We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roscoe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roscoe House
Ranked #62 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
1 review
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Large spacious room,close to all the city centre amenities. Would recommend for a short stay in Liverpool. Great value for money. Would certainly use again if I was in the area.
Only down side was the lack of parking,but you can park in the cathedral car park for£6perday.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank referee63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Referee63,
Thank you for your review. Parking can be difficult in the city center and unfortunately Roscoe House was never built with any, That is why we have arranged parking with the Liverpool Cathedral at the end of Rodney Street. £6 per 24 hours instead of the £12 you would pay if you were parking as general public. Glad you found your stay with us great value for money and hope to see you again if your in the area.

Kind Regards
Roscoe House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    86
    63
    43
    46
See reviews for
46
138
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Our triple room was not as advertised on line. Recently returned from 2 night stay with friends.
The room we had was in a poor state of decoration with paint peeling from the radiators and pipe work. The 'luxurious ' bathroom was anything but. Very disappointing. Dilapidated, bath enamel chipped and shower very weak ( we didn't bother with it on the second day!). The bathroom with toilet opened directly off the kitchen area too, which didn't seem very hygienic. Staff were pleasant enough, but were unable to offer any compensation. I'm still waiting for a response to the email I sent to the owner.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the refurbished rooms. Our room at the front was very noisy with people ret...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peaceful59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I have stayed at Roscoe House many times now. It is always clean and comfortable, with nicely decorated, good sized rooms and friendly, helpful staff. It couldn't be closer to the city centre, with plenty of nice places very close by to have breakfast where and when you want. With very reasonable rates, and secure parking close by for only £6 overnight, why would you stay anywhere else??

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear David W

Thank you for your review, Its nice to here great feed back from regular uses, I can only hope we keep impressing you on your stays in the future.

Kind Regards and a Happy New Year
Roscoe House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at Roscoe House in late October for one night. The whole experience was excellent. The building was lovely and we had a great room which was very spacious and beautifully decorated. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is very central and perfect for exploring the city. Had a great nights sleep! Would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel_c78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear Daniel_c78
Thank you for taking the time in your day to write such a great review, We are very happy you would recommend Roscoe House and had a Excellent experience. We do pride ourselves in giving a friendly helpful service and glad you had a great stay.

Look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards
Rosoce House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We arrived at about 8pm on Friday evening. Check in no problem, we have a little Jack Russel, he was very welcomed, too. Unfortunately we were not aware of ordering breakfast for the next morning, where you get it in your room. So we had breakfast around the corner from the hotel in a little cute sandwich bar with the option of english breakfast.
We had the Room 105, opposite of the Reception. We were very surprised about this room...you walk in and in this room is a piano. Fantastic idea, very unusual. The Bed was very comfortable. The room was very clean. Flat screen TV above the Piano. Little mirror wardrobe, office table, very spacious room. Pet friendly Hotel to name it, with no extra cost.
Its quite easy to get to the Centre. Parking opportunity at the nearby cathedral. Nice bars around the hotel are too.
Would come back

Room Tip: If you like the unusual Piano in the room, choose Room 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenbri63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Jenbri63,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Myself and the rest of the team are very pleased to hear you had a great stay here at Roscoe House and enjoyed 105. Do apologies about not being explained about the Breakfast option and we will make sure that this is explained to all guests on check in, in the future.
Hope you think of us next time you visit Liverpool.

Kind Regards
Roscoe House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel really for the location which is excellent but on arrival was very disappointed the room looked like a student squat with awful stained carpet , the smallest shower I have ever seen which was either scalding hot or ice cold on the same setting with no power it trickled . Different staff turn around and on arrival the staff said it was his first night so didn't know the rooms ! They are nothing like the pics at all, they are tired looking with mixed furniture , weird I would say . The only thing good is that it was clean and in a very goo position , would not return though

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ransnottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Ransnottom,

Thank you for taking time to write a review, It is a shame you didn't like the room you were given at Roscoe House. However, the room you stayed in has pictures of it both on our own web site and on our Trip Advisor page. You will recall that you were also offered another room in Roscoe House twice, once on the day of arrival and again on the second evening of your stay. Your problem however seemed to me more to do with the fact that you saw a cheaper last minute deal with one of our competitors and wanted us to refund the difference in price between us and them. Unfortunately this isn't how our business, or any other accommodation business in Liverpool operates.

With regard to your comment about our carpets, they are high grade commercial carpets, however they are going to be subject to wear and tear over time. We do have our carpets professionally cleaned twice a year though to maintain high levels of cleanliness and hygiene. Indeed, this is the first time that anyone has ever commented on the condition of our carpets, other than when some other members of your party decided to jump on the band wagon as well. You have however noted that the accommodation was clean, so I am at a loss to figure out how you can say it as like a student squat. Moreover, from what I know of the housing act Student Squats have been illegal for many years, indeed if Roscoe Hous resembled one I doubt very much we would be allowed to trade.

I am sorry to hear that the member of staff on duty when you checked in wasnt fully familiar with the individual features of your room. They have only recently joined our team and as each of our rooms are unique and individual they were still to familiarise themselves with a couple of them, which they now have.
We dope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Liverpool and may re-consider and choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards
Roscoe House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Conveniently located, very nice room with separate lounge area, staff very friendly and helpful. Good, no frills accommodation close to China town, Ropewalks district, cathedrals and universities. On-street parking can be paid for online or by text.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaM21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear LindaM21,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves on Great service and Cleanliness of Roscoe House. Glad you found all the staff friendly and Helpful, and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Roscoe House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
24 Catharine Street Hotel
#63 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Hope Street Hotel
#11 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,911 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aachen Hotel
Aachen Hotel
#54 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roscoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roscoe House

Property: Roscoe House
Address: 27 Rodney Street, Liverpool L1 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roscoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 15 boutique guest rooms in a converted mansion house at the heart of Georgian Liverpool, Roscoe House offers a friendly warm welcome, attentive service and great value for money on the doorstep of all that Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Roscoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roscoe House Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing