We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Base Serviced Apartments Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I've used Base Service Apartments many times and for short and long periods (e.g. a couple of months) on a commercial basis for my companies employees. My employees have always been very happy with the quality of the accommodation and BASE have always been very accommodating regarding last minute changes to bookings (e.g. extending stays, finding alternative accommodation etc). They've taken the hassle out of what is normally a very time consuming problem. Patricia comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter1S1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

We visited Liverpool in December 2013 for the Christmas holidays. The atmosphere around the apartment was very nice. It was surrounded by shope which reached our daily basis such as groceries Few minutes away from the shopping mall and the shopping centre. One can easily visit by just a 10 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yanika_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Base Serviced Apartments whilst visiting a conference at the ACC and we're massively impressed. A short walk from the Albert Docks and the ACC and right in between a row of amazing restaurants, the location is ideal. The apartment itself had two rooms, one en suite, and a comfy lounge are with three sofa's in. The kitchen/diner had all mod cons and the whole apartment was very clean and warm. For the price (£177 for 3 nights for 2 people) it was genuine value. Will use again for sure.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank ColonelDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We visited Liverpool in Febr 2014 and booked an apartment for just 1 night. That was no problem. When we arrived we've got a free upgrade to a 3-room Penthouse. That Penthouse was fantastic: spacious livingroom, well equipped kitchen, nearly new inventory, 2 nearly unused bathrooms, clean, no noise, great view. Superb!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed for 5 days. The apartments are excelent, clean and very confortable. The kitchen well equipated and the personal of the office are very nice. The apartment was warm when we arrive, and this is something to thank when it is so cold outside. There weren't noises and we enjoyed liverpool and we could relax and sleep at nights very well.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjreche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I visited Liverpool from Weds 19- Fri 21st February 2014 with my parents and my fiancé. Having never stayed in Liverpool we did some research on Trip Advisor first. We had seen Base apartments online so looked for the reviews on here which made us a bit sceptical as there are some terrible reviews. The price for the couple of days, however where a bargain (and we planned on spending limited time in the apartment so thought we'd give it a go).

We stayed at Hudson Gardens on Duke Street after having actually booked in to stay at Base Spectrum Apartments. Someone from Base phoned us a few days before as a courtesy call and said as we were a family that Hudson Gardens would be better suited to us.

THE APARTMENT: Upon arrival in the morning we were told we could check straight in to out apartment and that they had given us a complimentary upgrade. So rather than staying in the basic apartment we were upgraded to the penthouse. Our apartment number was 49 (I think). On the entrance floor there was a hallway with a table and somewhere to hang out coats. Off the entrance hall was one smaller double bedroom with beside tables, chest of drawers and small wardrobe. Next was a bathroom with bath and overhead shower. At the end of the hall was a larger double bedroom with bedside tables, wardrobe and en-suite with shower cubicle. Up the stairs was a large living/dining/kitchen area with floor to ceiling windows and door at one end leading onto a small balcony with a pretty good view of the city! The whole apartment was generally basic but was spotless and had plenty of utensils and complimentary toiletries. From our experience I would ignore the bad reviews. There was not one thing wrong with our apartment. It's by no means luxurious but for a city break it's perfect! I couldn't have asked for more really.

LOCATION: Great location for shopping, museums, china town, evening and night life. It's set on a main road and is right near a tepenyaki, Indian, Italian and Mexican restaurants which are situated to the side of the apartments. NOTE: these are civilised and not at all noisy in the evenings. The street it's self isn't exactly aesthetically pleasing but as soon as you get to the bottom you are in the beautiful city centre. We were on the back of the apartment block but I very much doubt there is much, if any road noise during the evening/night. Our only complaint was that there was a group of 4 people next door that we're very noisy on one of the nights as they were going out and woke us up again at 5am. But this was a privately rented apartment and staff advised us to let security know if it happened again and that it would be sorted. Other than this the other people there where permanent residence getting on with their quiet day, to day life. So do not let this one exception put you off as it hasn't put us off!

THE STAFF: I have read reviews from people saying how bad the staff are at Base. I don't know of this is the case their other locations but at Hudson Gardens the staff where exceptionally helpful, kind and enthusiastic. When we arrived we weren't sure how to get up to the apartment so one of the staff took us up there himself and even carried us some bags! He then offered to show us around. Throughout our stay they where always on hand and willing to help. Even offering us late check out for our next door noise! Upon check out we let staff know that we will definitely return and he let us know that next time we should stay at their apartments at the docks as they are supposed to be lovely! It was nice to have a recommendation. On behalf of my family and I, I would like to thank the staff for being so fantastic! Much better reception and hospitality than you get in big standard hotels!

We had a lovely few days in Liverpool and I would definitely recommend these apartments for anyone that want somewhere as a base (no pun intended) to explore the city!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahgraciebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The apartment has a GORGEOUS view over the city of Liverpool. It is spacious and you have plenty of room for 6 people. The one minus I would say is that 2 (1 couple) (out of the 6 people) have to sleep on the (double) couch; which is not as comfortable as a bed, obviously.

There is a coffee machine from Nestlé available for which you can buy capsules at the nearby Tesco Express (walking distance). Yet when we were we couldn't get the machine working properly. But my guess/hope is they will fix this swiftly.

All in all a very nice apartment.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomCorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
0.7 mi away
Heywood House Hotel
Heywood House Hotel
#14 of 98 in Liverpool
1,672 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nadler Liverpool
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza  Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Liverpool
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#25 of 98 in Liverpool
1,956 reviews
0.2 mi away
Epic Apart Hotel - Seel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street

Address: 136 Duke Street | 2 Hudson Gardens, Liverpool L1 5BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 113 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range: £66 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the vibrant Ropewalks district of Liverpool City Center Hudson Gardens is a modern residential apartment block suitable for all – couples, families or business guests. We offer a number of serviced apartments in this block, each contains one, two or three double-bedrooms, and some of the apartments have the facility of a sofa-bed to accommodate extra people. All of our 20 apartments are fully-furnished and decorated to have that home-from-home feel about them that everyone wants when they are travelling. Each apartment has an open-plan living and kitchen area where you can cook, eat and relax on the sofa in front of the television; whilst the bathroom and en-suite come with towels provided, along with complementary toiletries. If you want to treat yourself to a meal, then you’ll find such a wide variety of restaurants within easy walking distance that you won’t have to go far to find one to suit your taste. Or if it’s a shopping trip you’re looking for then you’ll find the world-famous Liverpool ONE shopping centre is just a short walk away from the apartments, along with all the boutiques and high-street stores that have been based in Liverpool for years and years! The Cathedrals, Museums, Art Galleries and Theatres of Liverpool can all be found after a short walk, and Anfield and Goodison Park football grounds are just a short drive away. The Echo Arena is a short distance from the apartments, and plays host to sports, theatre and music events throughout the year, whilst nearby The Albert Dock is the home of The Beatles Story, The TATE Gallery, and other places of interest. If you are looking for good self-catered accommodation then look no further… BASE Serviced Apartments is the real alternative to hotel living! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your BASE Serviced Apartments Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Serviced Apartments Hudson - Gardens Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing