We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embarrassingly bad”
Review of Charlotte House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Charlotte House
Ranked #15 of 48 Lincoln B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Embarrassingly bad”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Everything started so well we were provided with drinks and lead to our tables at a reasonable time but that's where it ended. To say they may have been understaffed is a bit of an understatement. We were literally waiting an hour between each course. The starter of smoked salmon was nice enough but you can't really ruin a simple serving of salmon can you? The main on the other hand was one of the worst meals I have ever had the misfortune of eating. That wasn't before the waiters and waitress's had finishing throwing cutlery and empty glasses every where which was slightly embarrassing for all concerned and a little bit dangerous with all the broken glass on the floor. But anyway I kid you not the roast potatoes could have been used as a deadly weapon they were that hard. The turkey was like rubber and the vegetables were lacking in quantity, It seemed the food had been sat under a heat lamp for 3 years therefore the meal was ruined. Somebody complained and we were provided with complimentary wine, maybe to try to get us drunk so that we would forget how traumatic the meal had been, and then another hour later dessert was served and by then I think people had stopped caring if it was coming or not. Again it was a simplistic chocolate cake which was nice enough but couldn't have made up for how terrible the main was. Shortly after that it was already 10:30 and we couldn't get out quick enough. Terrific venue but an absolute horror inside, approach at your own caution.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Tholt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Kindest regards for taking the time to review our Hotel, I am only sorry that it is not under better terms. We have been offering high quality/ bespoke weddings and party menu's here now for several years and very rarely do we get things wrong. I am pleased to hear that on the night in question we did attempt to compensate for any shortcomings, I can assure you and other readers that measures have been made to avoid any future upset.

I hope that we can make next review of Charlotte House more positive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    116
    49
    33
    27
See reviews for
98
210
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Poor Christmas Party. Food was minimal, cold, overcooked and very late. Three hours to be served dessert, which was the best course as it didn't seem to have been made in house. The tables were overcrowded so that we didn't have enough room to eat. I was tucked in the corner by a drainpipe. They weren't ready when we arrived, so we ended up crowded in a tiny bar area. I felt for the waiters and waitresses as there seemed to be no one in charge, as well as the girl from our company who organised the event for us. It was embarrassing, will not be returning.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Birdie_1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
I am very sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your Christmas party, I can only apologise for your experience. Please note that your comments have been acted upon and that improvements have been made. I will personally look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel, should you give us the opportunity to put things right.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Very poor experience at a Christmas party night last night 20th dec 2013. Service poor - no one managing the service staff - late in setting up and service ran from starters at 7.30 until desert finally received at 10 pm ! Food was very small portions, roast potatoes reheated more than once and veg arrived much after the meat. Also we were squashed into a very tiny space. Very disappointing for 60 plus of us at 28.95 per head !!!! How do they cope with weddings ?!? Only positive in our evening was our party always make the best of it and had a good time despite Charlotte houses best efforts !!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Having read your review, it seems that the only crumb of comfort to be taken from it is that you and your party managed to enjoy your night. I do hope that a situation arises where you will be happy to return to Charlotte House, we'd love to put things right!

99% of our events are expertly executed, we're currently working on that final 1%

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Usually difficult to find a decent hotel in Lincoln that is central, quiet enough to get a good night sleep, safe on site car parking & affordable. It is getting incredibly expensive to eat, stop over & park in Lincoln so this place is a bit of a gem. Rooms are really nice/classy, well equipped with soft towels, robes, toiletries, tech, even straighteners! Staff are young friendly which is nice to see. The only thing that would have been good is if food had been available during evenings as we got there late & didn't actually want to venture out to eat. But appreciate that you want guests to sample the city in its entirety.

Room Tip: If you see pay & display meters you are in the wrong car park. Make sure u go under barriers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makka78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
It seems that you enjoyed your time with us at Charlotte House as much as we enjoyed having you! We have noted your comments regarding a food offering and will put it to review in our next meeting.

We will look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We found this hotel a few years ago by accident but have never been disappointed with our stays there. The hotel is comfortable, has a family feel about and the staff do every thing they can to make you feel welcome - nothing is too much trouble.

Great location, great breakfast and very reasonable.

Worth a stay, or two or three ....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotelreveiwer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Many thanks for your your review! Our regular customers are a testament to the great work being done at CHH. I will await your next booking!!

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Great hotel, helpful staff, lovely location, high quality rooms, superb breakfast... what more Can I say?

Would definitely go back and would certainly recommend to others.

The resteraunt was closed when we stayed due to a wedding taking place, but there are lots of good quality places around to eat instead.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P99ull1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Your compliments have been gratefully received, many thanks. You know where we are for your next visit to Lincoln!!

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Firstly, this is not a bad hotel at all. But I don't think that it is the "boutique" hotel that it describes itself as.

It is in a great part of Lincoln - opposite the castle and just 5 mins nice walk to cathedral area.

But the hotel itself is surrounded by a public pay & display car park, it has no garden and you get no good view of it - the setting really lets it down. In the hotel itself, while the reception is fine and the room we had was great, the hallways and stairs look tired.

You can't have rooms with 4 poster beds and nice old furniture and great bathrooms but then have bleak corridors with walls that need repainting and almost no decorations - the room was like an oasis of quality in a desert of mediocrity.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perrygeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Managerch, Manager at Charlotte House, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Firstly, let me thank you for the positives that you have let as part of your review, we thank you. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our bedroom, the location of the hotel and our furniture choices. The building itself has been sympathetically restored, maintaining features that elude to times past. Perhaps this is what you have commented on in terms of our hallways? Fortunately most of our guests spend most of their time in the 'oasis of tranquility' that they call their rooms.

We always note positive criticism, and aim to move forward as a result. We shall look forward to hearing your thoughts upon your next visit to us.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lincoln hotels
0.3 mi away
The Lincoln Hotel
The Lincoln Hotel
#6 of 14 in Lincoln
1,721 reviews
0.2 mi away
The White Hart
The White Hart
#10 of 14 in Lincoln
500 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Lincoln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Tower Hotel
The Tower Hotel
#3 of 14 in Lincoln
341 reviews
2.9 mi away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte House

Property: Charlotte House
Address: The Lawn Centre Union Road, Lincoln LN1 3BJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Lincoln
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Lincoln
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Charlotte House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Charlotte House Lincoln you're more than just a customer - you're our guest. Our warm welcome is extended to all our guests whether travelling on business or leisure, Charlotte House is located opposite Lincoln Castle and Cathedral. With 14 unique rooms and suites and a choice of contemporary or traditional to choose from there's something to suit everyone's taste. We specialise in events and weddings, but ensuring a good night sleep is our main priority. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Charlotte House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing