We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food good service good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cheese Society

The Cheese Society
Ranked #9 of 448 Restaurants in Lincoln
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$18
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Specialist cheese shop and cheese eatery, located in the Cathedral Quarter of Lincoln. We stock a wide range of local, British & Continental cheeses and serve a select range of hot and cold cheeses dishes. Enjoy loose teas, fresh coffee, wines, beers, ales, ciders and soft drinks
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food good service good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We ate at lunchtime. Nice imaginative menu good value and good service Would recommend and would certainly go again

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ElsieLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    97
    17
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
134 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A Lovely Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

A lovely meal served wonderfully. Hidden away a bit near the bottom of Steep Hill, this place could show some posh restaurants a thing or two. Lovely main courses and splendid puddings. Can't fault it one little bit.

Do go, you too will be surprised.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank davidblades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A grown up experience.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had our second visit today and had breakfast. The food is lovely but needs more cheese in the breakfast menu. The changes made recently to move the shop to other premises have left the restaurant more open and not so cramped. Having paid we received a voucher for 10% off at the shop, which we made full use of. We have always been aware of the no under 10 policy and fully support it. It's a place for us to go on our 'days off' from being parents and be grown ups. The food is very good quality and this is reflected in the prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LincsLass34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Shocking food and service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were shocked at the poor food and service we had after reading the other reviews on here. We had hair in our food and when we complained were greeted with hostility and accusations we had placed it there.

We went to the shop round the corner to complain to the manager who again did nothing to resolve the situation, no discount offered for the poor food, and no apology.

Will not be returning again, or recommending it to anybody else.

my suggestion is to give it s wide berth..

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Nadra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KAOM52, Owner at The Cheese Society, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
I would like to completely refute your review regarding your recent experience with us. There were four of you dining. You were all dealt with courteously and in fact your daughter was asked if she wanted a new meal preparing. She was not charged for her meal despite the fact that the problem was not of our making, her food did indeed have a black hair on top of her food (and not in it), but she was the only person with black curly hair in the restaurant, none of our have black curly hair. The plate was inspected very carefully. I had been fully informed about the problem prior to your visit to me at The Cheese Shop. You were very aggressive and would not listen to reason, you changed your story regarding the colour of the hair, and it seemed to me that all you wanted was not to pay for all the four meals in question - despite there being absolutely nothing wrong with either the food or the service. It rather felt like a blackmail situation. I felt that my staff dealt with the situation in a very professional manner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Indulgent and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The tartiflette is beautiful and the overall atmosphere is very welcoming. I understand that the no under 10s policy can put people off, but speaking as a parent of a 4 year old, I like having some 'grown up' time, even though it means that I can't visit as often as I would like. The staff are very knowledgeable and I purchased a range of cheeses for a dinner party which my guests loved.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cheese Society also viewed

 
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
Lincoln, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Cheese Society? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing