We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very warm welcome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stalbridge Guest House
Ranked #40 of 71 Liverpool B&B and Inns
BSE, Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very warm welcome!”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I've rated this very good mainly due to the extremely warm, friendly welcome from the manager when we stayed for one night at the weekend. The room itself (double, en suite) was very small and basic but clean and nicely decorated. There were a couple of things which, if improved, would bring my rating up to excellent, the main one being the bed. The mattress was a bit lumpy and would definitely benefit from having a topper on it. The quilt was way too small for the bed which meant my husband and I were fighting over it all night!!! The television didn't work, and there was no soap in the dispensor, luckily we had our own shower gel. Also the shower head would not stay up so we had to wedge it in place with some of the sugar sachets from the tea tray!!! Having said all that, I would still stay here again, as I think if we had mentioned any of the above (apart from the lumpy mattress!!) the manager would have done his best to help us, as he was really very friendly and accomodating upon our arrival. Perhaps a better inspection of the rooms before guests arrive would have highlighted the lack of soap and loose shower head, and maybe the tv. As we were only there for one night these things were not too inconvenient. A tip for a fabulous breakfast....turn left out of the hotel and walk for 200yds or so to Cafe Cargo on the same side of St Mary's Road, best fry up and tea I've had in a cafe, and great value!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lassabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    24
    7
    4
    27
See reviews for
22
13
14
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I only need to stay one night as I was doing business in the city. I arrived late due to work responsibilities and the staff was very welcoming. I was shown to a nice clean room, and it was nice to have the option to make a great cup of tea before I went to bed.
It was a small room, but clean, cozy and safe and as a woman traveling alone, that is of utmost importance to me. Thank you for a nice stay ;)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happygrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

very friendly welcome had no problem with the room was clean,you can come and go as you please,had a great sleep very comfy bed,only problem i had it was too warm the heating was on full with the temp outside at 22 just too stuffy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caz6611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

stayed here last weekend for a friend's wedding. delightful manageress who went out of her way to make me feel welcome (upgrade, offer of an iron). convenient location for the south parkway station and the airport.

internet access was a bit weird: got to use the wifi of the dance school next door, rather than the guest house's! also a few guests were noisy, but that is not the place's fault (i'm just grumpy if i got woken whilst hungover!)

also over the road from the guest house is a great massage place: had a 30 minute massage for only £15; highly recommended!

friends also stayed and loved it.

would willingly stay there again as soon as i can afford tickets to anfield (and liverpool start winning again...)

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sappho96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Very cosy little guest house... Rooms were nice and large and the on-suite was lovely :) I went with a party of 6 including myself and we booked 2 rooms..... 3 in each rrom and there was more than enough room. The only things i would have to twist about was the beds which were very hard and 1 of the sheets had dry blood or a stain on??? But apart from that all was good !!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kllymcgll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sefton Park
The Mountford Hotel
The Mountford Hotel
#24 of 97 in Liverpool
479 reviews
Cargo Cafe Apartments
#22 of 104 in Liverpool
45 reviews
Liverpool Gateway B&B
#13 of 71 in Liverpool
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stalbridge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stalbridge Guest House

Property: The Stalbridge Guest House
Address: 134 Garston Way, Liverpool L19 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Stalbridge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stalbridge Guest House Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing