We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation in great location”
Review of Roscoe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roscoe House
Ranked #62 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Wirral
1 review
“Excellent accomodation in great location”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at Roscoe House in late October for one night. The whole experience was excellent. The building was lovely and we had a great room which was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is very central and perfect for exploring the city. Had a great nights sleep! Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel_c78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Daniel_c78
Thank you for taking the time in your day to write such a great review, We are very happy you would recommend Roscoe House and had a Excellent experience. We do pride ourselves in giving a friendly helpful service and glad you had a great stay.

Look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards
Rosoce House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    86
    63
    43
    46
See reviews for
46
138
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We arrived at about 8pm on Friday evening. Check in no problem, we have a little Jack Russel, he was very welcomed, too. Unfortunately we were not aware of ordering breakfast for the next morning, where you get it in your room. So we had breakfast around the corner from the hotel in a little cute sandwich bar with the option of english breakfast.
We had the Room 105, opposite of the Reception. We were very surprised about this room...you walk in and in this room is a piano. Fantastic idea, very unusual. The Bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean. Flat screen TV above the Piano. Little mirror wardrobe, office table, very spacious room. Pet friendly Hotel to name it, with no extra cost.
Its quite easy to get to the Centre. Parking opportunity at the nearby cathedral. Nice bars around the hotel are too.
Would come back

Room Tip: If you like the unusual Piano in the room, choose Room 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenbri63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Jenbri63,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Myself and the rest of the team are very pleased to hear you had a great stay here at Roscoe House and enjoyed 105. Do apologies about not being explained about the Breakfast option and we will make sure that this is explained to all guests on check in, in the future.
Hope you think of us next time you visit Liverpool.

Kind Regards
Roscoe House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel really for the location which is excellent but on arrival was very disappointed the room looked like a student squat with awful stained carpet , the smallest shower I have ever seen which was either scalding hot or ice cold on the same setting with no power it trickled . Different staff turn around and on arrival the staff said it was his first night so didn't know the rooms ! They are nothing like the pics at all, they are tired looking with mixed furniture , weird I would say . The only thing good is that it was clean and in a very goo position , would not return though

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ransnottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Ransnottom,

Thank you for taking time to write a review, It is a shame you didn't like the room you were given at Roscoe House. However, the room you stayed in has pictures of it both on our own web site and on our Trip Advisor page. You will recall that you were also offered another room in Roscoe House twice, once on the day of arrival and again on the second evening of your stay. Your problem however seemed to me more to do with the fact that you saw a cheaper last minute deal with one of our competitors and wanted us to refund the difference in price between us and them. Unfortunately this isn't how our business, or any other accommodation business in Liverpool operates.

With regard to your comment about our carpets, they are high grade commercial carpets, however they are going to be subject to wear and tear over time. We do have our carpets professionally cleaned twice a year though to maintain high levels of cleanliness and hygiene. Indeed, this is the first time that anyone has ever commented on the condition of our carpets, other than when some other members of your party decided to jump on the band wagon as well. You have however noted that the accommodation was clean, so I am at a loss to figure out how you can say it as like a student squat. Moreover, from what I know of the housing act Student Squats have been illegal for many years, indeed if Roscoe Hous resembled one I doubt very much we would be allowed to trade.

I am sorry to hear that the member of staff on duty when you checked in wasnt fully familiar with the individual features of your room. They have only recently joined our team and as each of our rooms are unique and individual they were still to familiarise themselves with a couple of them, which they now have.
We dope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Liverpool and may re-consider and choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards
Roscoe House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Conveniently located, very nice room with separate lounge area, staff very friendly and helpful. Good, no frills accommodation close to China town, Ropewalks district, cathedrals and universities. On-street parking can be paid for online or by text.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear LindaM21,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves on Great service and Cleanliness of Roscoe House. Glad you found all the staff friendly and Helpful, and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Roscoe House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights at the Roscoe House in Liverpool, UK. We paid about 230 pounds for both nights. The room had no phone. There was no control over the heating. As there was no phone in the room, we had to go to the Lobby to ask how to turn the heating on. The person came to check it and could not have it started either. He went back to the lobby and called someone who told him that the heating would be on only after 6:00 PM !!! There was tea, sugar and cream available in the room. My wife prepared a cup of tea and had to throw it away because the cream was spoiled. On our way back to the room on the second night there was a terrible, foul smell, coming from the carpet directly outside our door (see picture attached). We could not shower on the day we left because there was no hot water and the water was just dripping. I do not recommend this hotel at all. For the price we paid we expected much more.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Lampiao0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Lampia0,

Thank you for taking the time to review Roscoe House. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. We must however point out Roscoe House is not a Hotel and neither advertises as a Hotel. We our Guest accommodation therefore we don't provide the same amenities. Eg Phones in every room. This has indeed being pointed out many times before on this forum. It is very rarely that we receive any complaints about our heating as we have quite an efficient system. However, we are always happy to provide extra heaters to any guests who may require additional heating in their room.

Referring to the Picture you have posted, that is an old mark on the floor which was accidentally made by a contractor who accidentally put a greasy tool bag down when they were doing some work in the building a week or so ago. The stain was treated immediately by our housekeeper and it will be completely removed when our carpets are professionally cleaned before Christmas, a task which we undertake very regularly. You and I both know that there is no smell coming from it. If you were really that condensed about the mark and smell you think was coming from it, why did you not report it to reception during your stay or indeed mention it on check out?.

I must apologise for any issue which you may have experienced with hot water on the morning which you left. The problem was with the hot and cold water supply and was caused by a burst water pipe on the street which contractors were working urgently to repair. The repairs were completed by 10.30AM. Unfortunately this matter was completely beyond our control as it affected the entire street.
We do hope you enjoyed your visit to our city and that you may re-consider and choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Roscoe House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed at the hotel in November after booking a last minute hotel via an online booking company.

The building itself is an old grade 2 listed building with a lot of character and charm and in a location in easy walking distance to china town, shopping centres and the docks so no need to drive or get taxis.

Unfortunately we found the hotel interior to be quite dated and run down. Our particular room was large, had a separate kitchen and bathroom. There was a sofa, tv and dining table in the room with ample storage space for belongings. The room looked nothing like the few pictures on the hotels website. We found a few faults with our room which with a little TLC could have made our opinion off the hotel much better. The paint on the radiators was peeling off, the door between kitchen, bathroom and bedroom did not shut (needs rehanging) and the double bed base was broken resulting in a poor nights sleep. The bathroom was very dated and the shower was terribly underpowered resulting in a dribble of water rather than a jet.

I would suggest if you do stay here to visit the cathedral just at the top of the road. It's the largest cathedral in the UK and benefits from FREE entry. You can park your car here too for £6 for 24 hours.

I would not stay at the Roscoe again and would suggest that unless you get a real bargain you may be disappointed. In my opinion this hotel should be priced around £25-£30 a night and with a bit of TLC it could easily be brought back to the quality hotel it claims to be.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Martriz,

Thank you for taking the time to review Roscoe House Guest Accommodation. We our in the middle of refurbishment and updating rooms, but as we our a small independent company we can only look one room at a time, and the studio apartment you stayed in is on the list.

We also recommend the Liverpool Cathedral at the end of Rodney street. The £6 for 24 hours is organised by Roscoe House only for Roscoe House Guests,.

Its a shame you did not enjoy your stay at Roscoe House and mention your problems whilst staying with us here. We our always open and welcome for feed back of any sort.

Kind Regards
Roscoe House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Found Roscoe House rather by accident, but I knew that it simply provided a bed for the night. Located in a fine old building (I was attending a conference on heritage and conservation so I tend to notice such things), the inside public areas are a bit tired and soul-less. However the room, more like a suite was clean modern and quite contemporary. It comprised a large bedroom, with connecting lounge/sitting area, and a gigantic bathroom, big enough to swing several cats.. Much more than I expected for a very modest price. Only down side was lack of breakfast provision. No breakfast room. Breakfast had to be ordered the evening before, was only a continental breakfast, and as I was advised by the chap at reception, it didn't amount to much. So I decided to have breakfast out on both mornings. There are plently cafes and restaurants nearby, many with an ethnic menu. Overall, I had a good bed for the night, which was all a really needed at a very modest price. Could have done with a full english in house to get me going in the morning.

Room Tip: I have no tips to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hope Street Hotel
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
1,995 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aachen Hotel
Aachen Hotel
#50 of 97 in Liverpool
271 reviews
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#59 of 97 in Liverpool
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 Catharine Street Hotel
#61 of 97 in Liverpool
46 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roscoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roscoe House

Property: Roscoe House
Address: 27 Rodney Street, Liverpool L1 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roscoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 15 boutique guest rooms in a converted mansion house at the heart of Georgian Liverpool, Roscoe House offers a friendly warm welcome, attentive service and great value for money on the doorstep of all that Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Roscoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roscoe House Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing