We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family leisure break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We booked the apartment for our city break as we were taking the kids with us and felt this was a better option of accommodation. We had arrived at 2pm and I asked if it was ready yet (check in wasn't until 3pm but was willing to pay the extra) was told it wasn't ready so we sat in reception. Our apartment ended up not being ready until 3.30pm. We were very happy with our apartment which had everything we needed including a lovely sun terrace. Our balcony door didn't lock or close properly, I reported this the next morning and reception said they would get someone to look into it which never happened the whole 4 nights we were there. The apartments are in a perfect location to everything and will def return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie-ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Staycity, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for posting your review. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the apartments to your liking. I was sorry to read we could not get you into your apartment earlier, but this would of been due to a late check out prior. I am glad you liked to terrace and everything was to your liking. I have noted your comment about the patio door, I will certainly look into that so many thanks for letting me know.

We hope to see you again very soon!

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

958 - 964 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Was here with a group if friends, we checked in & our apartment was fine. However our other friends entered their apartment & it just seemed not ready. It hadn't been cleaned properly dust everywhere as though it had just been refurbed but not cleaned. Wires hanging out of the wall and nails on the floor & this is despite it being booked 2 months in advance. Of course they complained & were advised they were full & no other rooms/apartments available. They had no solution & WE had to request a refund. The staff wouldn't authorise a refund without the manager on site & of course he wasn't. It took over 2 hours for the manager to come- using our time we wanted to spend in Liverpool. They finally offered a refund reluctantly & the 3 friends who were in the room couldn't get booked in anywhere else- again all full, so they had to not drink and drive home after the night had finished.
My husband got in rather late, gave his name to the 'bouncer' on the door who advised- your not on the list your not coming in. My husband advised his room number, full name advised who he was staying with & assured them he was staying here, when walking in the bouncers tackled him to the ground pulled him back to reception. Then the reception finally realised his name was on the list! No apology. However the bouncer STILL didn't believe him, escorted him to the room- he didn't have a key because we were sharing but the rule was to leave the door unlocked if u got in 1st. The bouncers knocked/ slammed on the door trying to wake the others up, my husband eventually just said to walk in. Once they were in the room I don't know what the bouncer wanted or expected- but the other guy who was in the room couldn't be woken as he was drunk.
Check out was equally as tedious! They have to check the room before you leave, so at 10am when everyone wanted to check out there was a huge queue.
Can honestly say an awful experience, regardless of the rooms which were finished. Ruined our experience and WILL NOT be going back!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Emmapownall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Staycity, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I have read your review and it looks like you stayed in Spectrum Apartments. I have highlighted this to Trip Advisor as this review is posted to the wrong apartments. We have in the past just looked after check in's for Spectrum, of which we no longer do so due to issues with their building. I have passed on your details to them, and can only apologies for the shortfall in customer care on their behalf.

Kind Regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just returned from a hen weekend in these apartments. Good location but apartments were a disappointment. Booked as a party of 9 with three hens in 3apartments. Three of the hens were on a different floor. Quite small for 3 people based in one apartment. Duvet in one of the rooms had an unpleasant stain which we had to complain about and have changed. Another of the duvets also stained which looked like food stains. Requested hair dryers in the rooms which barely worked and kept cutting out. Had to pay £50pp on my card for the 3 hens in my room, to be told after the money was taken that it would not be refunded for up to 10 days which I have never heard from any accommodation before that it takes that length of time. Overall, good enough location but apartments don't do the pictures on the website any justice.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephonl32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed one night after an airport pick up. Was really pleased with the apartment - clean, spacious, well equipped, comfortable, good location. No complaints! Would definitely return and recommend!

Parking at £12 was a bit pricey considering hotel patrons.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNormi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Staycity, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TA. It was a real pleasure to read such a nice review so for this thank you very much. I am glad that the apartments met your expectations and that you would definitely return.

I have made note about your comment about the parking, we do price accordingly with other similar properties but I will review the cost. We are looking to offer discounted parking when booking in advance.

Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

5030093

Booked 3 apartments for the Grand National weekend at the cost of £2350. Arrived, and was directed to park in their underground carpark. Having explained to the reception staff we were in a minibus we were told that as long as we could drive under the entrance gate height would be no issue. We cleared the entrance with plenty of space only to collide with two security cameras that were significantly lower than anything else, scraping the roof of the minibus. We informed the manager straight away about what had happened only to be given a tirade of abuse and threats of taking us to court! When we pointed out our van was damaged he continued with the abuse and foul language, and threatening to take money off our credit cards to pay for damage. At this point one of the staff said it had happened before, yet there are no height warning signs anywhere to be seen. Basically BEWARE!
The apartments are nice but the staff are obnoxious, and the manager very threatening.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank harfytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Staycity, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking both the time and trouble to post your review. Having read your feedback I was very disappointed to read what you had written and would like to point out that your comments are not actually true. Whilst your comments about the height of the vehicle and the access levels to the car park are open to interpretation, the discussion about the driver continuing to drive a vehicle into a car park whilst the roof is scraping the roof of the car park and damaging the cameras and the gantry is the point of concern. As for the charges a discussion with your friends to make good the damage caused was agreed and, that NO charge would be made if he could clean off and bend back the gantry. This was agreed in good humour with the two lads and NO charge was ever taken.
At no point did anyone swear either yourselves or the Management. The discussion was about a disagreement on why the driver continued to drive and that decision to continue to drive the van whilst it was scraping the roof of your van and car park was not the best, and whilst we agreed to highlight further the height of the car park, I think it would only be fair to agree that the van driver should not of attempted to continue driving the van thus causing further damage to the car park and cameras.

As I stated above discussions with your two friends was in very good humour and agreement was made withy them, of which they duly did and made good the damage.

We are sorry if there was a mis-understanding, but do thank you for your valued feedback.

Kind Regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We rented one of these apartments for 2 nights. I was so looking forward to staying here as they looked amazing in the pictures. Upon arrival check in was difficult. We all arrived at different times and no one could check in as we all had to pay up front. It was made even more difficult because we all had to pay in cash as they would only accept cards if the whole amount was paid on one card. We also had to hand over £50 each as a deposit. The entrance to the apartments and lobby area was just horrible - like a really dirty council estate block!! The apartment was just about adequate - although our double bedroom was so tiny and basic in the extreme. It also had no windows - so felt rather claustrophobic. It was clean enough on the surface but the walls and floors were very grubby and in need of some tlc. It did not in any way reflect the pictures. The staff were pretty unfriendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarajane_omalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Staycity, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time and the trouble, but it looks like your review has been posted to the wrong location? What I think has happen is you have stayed in Spectrum Apartments which do not belong to us, but we help them with checking in guests only. I have sent this to Trip Advisor to ask them to resolve?

Regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The apartment was lovely and had everything we needed for comfort. The location was excellent right in the middle of everything. Staff friendly and more than helpful. Had a really enjoyable stay. Would return.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vonny82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Staycity, General Manager at Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time and the trouble to post your review. It was a real pleasure to read such a pleasant review, and I must thank you for mentioning the staff its always heartening to read as they do their upmost to ensure our guests have a great stay.

Once again thank you and we hope to see you again very soon.

Regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Nadler Liverpool
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Adagio Liverpool City Centre
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#27 of 99 in Liverpool
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Epic Apart Hotel - Seel Street
0.1 mi away
Posh Pads Liverpool ONE
Posh Pads Liverpool ONE
#5 of 99 in Liverpool
841 reviews
0.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street

Address: 37-41 Duke Street, Liverpool L1 5AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 115 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range: £50 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
56 Serviced apartments at Lever Court, located in the city centre, right next door to the Liverpool ONE development. Finished to a very high standard, all apartments come complete with FREE Wi-Fi access, flatscreen TV, free view and Sky Sports Channels and fully-equipped kitchens with dishwasher, washer/dryer, oven, microwave and fridge freezer. 24 Hour Reception and Car Parking facilities are also available. A selection of apartments also have balconies, en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning and panoramic views across Liverpool's distinctive skyline and famous waterfront. Finished off with its own private Courtyard and superb service, offering an ideal base for both the business and leisure traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lever Court Apartments By Stayliverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing