We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stalbridge Guest House
Ranked #38 of 77 Liverpool B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

The owners are really nice people, the rooms are a good size and are clean. there is a kitchen diner area where you can cook your own food with a fridge and freezer to keep it all in, this saves so much money when staying away. I have stayed here twice and both times have been given a bigger room than requested

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhansobczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    24
    7
    4
    26
See reviews for
21
13
13
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Spent a couple of nights here back in July 27th & 28th and have no complaints to make whatsoever, the staff, Mike & Shelley, were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. There were some issues with the electricity due to a problem outwith the hotel, however, I was kept fully informed by Shelley as the events unfolded. Due to the electricity being off for a short period of time I was offered a full refund by the management, however, together we agreed on only 50%. The hotel might not have a 5 star status, however, it is spotless, well maintained and the management, Mike & Shelley, look after you 100%.

Thanks Mike & Shelley.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Myself and three girls came to liverpool on a night out, we stayed here on a saturday and had a great time.
Nice and clean!
Staff friendly.
It cost us £25 each and we thought it was great value for money!
We stayed in a room with two singles and a double bed,tv with freeview and tea and coffee making facilities. They are basic but just what you need to get your head down. Clean towels provided how ever the bathroom wasnt in the room it was shared with next room which for us for another four girls but there are two showers two sinks and two toilets but we didnt find this a problem. There is an asda directly across the road for a cash machine and food/drink or a corner shop down the road with various takeaways. You can take food back to the room which was great. Everything fine and great and woiuld recommend to anyone who is looking for just a room for the night. Taxi into liverpool (concert square) at 10pm was £12 and way back at 4am was £8.50 YES very cheap! we got train at southpark way and taxi from there to hotel was £2.50! Cheap and would recommend for most.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livvy1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Looks a bit run down from the outside, not helped by some adjacent properties which are vacant/boarded up. The location has a slightly shady feel about it, but we found it to be perfectly safe. There is parking, but we were told to park on the street and it was fine. The reception is unmanned and the front door is locked. The manager lives nearby and pops round when you press the call bell at the door (can take a few minutes for him to arrive). Friendly enough welcome and once inside the accommodation is basic, with minimal decoration, but perfectly functional and clean. Rooms are small, but clean. Our en suite room had a very small bathroom and access to the toilet was almost obstructed by the sink, but it was manageable. The shower worked fine. The hot tap was a bit loose. Bed was comfortable, but not much space around it to manoeuvre. Room has a small TV and tea/coffee making facilities. We were concerned that we may not get much sleep, because there was a rowdy group in the guest house who made a lot of noise until about midnight and then they went out. We had no other problems and slept peacefully without further interruption. Because this accommodation is reasonably priced, you can expect hen and stag parties to stay and as there are no staff in the building, there is no control over rowdy guests. That is the luck of the draw and does not detract from the fact that this is very reasonably priced accommodation a short bus or train ride from central Liverpool, where you can expect to pay two or three times more for a hotel. You get what you pay for and we were happy with what we got for the price we paid, because we just wanted somewhere to put our head down for a night for less than fifty quid.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GulliverRoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSE, Suffolk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

I've rated this very good mainly due to the extremely warm, friendly welcome from the manager when we stayed for one night at the weekend. The room itself (double, en suite) was very small and basic but clean and nicely decorated. There were a couple of things which, if improved, would bring my rating up to excellent, the main one being the bed. The mattress was a bit lumpy and would definitely benefit from having a topper on it. The quilt was way too small for the bed which meant my husband and I were fighting over it all night!!! The television didn't work, and there was no soap in the dispensor, luckily we had our own shower gel. Also the shower head would not stay up so we had to wedge it in place with some of the sugar sachets from the tea tray!!! Having said all that, I would still stay here again, as I think if we had mentioned any of the above (apart from the lumpy mattress!!) the manager would have done his best to help us, as he was really very friendly and accomodating upon our arrival. Perhaps a better inspection of the rooms before guests arrive would have highlighted the lack of soap and loose shower head, and maybe the tv. As we were only there for one night these things were not too inconvenient. A tip for a fabulous breakfast....turn left out of the hotel and walk for 200yds or so to Cafe Cargo on the same side of St Mary's Road, best fry up and tea I've had in a cafe, and great value!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lassabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

I only need to stay one night as I was doing business in the city. I arrived late due to work responsibilities and the staff was very welcoming. I was shown to a nice clean room, and it was nice to have the option to make a great cup of tea before I went to bed.
It was a small room, but clean, cozy and safe and as a woman traveling alone, that is of utmost importance to me. Thank you for a nice stay ;)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happygrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

very friendly welcome had no problem with the room was clean,you can come and go as you please,had a great sleep very comfy bed,only problem i had it was too warm the heating was on full with the temp outside at 22 just too stuffy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caz6611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Liverpool Gateway Limited
#13 of 77 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Palatine Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 77 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Cargo Cafe Apartments
#19 of 102 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheil Suites
#54 of 77 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Printwork Hotel
The Printwork Hotel
#43 of 77 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stalbridge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stalbridge Guest House

Property: The Stalbridge Guest House
Address: 134 Garston Way, Liverpool L19 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Stalbridge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stalbridge Guest House Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing