and well modernized, as we had one of our adult children visiting with us. The few problems seemed to stem from the newness and related teething issues. For example, no locks on bedroom doors or bathroom; there was no dishwasher although advertised as having one and this is a self-catering unit (a space was provided - still "on order"), etc. However, for us, the main problem was no wifi although this was also promised on the web. They got us a wifi 'dongle' for our laptop but unfortunately it barely worked. Wifi was crucial for us in choosing this hotel and cottage.

The manager and his staff did their best to try to rectify problems that were essentially beyond their immediate control. Reception staff were great and friendly; one of them gave clear and precise written directions to drive to a supermarket on the peripheral road system. Apart from the few above problems, we had a very pleasant stay, in an excellent location for seeing the city of Lincoln. Parking is a bit tight in the spaces immediately outside the cottage but the hotel will allow you to park in the main hotel forecourt or rear carpark if need be. Saturday night was a busy and lively time in the hotel and there was a fair amount of noise from a club opposite although not of any great disturbance to the cottages. Sunday was quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: The cottages at the moment don't receive the wifi from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LPfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed in the hotel for a weekend break with some friends. We loved it, we stayed there last year for my birthday and we loved it so much we went back this year . If i have to say anything bad about it , it would be that the bedrooms were very very hot and that was with a fan. Its so clean and very tidy the bathrooms are very clean n look brand new . I would recommend this hotel for any one to stay, the location is great some great little pubs and restaurants (Gino's) . We will be staying there again very soon .

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were greeted by a friendly quietly spoken receptionist who was very welcoming. We asked for a late checkout and even though they didn't normally do them on a week day they didn't hesitate with allowing us one absolutely free of charge. We were shown to a beautiful room called Franklin that was immaculate and beautifully furnished. The hotel was so clean and tidy. There was no speck of dust anywhere! They bathroom looked brand new it was incredibly clean! The whole place was immaculate. We even started to look for dust and couldn't find any! The furnishing were comfortable and relaxing they have blended old with new amazingly well. They should be proud of all the finishing touches like quality napkins, cutlery ect as they were to a very high standard. All of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful and what appeared to be the manager worked extremely hard along side his staff. Every member of staff was well spoken and gentle. Nothing seems too much trouble. We have been to a lot of hotels but can confidently say this was one of the best services we have had. We highly recommend a stay here and can confidently recommend Franklin room as a beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: Franklin is a beautiful room with panoramic views of Lincoln cathedral and castle. There are cobbles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Csarina77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Recently stayed at the Castle Hotel for a weekend break in Lincoln and to attend the nearby Waddington airshow. We had not been to Lincoln before so did not know the hotel from personal experience at all but we were not disappointed in any way shape or form.

From the minute we arrived to when we left we received polite and efficient service, excellent food and wine and the whole place is just of obviously high levels of quality and makes you feel comfortable and able to relax.

We ate in the restaurant on Saturday evening and it's fair to say it was full but at no stage did service standards drop/slip and everything we had to eat and drink was superb.

We wouldn't say this is a cheap place to stay but it's value for money for what you receive and we are certain that it would be a real struggle to be disappointed at this hotel.

A highlight (other than all the nice things above) was just enjoying a drink on the hotels terrace looking toward the castle and taking in the early evening sun - very nice thing to do!

We would have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BazWestYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Castle Hotel has been excellently modernised and has views to the cathedral and castle. Its location in the heart of the old city cannot be beaten. We arrived early, but were able to leave our bags so that we could go off for a wander before coming back to check-in. Room was modern, clean and comfortable and looked out over the castle. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent and service was attentive despite it being a busy Valentine's weekend. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and first visit to Lincoln, so will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlAndDeirdreL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.2 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#7 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
0.1 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#4 of 14 in Lincoln
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
2.8 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lincoln City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: Westgate, Lincoln LN1 3AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lincoln
#5 Business Hotel in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle hotel and Reform Restaurant is a luxury standard hotel located at the heart of Lincoln's historic quarter, nestled between the historic castle and magnificent cathedral offering views of both the Castle is the perfect location for both leisure and business guests. Reform restaurant at the Castle is an award winning restaurant serving modern European cuisine in a decadent yet relaxed setting. The Castle Bar is open to all for a few drinks or a quick snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Lincoln

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing