We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy & comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Mrs Miria...
1 review
“Cosy & comfortable”
Reviewed 31 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A lovely quiet cottage, comfortable beds & all we needed for our stay. We especially enjoyed the honey - and seeing the bees flying around gathering more.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
1 Sep 2016
Thanks for this Miriam. It was a pleasure to have such guests, especially leaving the cottage is such excellent order - including stripping beds!
Many thanks..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petange
Warrnambool, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage in the country but so close to Lincoln”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This cottage is set apart from the main house, but has parking next to the cottage. It is small, but has all the amenities you could require, including breakfast provisions. This cottage is fresh and modern and not cluttered with ornaments and doilies. The owners are friendly and helpful. A lovely break, thank you.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Uncluttered
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatnDave
Perth Hills, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quiet, Perfect Country Stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

If you are looking for peace and tranquility with the convenience of being just a short drive away from Lincoln this is for you. The little cottage is well equipped and suitable really for just a couple (maybe 1 child). It is small, clean, warm and very cute and has everything you need. We loved every minute of being there, it gives you a taste of country living. Peter, the host, is wonderful and is there in the seperate lodge should you need anything but certainly respects your privacy. We loved it so much after staying for one week we returned for a perfect finish to our holiday for another 3 days.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet coupled with convenient location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
You are most kind. And you were the perfect guests. I do hope your return journey was OK - albeit long!

Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tess W
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“A superb place to stay”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed in the cottage at Dunster Lodge and Peter (the owner) made us feel extremely welcome and he carefully took us through the property to explain everything that we might need to know. It was a very homely cottage, beautifully renovated and equipped with everything that you could possibly think of and more. It was really warm and cosy and simply perfect for our short stay. The cottage is set on the outskirts of one of the most beautiful villages in Lincolnshire. There's no amenities in walking distance but we didn't need them and being a farmers daughter, I'd trade amenities for a 'green view' any day of the week. When we did venture out, the shops, restaurants and petrol station were only 5 or 10 minutes in the car anyway. There's also a beautiful marina at the top of the road.
What we liked best: the tranquil setting, the architecture of the property, the complimentary bacon, eggs, bread, milk, butter and honey that Peter left us in the cottage, the great shower, the stunning handmade quilts, the super thick duvets and the fact that we felt very at home. Will definitely visit again.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the tranquil setting, the architecture of the property, the complimentary bacon, eggs, bread, milk, butter and honey that Peter left us in the cottage, the great shower, the stunning handmade quilts, the super thick duvets and the fact that we felt v
Liked least: Nothing, it was perfect.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G4764ZLju...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage with very hospitable owners.”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Surrounded by apple trees, which we were allowed to pick from,this was a beautifully situated cottage within about 3 and a half miles from Lincoln.
The owners could not have been more welcoming. A fridge containing butter, milk, wine, etc.
and bread, a coffee machine with a supply of coffee, eggs, honey, (produced on the premises)
and many other little treats were left for us.
Peter took time to explain how everything worked, ( wood burning stove, coffee machine, radiators, etc.) and was very quick to come and fix a slight leak in the bathroom.
The only thing I missed was a bathroom shelf to arrange all my make-up on. Comfortable beds with pretty patchwork quilts made by Julia.

Date of stay: October 2015
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Thanks Julie - I had been thinking about a shelf. I shall now think some more! And maybe act...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage on the edge of town/countryside”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here just for a couple of nights with our son who is age 2. We had a great time. The cottage owners have thought of almost everything. The bread, bacon, milk and eggs were a fantastic touch. Especially the very local honey :)

The owner brought down a train set for my son to play with, which was really nice. He enjoyed roaming the garden collecting sticks.

This place is would be perfect if it had a small outside washing line somewhere. But I am just nit picking now.

We will hopefully come again one day.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location of property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Aug 2015
So glad you liked the place. The clothes airer under the main bed was my attempt at drying facilities - but I take your point!

Best wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraint20...
Chepstow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in a rural setting, very friendly owner”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed for four nights in late June, to watch the national cycling championships. The cottage was on the course (the Lincoln GP circuit if you're a cycling fan), with access to lots of great roads to cycle on, and it's walkable into Lincoln in an hour or so. It's also near to local bridleways which are great for walking the dog.
The check in process was very flexible and simple, the owner took time to show us around, the cottage is very well equipped and spotlessly clean, there are lots of thoughtful touches to make it feel like a home from home.
The kitchen was easily the best equipped of any place we've rented, with all the pots, pans, crockery etc you could want, a coffee maker, dishwasher and washing machine, and a few bare essentials like eggs and milk in the fridge to keep you going until you can get to the shops, plus basic condiments that cost a fortune to buy if you don't bring it with you.
Our large dog was welcome and there was space for him to run around the grounds. Everything worked perfectly, there were no problems with anything and the owner was friendly, welcoming, and keen to ensure we were happy there.
Our only minor criticism was that the bed was a bit narrow for us (4' wide), but there are two bedrooms so that wouldn't be a show stopper for next time.
Overall we throughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back and/or recommend it to our friends.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well appointed cottage, friendly owner, lots of thoughtful details, allows dogs
Liked least: The 4' bed was a bit narrow for us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.