We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roscoe House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roscoe House
Ranked #62 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed in the hotel for a hen party and paid over £140 for 1 night so not Cheap. Staff were friendly enough but the room was very noisy and the shower would not get hot. It took that long for hot water to come through i had to go out without a shower and my mum had to wash her hair in the sink. I was looking forward to getting a shower by the morning but still it took 30mins for hot water to finally come through. The male on the desk said it was because it was an old building and he didnt even know how to work the shower when trying to help. Very disappointed with our stay at Roscoe house. I have had better stays in a hostel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    86
    64
    43
    46
See reviews for
47
138
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My stays in Liverpool were fantastic just because of Roscoe House. The House is so gorgeous and well-equipped. The room was unexpectedly large, especially the bathroom. The staffs are helpful and hospitable, they gave us all necessary resources and useful information which we appreciate a lot.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Hotel was a perfect location for us as we wanted to stay close to city centre. For the first 48 hours our room had no water although the staff tries to address the problem and offered us another room to shower in we were not offered another room to move to although there were plenty available.

I had also booked for us to stay in a "deluxe suite". I was given a vague description stating that we would either have a separate living room or be at the back of the house we were given neither. Having seen other room doors open when housekeeping were working there were some stubbing suites hug sadly we weren't in one.

Polite staff and good location but personally would not return.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for 1 night and booked the hotel through Expedia secret hotels so didn't no what we had booked till we had paid for it.
I was skeptical at first as I wasn't sure what to expect. When we got there it was really nice and the room was massive. The staff were lovely and a really warm welcome. It was the ideal location for bars and restaurants. We went to cavern club which was about a 15 min walk and a taxi back from there to the hotel was £5 which we thought was great.
The only downside was the shower wasn't great it was hot but didn't run very quickly.

Overall a great night stay for what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenhoyland2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Check in was easy and quick, room and toilet were spacious and clean overlooking the garden which was lovely. But there's no hot water on my room, however the staff did apologized and sort it out by arranging a later check out for me the next day so I can use one of the other room to shower after the guest checked out. So i manage to have a peek on other room, the room was massive with a piano in it which is beautiful...the building itself is beautiful. Location is perfect, 5min walk to lots of restaurants and bar. I'm not into continental breakfast, so went to a nearby cafe which does really good breakfast at reasonable price. There's a subway less than 3min walk. Took me less than 15min walk from the station and it was easy following GPS. Another thing would be slow internet connection but that doesn't bother me that much.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank en23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The worst hotel i have ever stayed. you should find any other hotel this hotel is terrible. Its not worth paying money for.
The location is not good. They have just a little sign so it hard to find the location The room is very old. moreover the room that i stayed there is no running water and the staffs tell me that they cant do anything. I can just wait until the morning to check out. They said they maybe refund to us but they cant promise. Such an awful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yahfajja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely accommodation with separate sitting room, very friendly staff, excellent cleanliness throughout, great city centre location, will definatly stay there again next time we are in Liverpool, would highly recommend to friends and family

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
24 Catharine Street Hotel
#63 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Hope Street Hotel
#11 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,891 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aachen Hotel
Aachen Hotel
#51 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hallmark Inn Liverpool
#60 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roscoe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roscoe House

Property: Roscoe House
Address: 27 Rodney Street, Liverpool L1 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Roscoe House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 15 boutique guest rooms in a converted mansion house at the heart of Georgian Liverpool, Roscoe House offers a friendly warm welcome, attentive service and great value for money on the doorstep of all that Liverpool has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Roscoe House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roscoe House Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing