We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice and great stay”
Review of Roscoe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Roscoe House
Ranked #62 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Huddersfiield
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good choice and great stay”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

After looking for somewhere for 3 couples to have a mini break the Roscoe House was the one that seemed ideal, in a good location and at a very good price. We found the hotel easily enough and parking in the Anglican Church at the bottom of the road was no problem at all. The hotel was clean and the rooms were comfortable. Breakfast (continental) was served to your room and apart from the hot water taking ages there were no complaints at all. Very nice bathrooms and all look to have been newly done recently. Friendly staff but not in your face. We were 2 minutes walk from the Philarmonic dining rooms which is an absolute must, and just round the corner was the Roscoe Head which was a little gem and very friendly. We did most of the museums and a trip on the open top city tour bus which gave us a lot of information on the beautful buildings of LIverpool. We will certainly be back to the Roscoe House and Liverpool.

Room Tip: The house is on a fairly quiet street and we were at the back so we heard no noise at all, looking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    86
    63
    43
    46
See reviews for
46
138
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Superb nights sleep before daughter's audition at LIPA. Amazing value for money with breakfast. Fabulous location, parking at the Cathedral as recommended by hotel. Nothing flash but clean and excellent value. Even if she doesn't get in would come back and stay here. Superb location for a wonderful city!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel13sp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

If your looking for style and elegance at an affordable price in the heart of 'old Liverpool' then Roscoe House really is a treat for your senses. The building is beautiful and clean service excellent

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed for 1 night and went to a gig at the East Village Arts Club, which was only a 5 - 10 min walk away. It's also only about a 20 min walk from the Tate etc, so really great location. We booked with lastminute.com and that entitled us to a free breakfast which was great! We literally just had to tick the boxes on a list for what we wanted and it was delivered to our room in the morning at a time we chose, which was really nice! Bed and bathroom was really clean which at the end of the day (to me anyway) is the most important thing.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Music123901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hailsham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This place would be great if not for the poor management and what I was accused of 2 weeks after my stay there back in december,great room,full of charactor,shame the staff and management were poor.I was accused of smashing a picture in the room during my stay which never happened,plumbers were in and out and I even left my door unlocked so they had access whilst I went out for the day,I had no hot water for 3 days so without doubt would never stay there again out of sheer principle alone

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southerner40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My mum and I had a 2 night stay here at Roscoe House and it proved to be a great base from which to explore Liverpool. We didn't expect a great deal (except a basic place to lay our heads) as the room was purchased online for £70 for 2 nights. Such a surprise and a lesson to not judge a book by it's cover! The staff were super friendly and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble. The gentleman over the phone was extremely helpful when asking for the best place to park our car (at the Cathedral at the end of the street, with which they had a special deal for patrons of the hotel). We arrived late in the evening after a 4 hour drive and were starving, so the lovely young lady at reception, after checking us in, showed us briefly on a map where the best places were to eat around the area, and helped us familiarise ourselves with our location. The location of the hotel was fabulous, being only a short walk to the main shopping district, the fabulous cafes and restaurants in Bold street, Sainsbury's Local, Liverpool Lime Street station and, in the opposite direction, the Albert Dock area. The room we had was HUGE...high ceilings, double bed AND two singles, with a huge en suite bathroom with a bath. It was warm and spacious and extremely comfortable. Another room on the hotel featured a grand piano (!) which my mum was invited to have a play on whilst the housekeeping was being done the following morning. The hotel advertised a laundry facility also, which my mum made use of as we had been on the road for a few days. Expecting a coin operated laundry in the basement, we were so surprised when the same lovely girl at reception at check in, had personally done a load of washing for mum whilst we were out for the day and had even come in and hung it out on an airer in front of the massive radiator in the bathroom to dry. And when we tried to pay for the service, she said there was no extra charge! Just such an unexpected level of service and we were extremely touched by this caring and homely approach.
Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JESH82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear JESH82,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are very happy to here you had such a great stay at Roscoe House and found us to run a profession but homely service. It is very important to us that we can try and go that little bit further for are guests. Roscoe House is a Excellent local for seeing liverpool as everything is with in a 10-15 Minutes walk and we have a wide range of restaurants and bars with in a couple of Minutes walk from our door which we are glad to share our knowledge of.

Hope to see you next time your in Liverpool.
Kind Regards.
Roscoe House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I went to Liverpool for the weekend, I was recommended Roscoe House by a friend. Lovely room, the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Great value as well. I would definitely recommended Roscoe House to a friend,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoscoeHouse_Manager, Manager at Roscoe House, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Aidan C

Very Glad to hear you enjoyed you time at Roscoe House and that you would reccommended us. We do Pride ourselves to be able to give a friendly and accommodating service to all our guests.
Thank you for taking your time to review us and hope to see you in the futrue.

Kind Regards
Roscoe House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Aachen Hotel
Aachen Hotel
#51 of 97 in Liverpool
261 reviews
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#60 of 97 in Liverpool
1,072 reviews
Hope Street Hotel
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 Catharine Street Hotel
#66 of 97 in Liverpool
44 reviews
Posh Pads Liverpool ONE
#7 of 97 in Liverpool
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roscoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roscoe House

Property: Roscoe House
Address: 27 Rodney Street, Liverpool L1 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roscoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 15 boutique guest rooms in a converted mansion house at the heart of Georgian Liverpool, Roscoe House offers a friendly warm welcome, attentive service and great value for money on the doorstep of all that Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Roscoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roscoe House Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing