We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Staff & Service!”
Review of Charlotte House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Charlotte House
Ranked #15 of 49 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Staff & Service!”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My recent visit to Charlotte House Hotel in Lincoln was a magical experience. Staff were very professional and smiling all day and evening. I am a wedding photographer and rate the experience 10/10. Grace, Dan, George and Lewis are also stars as they were exceptional!! TOTAL PERFECTION!. Fantastic wedding.

Room Tip: 4 post beds are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
100%, wow, many thanks to you. It's always nice to see that the outside agencies and associated businesses that we work alongside, are able to recognise the hard work and dedication that we put into our operation.

We will look forward to many more successful events being hosted from our fantastic venue.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    117
    49
    33
    27
See reviews for
100
210
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The hotel is set in a nice position close to the castle. It is ideal for exploring Lincoln and is perfect for a location from where to head out on foot to explore. The staff, quality and condition of the hotel we found to be spot on. Staff were very helpful and our room was clean, well furnished, cosy, quiet and very comfortable. If we were to stay in Lincoln again this is where we would stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FandJPithie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
It seems that your review is full of praise for our offering here at CHH. We will of course be delighted to welcome you back upon your next visit to Lincoln.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Where do I start? Perfect venue for our sobs wedding. The staff were fantastic from start to finish, special thanks to Grace (events planner) & Johnny (general manager) who had everything planned perfectly. I would highly recommend Charlotte house if you are planning a special occasions. Thank you to everyone who was involved in a very special day xx

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tiggerb1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
No need to thank us, it's just what we do. Over the years we have become recognised as one of Lincolns most trusted and loved wedding venues. With a great venue, as well as top service and food to match, we are proud to play a part in these most special of days.

We hope to have you back here to enjoy other event offerings, keep an eye on twitter/ facebook or our website for updates.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment with another couple,this was excellent value for money compared to 2 x double rooms ( stayed in double room in July and was just as lovely) with huge shower room,beautiful good sizes rooms with gorgeous four poster beds, amazing bathroom with bath and huge shower, very friendly staff, breakfast also very yummy, plenty of parking in public carpark if there is no room at front of hotel, overall a very high standard hotel that is centrally located for Lincolns historic area, and a short walk to high st for shopping.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
It's always reassuring to hear that our guests are enjoying their stay with us. The design of our 2 bedroom suites allows for maximum enjoyment at a very cost effective rate of pay. I hope that you bare us in mind next time you return to lincoln, we will be thrilled to welcome you back.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Wow! What a fab suite. We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. There was a wedding on and they had all the other rooms and we had the suite booked. We had no problem with the facilities. We ate elsewhere and spent all our time shopping! The rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was wonderful - fab shower. Certainly would stay again.

Room Tip: Suite overlooking the Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyhackLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, Reception Management Team at Charlotte House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review.

Your comments are very much much appreciated and we are pleased to hear that you made the most of our envious location. The cathedral quarter of Lincoln certainly does offer up some fantastic bars, restaurants and boutique shops.

We are delighted that the accommodation and facilities we have to offer were to your liking and we hope that you will come and stay with us again.

Kindest Regards

Sian Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

We were guest at a wedding.very nice.but nothing special. We had been told best hotel in lincoln.but I think not. Cannot comment on bedrooms as stayed elsewhere.food was ok but just adequate think it should have topped up more.it was a hog roast veg very spars.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harveysgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, Reception Management Team at Charlotte House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review, we do greatly appreciate all feedback good and bad.

We are disappointed to hear that your experience at Charlotte House was not as great as we had hoped. We are pleased that you enjoyed the wedding overall and I can confirm that your comments regarding the hog roast have been passed on to the head chef, who will keep your suggestions on board for further events.

We do hope that you will come and stay with us sometime and sample one of our beautiful castle view bedrooms.

Kindest Regards

Sian Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

Could not fault the wedding experience for my son and his lovely new wife. Food was very good and everyone seemed happy, certainly had everything set up as per the instructions! As a guest who stayed was slightly disappointed in as much as we had to pay for parking in the main car park£12 in total and my husband had to go out before 8am to put more money on as the overnight runs out at 8 am! I am sure some deal can be done with Lincoln city council and yes I know there were free spaces outside the front door but there was a wedding going on! the cars would have been intrusive and at risk of high spirits! The suite we had was very nice, we knew we would overlook the orangery but did not mind. It was lovely although would have thought that mould on the shower should have been dealt with (mould & mildew remover circa.£2.95 any supermarket) as even with the wedding discount the rooms were more than that I would normally pay so expected something special.other slight niggle was breakfast as we felt like naughty children as we had been told on check in breakfast was at 9.30 and then were told if we did not go to breakfast by 9.30 we would miss it! My poached eggs were hard which was a disappointment. Overall for a wedding venue it was excellent as a place to stay for a break I would expect a bit more customer attention for the price.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lindilou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sian B, Reception Management Team at Charlotte House, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Charlotte House.

We are thrilled to hear that your son’s wedding ran smoothly and that you all had a memorable time celebrating such a special occasion.

We sincerely apologise for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Car parking is limited however we do try our utmost to fit as many cars in as possible. Available parking does include spaces outside of the venue and we do have a small selection of parking passes for the adjoining public car park. The spaces outside of Charlotte House are frequently used by guests as they provide safe, convenient parking for a stress free visit, however, we do understand if you felt these spaces were too close to the celebrations of the evening. I can confirm your comments regarding the cleanliness of the shower have been passed onto housekeeping management and the issue has been rectified. Furthermore we do sincerely apologise for the disappointment with breakfast, the chef has been advised to ensure these inconsistencies are not repeated.

Once again thank you for your review, we do hope that should you return to Lincoln, you will come and stay with us again and give us the chance to turn your 4 star review into 5 stars.

Kindest Regards

Sian Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,751 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
344 reviews
2.9 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Lincoln
Holiday Inn Lincoln
#9 of 14 in Lincoln
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte House

Property: Charlotte House
Address: The Lawn Centre Union Road, Lincoln LN1 3BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Charlotte House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Charlotte House Lincoln you're more than just a customer - you're our guest. Our warm welcome is extended to all our guests whether travelling on business or leisure, Charlotte House is located opposite Lincoln Castle and Cathedral. With 14 unique rooms and suites and a choice of contemporary or traditional to choose from there's something to suit everyone's taste. We specialise in events and weddings, but ensuring a good night sleep is our main priority. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Charlotte House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing