We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Roscoe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roscoe House
Ranked #62 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The hotel bears no resemblance to the website or maybe I was just unlucky with the two rooms I saw. Rooms 103 and 104 do not feel like they have been refurbished. Holes in the walls, unfinished, unpainted filler in others. Curtains that don't fit the window and a bathroom while serviceable was not as good as most travel or premier inns. Felt like I was sleeping in the corridor as the door was so ill fitting that I could hear everything going on in reception. Rooms 103/104 are not worth over £100 per night. £60 would be more what they are worth. Having had my moan I must compliment the staff. They were very polite and tried to be helpful and did give me some money off. But wouldn't stay again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Claire186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    86
    63
    43
    46
See reviews for
46
138
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Roscoe House for two nights and it ended up being the best room we had during our whole time in the UK. It was in a great location, had friendly staff, the rooms were beautiful and it was an unbeatable value -- especially given that we were there during the Matthews Festival and Beatle Week, which I told was the busiest time of the year for hotels. Our room also had an extra office with a couch which was a pleasant surprise. Free WiFi was also a huge plus. I HIGHLY recommenced Roscoe House if in Liverpool, you can't beat it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSummers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Hi Matt,

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your trip to Liverpool and especially your stay at Roscoe House. I have shared your kind comments with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards
Conor
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Stayed n the studio apartment both on the premises & also the other serviced apartment around the corner, Best hotel I have stayed in my time, Service is great, value is extraordinary and both buildings are lovely! A must!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willow B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Hi WillowB,

Great to hear your feedback and to note that you have stayed with us on more than one occasion. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards
Conor
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Had a lovely time at the Roscoe, just returned from two night , the staff are very friendly and the hotel is small and clean and comfortable., a big thank you to Karen and Steve, and the other young lady who worked on reception,

Breakfast served in the room so you can have it any time you want, two tvs and a small seating area were you can work if you want too.

One of the other room s had a piano and I would love to stay in that one.

Great trip and really easy to get around from here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citychick-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Hi CityChick-11,

Really good to read your feedback. I have passed your praise onto Karen and Steve, along with our housekeeping team who pride themselves on offering the highest standards of cleanliness at all times.

Hope to see you again when you visit Liverpool.

Best Regards
Conor
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Just returned from a two night stay here and have to say a big thank you to the staff at Roscoe House.Friendly and really helpful special thanks to Steve and Karen for making my stay welcoming a great asset to the place
My room 204 was indeed quirkey but really comfortable and clean and quiet the whole place has a really nice atmosphere to it and I intend to return in the next few weeks
Its really well located and for me a joy to have stayed there many thanks to all involved with the place

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Hi DavidM,

It was a pleasure to read your lovely comments. I have shared them with Karen, Steve and the team. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards
Conor
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

The building itself is beautiful and in a great location with plenty of bars and restaurants near by. Our room 204, was quite quirky and actually consisted of a bedroom then a small hallway with a shower room and study/sitting room leading off it. I would say this is a hotel for a couple or maybe a person staying over on business. There are lots of amazing original features, however you have to realise that in order to keep the originality you have to expect noise, especially from heavy doors shutting when people arrive back. For those of you intested in the history of Liverpool, the man who the house is named after was instrumental in the abolition of the slave trade.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CEO_RoscoeCollection, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Hello Maria,

Thank you so much for your recent review of Roscoe House. Being a Grade 2 Listed Georgian Building we offer many original features and quirky accommodation not found in modern, branded hotels. Hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Conor
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2012

we had a lovely time here at Roscoe House which was very close to all of the amenities in the city centre. The room was very large, clean and well furnished. The continental breakfast was all you could ask for and delivered to your room at a time to suit ourselves. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and we would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Aachen Hotel
Aachen Hotel
#51 of 97 in Liverpool
260 reviews
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#60 of 97 in Liverpool
1,072 reviews
Hope Street Hotel
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 Catharine Street Hotel
#65 of 97 in Liverpool
44 reviews
Posh Pads Liverpool ONE
#7 of 97 in Liverpool
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roscoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roscoe House

Property: Roscoe House
Address: 27 Rodney Street, Liverpool L1 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roscoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 15 boutique guest rooms in a converted mansion house at the heart of Georgian Liverpool, Roscoe House offers a friendly warm welcome, attentive service and great value for money on the doorstep of all that Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Roscoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roscoe House Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing