We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feels like home”
Review of Orchard House

Orchard House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lincoln
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Orchard House
Ranked #43 of 51 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

As a member of a visiting choir in Lincoln Cathedral I spent (after last year the second time) nine nights at Stephen's splendid b&b in short distance to what's important in the city.
Where to start? Best. English. Breakfast. Ever. Caring and selfless host. Refreshing garden - spent a lot of time in it since the weather was warm and sunny all week long. Tasteful and elegant interior design. Did I mention the breakfast?

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbuechler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had to go to Lincoln for a meeting in town so only had the one night B&B. This looked by far the best location for us and it WAS. 15 minutes to the waterfront, High Street and Castle. Warm, welcoming hosts - room was beautifully decorated and with great view over Lincoln. Breakfast was the tastiest we'd ever had.

Although we are not the type to return to the same place we certainly WOULD do here - so lets hope we pass that way again soon!

Room Tip: We had the front family room - a double bed and single with small shower room. Well presented - but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This comfortable and welcoming B & B is in an ideal location for exploring Lincoln. Views from our very clean,large, warm and well decorated room were great and we were within walking distance from all of Lincoln's attractions. Steve, the host, is very accomodating and breakfast was a delight -top quality ingredients, excellently cooked and plenty of it! The breakfast room was lovely. The garden deserves a mention, although because of the weather we didn't take advantage - the garden is so pretty and well designed that on a sunny day it would be a delight!

Top tip - park the car at the B & B and explore Lincoln (and it's pubs) on foot

Great value - will go again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stoupa321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

My wife and I and another couple recently stayed at this B&B for a weekend in Lincoln. We had been to the owner's cafe in the city on a previous visit to Lincoln, (also superb), but this was our first stay at Orchard House. The house is well presented with a lovely well maintained back garden and well located a relatively short walk from the main tourist attractions of the city. Due to our late booking reducing the room availability, we had the twin room with private bathroom which was clean, well decorated and pleasant, but our friends had one of the double rooms with en-suite, which was a lovely room and would be our first choice in future. The owner is extremely pleasant and helpful and and a very good cook, ensuring we had a thouroughly enjoyable breakfast in the pleasant dining room. We plan to return again in future and would have no hesitation in recommending this place to our friends.

Room Tip: All rooms seem very pleasant if you get a choice go for one overlooking the garden it's lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robandeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I recently at this fabulous bnb and I must say I have not stayed in such a lovely place for a long time. Our room had a huge bath and lovely decor throughout. Stephen is such a lovely host and gave very good tips on where to go and eat, the cooked breakfast in the morning was delicious and strawberries were even available one morning!!! I would definitely stay here again and perhaps for longer. Thank you Stephen!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loobie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We were just having a night away from the kids. .we arrived early and was accommodated straight away. .Steve our host was so helpful and welcoming. .breakfast was lovely I am a vegetarian and have allergies but I was offered alternatives.. Never having been to Lincoln before we were given a map and told of all the places to go and not to go which was great. .when we checked out we were allowed to leave the car so we could go sight seeing again . . .thank you for a great stay we will be back (if your not off living it up:-) )

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skinnymin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just an overnight stay for my wife and I whilst attending a family function. As the others rooms were occupied we had the twin room with no en suite. As this was the only room with no en suite the rate was lower but we had exclusive use of bathroom opposite our room, so we were happy with the room facilities and overall comfort.

The location is just a 10 minute walk from the centre of Lincoln with all its amenities.

Stephen (the proprieter) made us feel very welcome and cooked us a fabulous full English breakfast in the morning.

All in all the stay was a good experience which I would be happy to repeat.

Room Tip: Only 4 double/twin rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
3.7 mi away
Ibis Lincoln
Ibis Lincoln
#1 of 2 in North Hykeham
759 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bentley Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,845 reviews
3.1 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House

Address: 119 Yarborough Road, Lincoln LN1 1HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range: £55 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing