We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beech Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Beech Mount Hotel
Ranked #71 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Swansea, South Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2009

Looking for an overnight stay when taking our daughter to look at the University we booked the Beech Mount after reading reviews.
The reality was even better. The property is a terrace of four victorian houses and our room accommodated a double and two single beds with plenty of room to spare. The bedroom and en-suite bathroom was spotless and there was even a separate kitchen area.
They advertise a buffett breakfast which turned out to be a very well cooked full english. The staff were very friendly and helpful when asked for information. All this for a very reasonable price.
The $64K question - would we stay there again? An unreserved yes.

  • Liked — Comfort and cleanliness
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nidan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    168
    103
    72
    83
See reviews for
98
174
38
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south london
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2009

i thought our stay at beech mount hotel was really good, we was really relaxed and knowing that we had breakfast waiting for us in the morning was wonderful. we really enjoyed it there. staff were very friendly and were helpful! if i ever go back to liverpool, i would so go back to beech mount!! value for money!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolap85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland west
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2009

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here while in Liverpool for a football match. We stayed her for 2 nights having stayed at the west derby premier inn the the previous night as it was part of our tickets/hotel package. The area itself is a little bit run down, but i think its under an urban rejuvination scheme. The accomodation is more guesthouse style than hotel so maybe if you wanted all the facilities that a hotel usually offers this would not be for you. When we arrrived it was quite early so our room wasnt ready, so we headed into town. When we came back it was lashing rain and our room was in the building next door to the main building, but the receptionist kindly escorted us over with a brolly. Unfortunately when the receptionist tried to open the door it was locked from the inside and the handy man on duty had to get a ladder and climb in the window. I felt so bad for him as it really was so wet, and i was petrified he would fall off the ladder!! But eventually without any casualities he got in the window and let us into our room. The room was worth waiting for!! It was huge one double bed and two single beds, even though we didnt need the other 2 beds it was nice to put clothes there. There was a litttle kitchen with a sink, ketttle and fridge, which was super handy!! There was a lcd t.v mounted on the wall, however it was in a position which made it difficult to watch as it was parrellel to the top of the bed, but we just lay the other way while watching it. The breakfast was good, not a huge selection but completly sufficient. Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful. There was no telephone in the bedroom but i guess that didnt matter.

  • Liked — It was an old victorian house
  • Disliked — its distance to the city
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona8199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

Myself and my family stayed in this hotel for one night in December and were very pleased with it.
The room was clean and comfortable. There was a large selection of tea and coffee making facilities with chocolates! There was also a fridge in each room, which is excellent.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant- by showing us up to our rooms and offering to take out luggage. The night porter greeted us when we walked in during the evening and collected the keys for us.
The location is a way out of Liverpool so do be prepared to use taxi's, however the taxi prices are reasonable in Liverpool.
The breakfast in the morning was faultless. They even gave you a choice of continental, full english or vegetarian. It was excellent.
We paid £45 for the stay and felt very satisfied with what we were given in return.
Will be staying again when we return to Liverpool.

  • Liked — The price, the cleanliness and the breakfast.
  • Disliked — The location.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daytripper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2008

Although clean and neat, the hotel is definitely not 4* quality. The decor and amenities is mundane at best and the staff was unfriendly and VERY unhelpful. It was almost like they were doing us a favour to be there, forgetting that we are actually paying for the "privilege". They couldn't even help with advice on local attractions and directions. Most of the staff could hardly speak English!

The room was quite small with a depressing bathroom and cheap furnishings, which echoes the style of the rest of the hotel.

It is located in quite a run down neighbourhood (I didn't feel it would be safe to walk around in the area, not that one would want to!) and the facade of the hotel is very tatty and run down itself. Doesn't look at all what it looked like in the pictures!!!

The breakfast wasn't very appetizing at all, made with poor quality ingredients and all the "fresh" products obviously coming from cans.

We were very disappointed, this hotel was quite expensive and we expected quality to suit the price. We had a lovely time in Liverpool, but the hotel definitely put a damper on our holiday.

  • Liked — didn't like anything
  • Disliked — There are many options: Tatty furnishings, staff, location, atmosphere
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolienn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
253 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2008

I just stayed at the Beech Mount for one night while doing Genealogy research in Birkenhead.

The hotel is situated a bit off the beaten track, but within a 7pound cab ride of the Beatles clubs.

The building dates to 1861, but is in superb condition.
The lounge area is particularly cozy with flat screen TV and a library.

My room was on the second floor (a double) and was compact but tastelfully decorated in chic furnishings. The mix of new and old is well executed.

The features
- In room kettle with teas, etc..
- Mini-fridge that was empty so I could actually use it
- Free wireless
- Small color TV
- Hair dryer

THE GOOD
- Hotel and rooms are absolutely spotless
- Free breakfast included in rate
- Staff are very friendly and helpful
- Parking was free and secure inside the gated front yard
- Hotel has an elevator, surprising in a building so old
- Bed was comfortable

OK, but some problems
- The bathroom in the double is quite small with no place to put your kit
- No work desk in the room (laptop becomes a "lap" top)
- Beware rooms with adjoining doors and the potential for noisy neighbours - suggest you verify this before hand
- There was a lingering smell of cigarette smoke on the fabric bed headboard,,,,I believe the hotel is non-smoking, so someone must have cheated.

CONCLUSION:
What a great bargain for 37 pounds (Expedia rate)
- The perfect short stay hotel while in Liverpool (on a budget)

  • Liked — The cleanliness - spotless
  • Disliked — Noise from adjoining door (occasionally)
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank deathracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds ,uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2008

We enjoyed our stay at the beech mount, even though it was for only one night .We found the staff to be really helpful & the rooms were very clean and had tea coffee biscuits etc , The following morning the breakfast was particularly enjoyable with fruit juices, cereals, pastries & an excellent cooked english breakfast to follow and lots of hot tea / coffee.
Overall I think for the price we paid for a double room ( £54.99)the hotel was excellent value I have experienced much worse hotels for double the price & would therefore recommend The beech mount for a great weekend away !

  • Liked — good value & good breakfast
  • Disliked — needing to pay for taxis into town
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank keano2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Devonshire House Hotel
#70 of 99 in Liverpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#21 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#42 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Sefton Park
Sefton Park Hotel
Sefton Park Hotel
#67 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Mount Hotel

Property: Beech Mount Hotel
Address: 1-3 Beech Mount, Liverpool L7 0HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Beech Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Mount Executive Accommodation Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing