We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ripoff”
Review of What's Cooking?

What's Cooking?
Ranked #88 of 1,697 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: US$13 - US$47
Cuisines: Mexican, American, Bar, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Bus service directly to the Albert Dock one minute walk to restaurant front entrance
Description: The award winning, What's Cooking?, sits on the historic Albert Dock overlooking Liverpool's Three Graces. Conjuring a menu compiled of local sources, What's Cooking? offers a mixture of Mexican and American cuisine. Serving excellent food since 1978, this laid back restaurant brings a contemporary décor to its Grade I-listed setting at Queen Elizabeth Hall.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ripoff”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We were having a lovely day out at the Albert Dock when we decided to have a bite to eat we went in and should have realised because there wasn't any price on the menu the four of us ordered our meals and fruit duces the food was not cooked the way we asked nor very hot then we got the bill £71 for what we got a big ripoff won't be going back spoilt a really good day out

Helpful?
Thank jimbo054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guy l, General Manager at What's Cooking?, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

We are disappointed to read your review and would like to look into your experience further. We would be grateful if you could email us the date and time of your visit along with your mobile number please to liverpool@whats-cooking.co.uk

Kind regards
Whats cooking
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    365
    147
    81
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
293 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good burgers”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were visiting the Beatles Story and happened across this restaurant looking for somewhere to have lunch. My two teenage sons had burgers, they were huge, and they tell me they were good. I had the broccoli and stilton soup which was excellent, it came with bread and was perfect for a light lunch. Service was friendly and quick.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank busymothertoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Food with a view”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Piped in here for a meal after seeing the giants in Liverpool , sat outside looking at the docks , waitress didn't like serving food out there but said we could sit there but would have to pay for our food when we ordered she also did say if we needed anything we would have to go inside to find Somone , we decided to do that as the weather was nice and it wasn't busy . Menu was ok and food was nice , children's food was a nice size portion and burgers were cooked nice , the milkshakes were nice and big too . Overall it was a pleasant experience .

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simcat08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely food & super service”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

First time eating at Whats Cooking & will be back. As restaurant is right on Albert Dock, we had expected to pay more for our meal. Food was lovely, was served quickly & Seamus our waiter could not do enough for you. Would highly recommend What's Cooking to anyone. Thank you Seamus.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clarkes69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
223 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Good location, average food - poor service”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We hadn't booked and this restaurant was busy at 6.30pm on a Saturday. The menu is a sort of Tex/Mex mix, with kebabs thrown in! We ate nachos to share followed by kebabs and steak fajitas. The food was relatively cheap (£14 for the Kebabs and £15 for the fajitas) but the service was poor. We waited a long time for our order to be taken and the waitress couldn't have been less interested. She didn't make eye contact, gazed around the restaurant as she took the order and added no value whatsoever. The food arrived and was "plonked" in front of us, no comments or niceties. Being ignored most of the meal and made to feel a bit of an inconvenience really detracted from the overall experience. Staff need training in how to make customers welcome, and if they'd rather not be there, find a new job.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gomersal-08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed What's Cooking? also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to What's Cooking?? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing