We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Old Dairy Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A lovely, convenient, safe & quiet place to stay. Michelle & Antonio made us most welcome & provided all that was required when asked. Whilst the room was compact it was adequate for a short stay & the service more than compensated for the minimal storage space & the beds were VERY COMFY. Breakfast set us up for the day. Some disturbance from late-night revellers on Fri & Sat night other nights were very quiet

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, the pleasure as always, is ours ! xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Old Dairy is a great place to stay for a few days. Excellent location - we left the car and caught the bus into the city centre - the buses are frequent (No 79 and others), and it is easy to know where to get off when coming back (the stop after Matalan). Breakfast is self service continental - good variety. Friendly welcome, quiet, and good value. Dining room with microwave & fridge is available to use.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to leave us a review.
It appears that we ticked all of your boxes, so glad that you appreciated what we offer and that you got great value for money. The pleasure was all ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The rooms don't have their own shower, milk was not provided with the coffee available, and the walls are paper thin. Could hear one customer snoring violently through the wall. Also, expect to be woken up early by people walking through the corridors. In terms of sevice, there was someone at reception when we checked in and he explained everything to us, so no problem there. Room also smelt funky.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Nicholas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review.
I would like to address your negative points, if i may:
All but one of our rooms are fully ensuite, you CHOSE to book this room which was the cheapest, at a time when there were many other room options available to book including many full ensuite rooms.However, we are sorry you were disappointed with the room you selected. Perhaps guests should check all of the individual room info available at the time of making their bookings.
I am sorry that the milk was missing from your tray, however, you could have come to reception and request some. As mentioned in the room info pack left on the bed, we are always happy to provide if you want/need it. We cant put it right once you check-out.
I am sorry that you experienced sleep disruption in the morning, unfortunately, other guests may leave early as they are/were here on business. However, we take your comments on board and are currently looking into measures to reduce noise on the stairs& corridors
Once again, we are sorry that you did not feel you got value for your money i.e £29 per night for 2 people!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank RebeccaH35
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed at The Old Dairy for 12 nights with my 3 year old grand daughter while my husband was in hospital, I could not have chosen better, the quality of the accommodation and cleanliness were excellent. The breakfast was plentiful and very nice. You can use the kitchen for preparing food for yourself it is well equipped even a dishwasher to clean up when you had finished. Michelle excels in going that extra mile to make you feel welcome and at home and Antonio the on site manager was always there to help if needed so I always felt safe and secure. Plenty of parking outside on the road. Most welcoming hotel I have stayed in I would definitely stay at The Old Dairy again if in the area and would recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was a pleasure to be available for you whilst you we here under difficult circumstances. Thank you for your kind words,but most of all we are very happy that you felt at home here and we provided all you needed, including value !
Thanks lynette.x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Nice and quiet place, with a free car park. Rooms are really nice! Very very friendly and funny stuff! We were four people and all absolutely satisfied! A kitchen with everything and a nice breakfast is available, too! Great value!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for leaving a review, its very important to us. The pleasure was all ours. We are happy to know that you got great value, thank you again Stefan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is a smashing little place offering unbelievably good value for money. You get exactly what they say they offer - very clean, tidy rooms with a very, very generous breakfast for a set price. We booked direct, and so the breakfast was offered in the price. Michelle is a lovely host, and Antonio, her in-house staff, is clearly very proud of doing a good job. They could not be more friendly and helpful, and if we ever stay in Liverpool again, we will stay there, taking our bikes to explore the city. This is not the Hilton. If that's what you want, go there. This is a near-perfect budget hotel without airs and graces but with everything you need.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Totnesdoyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landlady, Owner at The Old Dairy Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Wow ! Well thank you so much for such a positive review. As always the pleasure is all ours, we simply love to see our guests have a happy stay xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 100 in Liverpool
4,348 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Embassie Independent Hostel
#28 of 118 in Liverpool
144 reviews
Central Liverpool
Euro Hostel Liverpool
Euro Hostel Liverpool
#14 of 118 in Liverpool
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Dairy Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy Guest House

Address: 39A Kempton Road | Wavertree, Liverpool L15 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range: £33 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Dairy Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House provides warm hospitality with excellent value for money & excellent customer service with the provision of everything you could possibly want for your short stay here in Liverpool.Consider it your 'home away from home'. We are a Budget Guest House for those who have a limited budget but prefer quiet environment to rest away from the busy city. The Old Dairy has often been referred to as a 'hidden gem' is tucked away in a quiet, residential neighbourhood just a short bus ride from Liverpool's bustling city centre (2 miles) We were once a working dairy serving the local neighbourhood in bygone days. All of our guest bedrooms are modern and stylish, providing our guests with a very comfortable base to stay. Each room is furnished to very comfortable and modern standard providing all divan base beds in our double & twin rooms. Our Family room has double bed & 2 twin divan beds, our Triples have double bed & 1 single. We like our guests to feel at home so we provide all of our bedrooms with tea making facilities & complimentary tea & coffee as well as Flat screen digital TV/DVD players, plenty of hanging & storage space plus dressing mirror. Free wi-fi internet throughout the building. There is also free guest information pack in the guest rooms as well in our foyer. Bathroom toiletries are also included in all of our bathrooms both shared and en suites. Hair-dryers in all room & Irons and Ironing boards are also available at reception. The Old Dairy has an amply equipped mini kitchen/diner with refrigerator, 24 hr free tea and coffee; microwave oven, toasters & dishwasher, even the forgotten corkscrew! We don't impose any curfew so guests can come and go as they please as all rooms have own keys once guests are checked-in. Our apologies but we DO NOT accept bookings from Stag or Hen parties, boozing parties or similar as we want to provide a peaceful place for those who want somewhere quiet with warm hospitality. We will accept groups of walkers, cyclists or similar(those who don't intend to be partying !)who like a quiet peaceful place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your The Old Dairy Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing