We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good coffee!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pimento Tearooms

Pimento Tearooms
Ranked #4 of 32 Coffee & Tea in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, good coffee!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Wow! I've never seen such a choice of coffee though the rare ones are very expensive - over £4 per very small, one cup cafetiere. There were enough vegan options on the menu and the food was good, if not stunning, and the portions were small. The side salads were very good and I'd have liked to have had the option of a selection of salads for lunch as enjoyed them more than the mail meal. They also have a choice of vegan cakes but these aren't stunning either. The carrot cake was a bit greasy and the date and oat slice my friend chose was very dry.

Cafe full of character and a choice of tables or sofas which was nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cypo1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    69
    17
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good for Vegetarians and Vegans”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Nice little tearoom serves vegetarian cakes and lunches. Two vegan lunches available and 3 vegan cakes. Good friendly service and nice food. Cons: needs redecorating and furnishings need to be updated. Outside toilet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't miss this hidden gem”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Beautiful tucked away tearoom with all veggie menu. Don't be put off by the lack of meat though because this is the scrummiest cheese on toast you can buy and the portions are very generous! Try the Welsh rarebit, it is really good. They also do soups, salads, cakes and sandwiches.

Impressive tea selection, though I almost always have the "tea of life"... possibly just because of the name and the purported health benefits :)

Really nice place to have a girly sit down or to take visiting friends and relatives after you've made them walk up Steep Hill!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great little place to eat & drink......”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I know the tearooms because our poetry group, aptly named the Pimento poets, use it for poetry readings each month.

It has an excellent selection of teas, coffees and snacks and the service is excellent.

Call in......you'll find it's a lovely environment and great for making new friends. It is conveniently situated at the tiop of Steep Hill............

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gorseinonboy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“A good location, peaceful and an inexpensive place for a light lunch”
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We almost walked past Pimento while looking for somewhere near to the cathedral where we could have lunch. This is because the emphasis seems to be upon the shop it forms part of so it lacks clear signage that would make it more noticeable.

As you go in walk straight ahead and go up the stairs to find the tea shop, which is on two levels. As you go up you will find a small area with three tables at the head of the first flight of stairs that proved to be a fairly quiet spot even though at first sight there are going to be people passing all the time to get to other parts of the cafe. The counter and more tables can be seen straight ahead here, but if you go up the stairs to your left you will find another room overlooking Steep Hill.

Your order will be taken at the table and there is a specials board in addition to the menus on the tables. On offer are a range of light meals including jacket potatoes, soups and salads, with slightly more elaborate fare on the specials board. My wife and daughter decided to have the pea and mint soup, served with home-made bread (£3.95), while I opted for grilled halloumi and garlic mushrooms with basmati rice in a mascaponi sauce (£5.95). This came in a dish with a small side salad beside it. A range of teas and coffees are on offer.

Pimento’s was fairly busy when we arrived and achoosing our seats we were attended to in about 4-5 minutes. Our coffee arrived in about 5 minutes and our food about 15 minutes later. The soup was enjoyed and proved to be very tasty. My wife thought that my dish would have benefitted from a little more halloumi and I agreed, finding it underneath the mushrooms. As a dish it was pleasant but not particularly flavoursome and considering the low cost of the ingredients adding a little more salad would have made the dish look much better value, though at £5.95 for a main dish Pimento is not an expensive place to eat and for vegetarians a rare treat to find a place where the whole menu is acceptable.

On a practical note, if you need the toilets you will find them through the door immediately to the right past the counter on the main level of the cafe. This takes you into a small yard and turning left and heading up the steps in the corner brings you to the toilet. You can pay at the counter or at the table, but if you choose to pay by card you will have to go down to the shop where the card reader is located.

We found Pimento to be a very pleasant and peaceful place to take a break from our visit to Lincoln where we could have lunch. It’s location on Steep Hill also makes it a very good spot for anyone, like us, aiming to visit the local attractions like the cathedral and the castle. If you want a restful lunch without having to trek away or downhill from the main points of interest then Pimento would be a good place to look out for.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geobar01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pimento Tearooms also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Pimento Tearooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing