We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious rooms, spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast, helpful staff.”
Review of Beech Mount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beech Mount Hotel
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Peterborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious rooms, spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast, helpful staff.”
Reviewed 2 May 2009

Apprehensive after reading reviews but needed to see for ourselves. Totally incorrect. The whole place was spotless. Double rooms were spacious with good sized bathrooms and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was excellent, lots of choice, better than a 5 star hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Bus stop just around corner with buses running every few minutes into Liverpool centre, we didn't use the car at all during the week we spent there. Lovely touch were the chocolates on the pillows. The area is part of Liverpool's regeneration process and, yes there were some places boarded up on the route into Liverpool but these were not in the immediate vicinty of the hotel. We would certainly return - well done to Beech Mount for making our first visit to Liverpool memorable.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yabt4ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    169
    105
    77
    84
See reviews for
98
178
38
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Although the location of the hotel is questionable - the Kensington area of Liverpool seems to be waiting for reconstruction, but who knows when that will be - everything else is excellent.

From the moment you walk in the door, the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the room - ours was on the ground floor - had lovely high ceilings and tall windows, a fridge, free wi-fi, tv and Sky (although I couldn't get many channels on it) and plenty of storage and recently updated decor.

We would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel as long as you don't intend to walk into the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Was made to feel very welcome by the friendly staff. Room clean and comfortable with everything I needed. Beautiful lounge area to relax and watch TV.Cooked breakfast was 5 star! Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crl1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2009

I was left asking myself: "Who, in their right mind, builds a four-star hotel here?"

Having booked the hotel for a weekend break in Liverpool, we drove up to the place and we were shocked. The whole area it is located in is earmarked for demolition. There were whole streets with all the properties boarded up. It certainly didn't look like a place you'd want to be out and about in at night.

We decided straight away that we wouldn't want to spend a night here and it wasn't the most convenient place to access the city centre anyway (it looked so much closer on the map). We couldn't get in at any other hotel due to availability or price. One person at another hotel told us our previous choice was in a bad area and that someone else had come to them saying the same.

We went to the Beech Mount to explain that we didn't want to stay and one of the staff tried to talk us round. What kind of four-star hotel remonstrates with customers over the merits of the area it is situated within? We were told the area wasn't all that bad yet the gates to the car park were to be closed in the evening - yet we'd just been told the area wasn't all that bad??

However, we decided to give the place a chance and got a room key.

My view: Four star accommodation? No. Above average seaside-style B&B? Yes.

The room was smaller than our bedroom at home with cheap furniture which had veneer peeling off. The TV was tiny and the lampshade next to the bed was very dusty. There were damp patches and some of the wallpaper was peeling. The en-suite was a cupboard with a dripping/leaking shower head, cracked floor tile and not enough room to swing a cat. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't filthy, just a bit makeshift and tatty. The Visit England tourism organisation gave this place four stars!

When you read other reviews on here -some saying the same as us- you wonder why people STILL awarded it four stars out of five!?

To me, four star accommodation shouldn't be about ticking off boxes: Yes, it had a fridge in the room (Stella Artois bar fridge). Yes, it had a chocolate on the pillow. Yes, it had bottled water in the room. The rating doesn't take into account the location or size of the room. A staff member argued that it was a "four-star B&B." I wasn't sure there was such a thing. The four-star facilities were just about there but the whole thing didn't compare with what I'd expect of a four-star property, such as a Radisson or Hyatt hotel, etc.

The place trades on, and proudly displays, these four-stars. To me, that is the main downfall as it raises expectations.

The only reason I did not give this place one star is that the staff we encountered were quite friendly, and (location aside) it didn't look bad value if you were staying for the football or on a real budget.

Following a wasted 200-mile round trip in a day, we await our refund.

  • Liked — Staff were pleasant. Good value for price.
  • Disliked — Area, area, (in my view) whole national star rating criteria should be revised. Oh, did I mention area?
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mightycod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Swansea, South Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2009

Looking for an overnight stay when taking our daughter to look at the University we booked the Beech Mount after reading reviews.
The reality was even better. The property is a terrace of four victorian houses and our room accommodated a double and two single beds with plenty of room to spare. The bedroom and en-suite bathroom was spotless and there was even a separate kitchen area.
They advertise a buffett breakfast which turned out to be a very well cooked full english. The staff were very friendly and helpful when asked for information. All this for a very reasonable price.
The $64K question - would we stay there again? An unreserved yes.

  • Liked — Comfort and cleanliness
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nidan02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south london
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2009

i thought our stay at beech mount hotel was really good, we was really relaxed and knowing that we had breakfast waiting for us in the morning was wonderful. we really enjoyed it there. staff were very friendly and were helpful! if i ever go back to liverpool, i would so go back to beech mount!! value for money!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolap85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland west
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here while in Liverpool for a football match. We stayed her for 2 nights having stayed at the west derby premier inn the the previous night as it was part of our tickets/hotel package. The area itself is a little bit run down, but i think its under an urban rejuvination scheme. The accomodation is more guesthouse style than hotel so maybe if you wanted all the facilities that a hotel usually offers this would not be for you. When we arrrived it was quite early so our room wasnt ready, so we headed into town. When we came back it was lashing rain and our room was in the building next door to the main building, but the receptionist kindly escorted us over with a brolly. Unfortunately when the receptionist tried to open the door it was locked from the inside and the handy man on duty had to get a ladder and climb in the window. I felt so bad for him as it really was so wet, and i was petrified he would fall off the ladder!! But eventually without any casualities he got in the window and let us into our room. The room was worth waiting for!! It was huge one double bed and two single beds, even though we didnt need the other 2 beds it was nice to put clothes there. There was a litttle kitchen with a sink, ketttle and fridge, which was super handy!! There was a lcd t.v mounted on the wall, however it was in a position which made it difficult to watch as it was parrellel to the top of the bed, but we just lay the other way while watching it. The breakfast was good, not a huge selection but completly sufficient. Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful. There was no telephone in the bedroom but i guess that didnt matter.

  • Liked — It was an old victorian house
  • Disliked — its distance to the city
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona8199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Devonshire House Hotel
#70 of 97 in Liverpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#20 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#42 of 97 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sefton Park
Sefton Park Hotel
Sefton Park Hotel
#67 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Mount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Mount Hotel

Property: Beech Mount Hotel
Address: 1-3 Beech Mount, Liverpool L7 0HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Mount Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beech Mount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Mount Executive Accommodation Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing