We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place in the city centre”
Review of Roscoe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roscoe House
Ranked #64 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Went for a short city break to Liverpool and stayed at Roscoe house. Loved the room and the location. My room faced the street, but I can't say I was troubled by vehicle noise, but I'm not the most sensitive sleeper, so if you are then it would be wise to ask for an internal room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mohammed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Mohammed G,
Thank you for taking the time to review Roscoe House,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the room lovey, and location ideal.
Hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards,
Roscoe House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

my wife and i stayed sat 1 jan 2014 after delivering our son to uni.
parking was ok with a little walk from the cathedral £6.00 is good for 24 hours in liverpool and the car was under cctv.

we had room 104 ground near reception. hence some people traffic woken by guests leaving at 5-50 Am yawn ! ------ there was also a hum from the central heating pump for considerable hours of the day & night the outlet from the boiler is adjacent to the window of 104 hence the boiler is adjacent probably in the cellar underneath the room.

the room was very large with a double & 2 singles the room was clean white towels and linen with a shower WC and basin all very clean .... BUT COME ON ROSCOE WHERES THE HOT WATER the water was at best tepid and not hot enough for a shower.. turn the system temp up or adjust the timer on the hot water setting................... thats the heating engineer consultation for free !!

a short walk to the centre of Liverpool so location is good no major views but non required or expected .. a decent set of tea and coffee kit- telly and all technology were in place as were plenty of towels.

pleasant receptionist who was helpful breakfast didn't jump out at us as an option but no probs down to the leaf cafe where the works are available ...

summary for the money Ok - location good - parking no probs its a city !!! and for 24 hours at the adelphi it was £15 rather than £6-00 at roscoe / cathedral.

we will be back as our son has some years to do at uni but please can we have another quieter room and some hot water ..

smithy >>>>>>

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are adjacent to the fornt door and people traffic perhaps rooms on the upper flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed one night for Carol Concert in Anglican Cathedral.
Very impresed with large room ,Flat screen TV, Wi-Fi and Tea & Coffee making facillities.
Ideal for the Georgian Quater of Liverpool with plenty going on.
The only down to the stay was the Water boiler had broken with no chance of a plumber over the festive period.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Within walking distance of Anglican Cathedral and Georgian Quater of Liverpool,plenty going on
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank akmchugh54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a studio room in this hotel which was really great and comfortable. We had a very huge room with a kitchen, a big sofa and a dining table which was so warm and convenient to use. And staff was so kindly and nice. We strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Won C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Dear Won C,

Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy to here you had enjoyed your stay and found 1 of our studios rooms large and comfortable. We do pride ourselves in custom service so it is excellent to get such great feed back. Hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Roscoe House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed here on new years eve after searching for hotel for few days they were all very expensive. Seen roscoe house and it looked gorgeous and for £99 I thought i'd treat myself & friend. It was easy enough to locate first impressions were good,reception helpful. we were on 3rd floor room 304, was impressed by the massive bathroom that contained a walk in shower ,sink & toilet although a little confused that they had not put a bath in there given the size. when I walked into our room I was disapointed. Didnt look anything like any of the pictures shown on site. To be honest I thought we had been put in staff lodgings. The room was freezing all night slept in my jumper, very thin quilt. The window which due to the style of the building were extremley old and very drafty were right at the foot of the bed, it was only just possible to pass the bottom of the bed without hurting yourself on the curtain tie backs. Im not joking when i tell you the bathroom is bigger than the bedroom. reading other people reviews on how enjoyable their stay was really makes me think i must of stayed in staff quarters! Would be lucky if i would score it at 2star rating. If id paid £34 like prices now advertised id of been happy enough with value for money.
Tracey, Wrexham

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rushie1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed for one night on business, on the recommendation of a friend. The room was comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated, and the bed comfy. My room was at the front, and the road was a little noisy the next morning. Breakfast had to be ordered as was delivered on a tray and cost an extra £5; it was ok, but it's probably better to go to a local cafe. Staff were helpful, and the location was excellent for restaurants etc. All in all, for £40 per night, this hotel is very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back - away from the road - will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PatrickNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I stayed Roscoe House when visiting Liverpool for my works Christmas party. Great central location....only 5 minute walk to the main area for bars.
Large bathroom (although no bath)...bedroom of good standard. Helpful staff

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrMickey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear MrMickey1
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found us to be a grear location for you and the staff were helpful. I hope you had a festive season and happy new year.
Kind Regards
Roscoe House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
24 Catharine Street Hotel
#61 of 98 in Liverpool
47 reviews
hope street hotel
#14 of 98 in Liverpool
2,058 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aachen Hotel
Aachen Hotel
#50 of 98 in Liverpool
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,189 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roscoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roscoe House

Address: 27 Rodney Street, Liverpool L1 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £49 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roscoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 15 boutique guest rooms in a converted mansion house at the heart of Georgian Liverpool, Roscoe House offers a friendly warm welcome, attentive service and great value for money on the doorstep of all that Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roscoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roscoe House Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing