We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful time.”

Cypriana Greek Restaurant
Ranked #248 of 1,680 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Sefton Park
Description: Liverpools newest Greek restaurant centered at the heart of lively lark lane We will entertain you with great food produced with ingredients sourced directly from the Greek islands along with our specially trained Greek Cypriot chef who will delight your palate with his speciallity of Kleftiko a succulent Greek piece of lamb that will fall of the bone and give your taste buds something they will not forget, or try our meze that will give you a taste of Greece with numerous mini dishes sampling the finest food the Mediterranean has to offer. Let our friendly bar staff serve you with a flamin’ ouzo shot
liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful time.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Had a wonderful time at the cypriana, it was our first visit but we will definitely be returning,the hostess Elizabeth was very warm and welcoming,the food was excellent and the portions very generous,Elizabeth was so friendly ,we are really looking forward to our next visit,I would recommend the Cypriana to anyone who enjoys the best Greek food. Jan and Stuart .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank everton155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy N, Manager at Cypriana Greek Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
hi
Many thanks for your review
we are glad you enjoyed your visit to Cypriana and that you enjoyed our food and service
your comments and review are very important to us as we aim to become the best restaurant on Lark Lane and the best Greek restaurant in Liverpool
we hope to see you again soon

many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    25
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not terrible but not great either”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Visited this restaurant last night, didn't book but there were plenty of tables available. Staff are very courteous if a little disorganised. Menu choice is very good but if you know Greek and Cypriot cuisine you will realise that this is not authentic. Starters were a rather bitter tasting houmos with pitta bread and, rather bizzarely, barm cakes! I had afalia - the pork was nicely cooked but no hint of coriander just a rather strong, acrid taste of cloves. The others in the group had pork and chicken kebabs - both of which lacked flavour. My daughter had stifado - the meat was very tender but lacked any kind of authentic flavour. Background music was simply awful - like the B side of a Eurovision winners cd. Beers (Keo) were overpriced. I won't be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy N, Manager at Cypriana Greek Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hi, thank you for your comments and taking the time to review our restaurant. Just a few things I would like to point out I am Cypriot. And my partner is Greek so I find it really hard that you describe our menu as not being authentic have u been to Greece or Cyprus??? What's not authentic about our stifado? Afelia? Moussaka? Taramasalata tanziki tahini hummus keftedes? Dolmades, kleftico? Baklava need I go on??? Even the vegetarian menu is still Greek meals yiyantes beans yemista?? Vegetarian mousaka? Similar menu to other Greek restaurant in Liverpool and in Greece. Again need I go on??? Just to let you know it's all homemade we don't do pre made or pre packed In here, our chef is from Cyprus and all ingredients we use are brought to us from Greek wholesalers in London that have imported them from Cyprus or Greece again what's not authentic about that!!! Your remark about barm cakes?? Really?? We don't serve barm cakes here I would if uploaded a picture. To show you what a barm cake looks like but feel free to google it!! And no hint of coriander in the afelia ?? It's cooked in a big pan it's also left to marinate in coriander and red wine before being cooked!!! And instead you say it tasted of cloves, you seem to know your greek food and therefore you should know that garlic is not used in the making or cooking of afelia.Kebabs lacking flavour there marinated also and then put over a charcoal grill to cook!!! Even the way we cook is authentic in every way!! you could come in and I would welcome you in to the kitchen to watch all our homemade authentic Greek/Cypriot food being cooked? your more the welcome!!! Keos over priced really??? A small keo is £3(330ml)?? A large is £5.95(660ml)?? I don't think that's over priced!! Now last but not least your remark over our c.ds? They are more than authentic we get them sent over from Greece and Cyprus by family members we have the old style Greek music playing as well as the bit more upbeat songs why?? Because we cater for everyone that walks through are doors if it's a Friday and Saturday we have a mixture of both playing after all it is a weekend and people like to go out drink eat and have fun!! I Am the manager and I was working the night you came in as was my partner if the restaurant wasn't busy "as you stated" why would I of been disorganised?? I work 6 days a week every week not even on weekends were we are absolutely rammed upstairs and down stairs with also turning people away at the door with being fully booked for the whole night am I even then disorganised!! I can run this business with my eyes closed!!!! Thanks for your lovely comment we hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“The greatest Greek food I have ever tasted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I first went to the Cyprina after a friend told me all about it. I Took my family there for my little sisters birthday meal. The resturant had a great atmosphere, great staff and the best greek food that in have ever tasted. After that visit I gave made going to the Cypriana a regular thing. Everyone that I have took there or have already been say how great it is in there and how amazing the staff and food are. I would recommend this to anyone and everyone, it has been some of the best nights of my life.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Love love love this place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

My partner first visited Cypriana for a family meal, which I could not attend, in January and couldn't stop raving about the place that I had to check it out for myself. Since then we have been most weekends. The staff are very welcoming and the atmosphere is lovely. The food is very fresh and is always presented at a high standard. If you are unsure about what to get there is always a member of staff there to help find what you like. Our personal favourite is the chips, they are to die for!! Now I know what my partner was raving about, I too now rave about Cypriana to everyone!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy N, Manager at Cypriana Greek Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi there thanks for your visit and taking the time to place a review
we are glad you enjoyed your dining experience at Cypriana, and we appreciate your comments about the chips, we value your feedback as we strive to become the best dining restaurant on lark lane and the best Greek in liverpool

many thanks and look forward to seeing you again

The Cypriana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Absolutely fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I visited the resterant with my partner and 2 yr old daughter, might I say the welcome that we had from staff was brilliant, over all look of the place is lovely. Really does give you that Greek feel, food was perfect and will be returning again! Thanks for a lovely night

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LunaCocoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lizzy N, Owner at Cypriana Greek Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
hi
many thanks for your visit to us and taking the time to write a review
we are glad you had an enjoyable experience dining with us and we hope you will visit us again

many thanks

The Cypriana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cypriana Greek Restaurant also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Cypriana Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing