We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Look Anywhere Else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Dairy Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Went down to see Liverpool FC with my 14 year-old son, found this by chance. Michelle and David, great hosts. Everything clean, area quiet, close to bus routes. When we return to Liverpool, would not even contemplate going elsewhere. Mega value for money. Book through their own site for free breakfast. Cheers Bruce and Jack.

Room Tip: We were ground floor, en-suite.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for making time to do a review. It was a pleasure for us, especially after seeing Jacks face after the LFC win ! Glad you really enjoyed your stay with us and our hospitality, it will be our pleasure to have you back anytime. Thank you x.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
There are newer reviews for The Old Dairy Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

If you wanna spend a long weekend getting to know the wonderful city of Liverpool, that's the place to stay. I haven't felt any more welcomed abroad than here at Michelle's and David's for quite some time. They'll make you love the city and its people. Thus, I'll be back in no-month time and can't wait to enjoy a whole long Liverpool week at the Old Dairy. Thanks, Alex

Room Tip: All rooms are very clean and cosy to sleep in.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you Alex , So glad you were not disappointed! We look forward to your next visit later this month. x.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The old dairy has good quality rooms and amenities and is great value. Don't be put off by the neighborhood - it's quiet here and easy to get into the centre of Liverpool by bus or even walk for 40 minutes to the back of the Uni area.
We used the basic kitchen facilities to make our own breakfast and dinners and enjoyed chatting to some of the other guests in the dining room.
Michelle and David are great hosts and lots of fun to talk with.

Room Tip: They can fit about 2 small cars parked off street in the lane.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you so much for such a lovely,comprehensive review. SO glad that you found all of our amenities & service to your liking. Yes i agree, whilst we are a Guest House sometimes it does have hostel feel to the place, i think that may be due to the fact that you can use the mini kitchen facility which a lot of our guest really appreciate, Plus David and I do like to try to connect with our guests.Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Made extremely welcome by David and Michele. Nothing too much trouble for them.
Convenient for me as in the same neighbourhood as my son's house - bus service to city centre frequent and not expensive (unlike the cost of car parking).
Good variety of choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Athenas-angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you !! Well you said it in your headline 'Home from Home' - That exactly how we like all of our guests to feel when staying here. We look forward to your next visit, Thanks X.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

The Old Diary is good foe different types of travellers since it is a family owned guest house. It is convenient to the city centre with just 5 minutes walk to the bus stop and around 10 minutes transpotation only. Staying in The Old Diary, rich breakfast is provided and it is very delicious. The room, including bathroom is clean and comfortable to stay. The host, Michelle and David are very nice to guests and it does enhance the great experience of staying in Liverpool. The Old Diary is highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ellen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Old Dairy. We are very happy that you were very pleased with your stay here. Happy guest = Happy owners !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

This is a great guest house the host are great it was just like living with famly that was how relaxing it was the room and en-suite were spotliss and the breakfast was good as well so if ur looking to stay in liverpool look no further than the old dairy.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shedb66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you ! Our aim is always to provide our guests with a 'home from home feel' once they check-in here at The Old Dairy so we definitely met your expectations if not exceeded. The pleasure,however, was all ours !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed at The Old Dairy recently and enjoyed our trip to Liverpool very much. We do a fair bit of travelling and must say that we received a warm welcome in Liverpool - which was no surprise!

The Old Dairy does the business - comfy bed, good shower, hospitality tray, tv and breakfast all at a good price. The owners, Michelle and David are very welcoming and are doing a smashing job.

It is not touristy around this area, but more of a local community feel, and perfectly safe too.
If you want to go into the City, get one of the local buses that are frequent and cheap.
Would advice getting a daily Saveaway ticket, which gives you unlimited travel on buses and local trains, cheaper than 2 single tickets - and can take you up the coast to Anthony Gormley's 'Another Place', worth seeing during low tide, just for the remoteness.
Plenty to see and do in Liverpool, would recommend a visit here, and staying at The Old Dairy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purpleprincessSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for such a lovely, comprehensive review. One again, its always a pleasure for David and I to be part of what was a obviously a great long weekend for you for you in Liverpool. The service we provide comes as standard and we are so glad it was appreciated. Thanks again x.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,152 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#23 of 98 in Liverpool
4,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 98 in Liverpool
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy Guest House

Address: 39A Kempton Road | Wavertree, Liverpool L15 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 109 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range: £33 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Dairy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House provides warm hospitality with excellent value for money & excellent customer service with the provision of everything you could possibly want for your short stay here in Liverpool.Consider it your 'home away from home'. We are a Budget Guest House for those who have a limited budget but prefer quiet environment to rest away from the busy city. The Old Dairy has often been referred to as a 'hidden gem' is tucked away in a quiet, residential neighbourhood just a short bus ride from Liverpool's bustling city centre (2 miles) We were once a working dairy serving the local neighbourhood in bygone days. All of our guest bedrooms are modern and stylish, providing our guests with a very comfortable base to stay. Each room is furnished to very comfortable and modern standard providing all divan base beds in our double & twin rooms. Our Family room has double bed & 2 twin divan beds, our Triples have double bed & 1 single. We like our guests to feel at home so we provide all of our bedrooms with tea making facilities & complimentary tea & coffee as well as Flat screen digital TV/DVD players, plenty of hanging & storage space plus dressing mirror. Free wi-fi internet throughout the building. There is also free guest information pack in the guest rooms as well in our foyer. Bathroom toiletries are also included in all of our bathrooms both shared and en suites. Hair-dryers in all room & Irons and Ironing boards are also available at reception. The Old Dairy has an amply equipped mini kitchen/diner with refrigerator, 24 hr free tea and coffee; microwave oven, toasters & dishwasher, even the forgotten corkscrew! We don't impose any curfew so guests can come and go as they please as all rooms have own keys once guests are checked-in. Our apologies but we DO NOT accept bookings from Stag or Hen parties, boozing parties or similar as we want to provide a peaceful place for those who want somewhere quiet with warm hospitality. We will accept groups of walkers, cyclists or similar(those who don't intend to be partying !)who like a quiet peaceful place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Dairy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing