We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“party heaven - sleep hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Staycity Aparthotels Liverpool - Duke Street
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Such a shame that at weekends these apartments appear to have been given over to young people who wish to party the weekend away. We stayed Thursday night which was okay but on Friday afternoon the revellers began arriving armed with large amounts of alcohol, box after box of wine and beer was carried in which did not instill us with hope for a good night's sleep. Unfortunately that proved to be right, cotton wool muffled some of the noise but screaming, shouting what sounded like kicking doors could not be blocked out. This went on all night in fact at 9am when we had breakfast there was still a group on a balcony just above us loudly swearing and shouting at passers by.

When we arrived the apartment was tidy and smelled of polish but that could not mask an underlying dirty smell which very clearly came from the badly stained carpet, a sign of things to come. The windows too were dirty, however we got a bargain and appreciate that carpets cannot be cleaned every week so didn't mind overly much. The apartments are lovely and were absolutely ideal for our requirements, they are well stocked with everything you might need and spacious, modern and comfortably furnished. There's no view to speak of but at least the balcony afforded cover for a smoker if needed. The location is also great to walk anywhere.

But the fact that they were so bad at night, we even saw a trio attempting to hire and apartment who looked about 15, one was in school uniform ( I don't know if they succeeded but seemed to be contemplating which one to choose!). I wouldn't go back as it did not feel safe to me the people were so drunk and out of control a fire or other disorder could easily have started. The staff were pleasant and helpful and as said good apartments but not for anyone who does not wish to spend a night without sleep!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deedeeGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,270 - 1,276 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2009

On arrival we were greeted by a rather bored looking blonde receptionist who was staring in to space. A queue of customers were at the desk. One women stormed up to the counter threw the keys on the desk and said "there is someone already in that apartment" not a great start but still it could just be a system error we thought.

Another receptionist spotted people waiting and checked us in, we were booked in the Spectrum Apartment and given room 6.... When we drove in the parking wasn’t secure (the gate was wide open anyone could have walked in) and in our space was a crate. We walked in to find stains on the carpet, walls and cushions. The balcony door did not open and the heat was so intense you couldn’t breathe! The whole place was filthy. Even the cutlery was dirty. We went back to the reception expecting to be given some half baked excuse but were given an apartment in the Duke Street block where the actual reception was. Better parking much more secure, CCTV and gates which opened only hen reception buzzed you in.

We were given apartment 3. Much, much better! We walked in to find a immaculate kitchen, the bathroom was so clean you could see your reflection in the marble floor. The apartment was much bigger and had a DVD player. This also had a window in the bedroom and the terrace door opened. Overall if I do return here I will call and book in to the Duke Street block again.

The dark haired receptionist was very friendly and happy to help us. I did feel a bit sorry for her as there was quite a few people complaining and it must be a stressful day.
As for the noise, I did hear the door bang in the corridor about 8pm but other than that it was fine. Very peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsFreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Booked and paid for July 4th 2009 for a trip for four of us to go up to Liverpool on 26th Sept 2009 to watch football. Booked early check in and when arrived at check in total shambles. Gave us the same excuse that our apartment had been trashed and we were being relocated. I note from other reviews they use this one a lot. We were told police involved which was total rubbish. Arrived early but not prepared to move anybody else. Then produced documentation that no accomodation was available and expedia should have emailed us. Checked email date after a fight to get proof and about 6 bookings on this list dated 18/9/09. No communication to us. Located us 8 miles outside of city centre which was totally unacceptable when we wanted to stay in town for bars and clubs and walk around city. Reception staff and alledged manager didn't have a clue. Waited over 1.5hrs to get to new location and saw another couple arrive with a booking that they had no knowledge of. Another booking totally messed up. An existing guest was complaining that nothing was working and hygiene in apartments wasn't good. When got taxi to hotel on the outskirts of town taxi driver told us this always happens and the business is a total shambles with lots of unsatisfied guests.
A fun weekend away for 4 mates turned into a very stressful adventure. The apartments only recently opened I believe in May 2009. Obviously not ready. Stay well Clear. Total shambles. Book if you want arguements with the very unhelpful staff that work there.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kingoEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

My dance partner and I stayed in the Lever Court Apartments whilst we attended a three day dance workshop based at the Adelphi.

We were going to stay at the Adelphi but having heard some bad reports about it's level of security we chose to stay elsewhere. (turns out that paid off - stories of stolen wallets and laptops within our fellow dancers!)

The LCA's are in a great location for the shopping and nightlife. They are well appointed and clean and the parking is secure and easy to find.

Unfortunately they do back onto the 'Crazyhouse' Nightclub and the infamous Cream. So whilst we were dancing until 2am, when we did get back to the apartment we were not getting to sleep until 6am due to the noise. That's fine if you are in a hen or stag party, but we were up at 8am for dance classes!

I wouldn't recommend it to older couples, or people that like their sleep. It's great for young people who want to party all night, sleep all day and then go shopping!!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squeakysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Pros:
Good location, great price and the actual apartment interior is faultless
Cons:
Well the problems started two days before we arrived, we were a party of 23, booked into these apartments, but by the time we had actually checked in, we were a party of 10, 16 of our group were reallocated to different properties around the city. A crane had fell into another apartment block and these residents needed the rooms in Lever Court. Which was understandable, but they only notified 8 of our group by email, the other 8 were told when they arrived at the reception, there was no sign of goodwill, i.e. Payment for taxis to the other hotels or even a meal voucher for the inconvenience.
Overhaul mixed feelings, if you stay in the apartments over a weekend, be prepared for noise and rowdiness from the hen & stag nights that stay here, the actual block we stayed in were across the street and had no reception or security. Perfect for groups, but families with young children I wouldn’t recommend over a weekend, and older travellers, would find the noise a bit too much. We also had a leak in the kitchen sink, which we reported first thing, went out for the day and it still had not been fixed when we arrived back, we ended up fixing it ourselves.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerseymick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

We booked two rooms for a weekend. We had booked one room for 5 people and a penthouse for 7. When we arrived we left our luggage in the store (which was free) as our rooms were not ready. The location of the apartments were fantastic, very close to the Albert Docks, Liverpool One and various clubs, pubs and restuarants. When we returned we went to our rooms. We should have become suspicious when we were told the "penthouse" was on the second floor. The room was just like any other (except there wasnt even a balcony) When we went to ask the staff what had happened they advised that the penthouse had been trashed. If we hadnt asked I doubt they would have said anything and we would have paid £120 extra for a normal room. They were not very helpful at all and said they could try to book two of our party into a hotel as there were no other rooms available. We decided to make do in the end. But heard several other people mention that they were double booked.

The room was not particularly clean, and looked like it hadnt been dusted since the place was opened.

Checkout was also a bit of nightmare as the keys to the rooms were just left in piles. Its such a shame as these apartments could be wonderful if the staff were a little more helpful and the rooms were prperly cleaned.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2009

We booked two 1 bedroom apartments and one 2 bed apartment for a group of girls. The apartments were brand new and our rooms looked like they had never been slept in before. The sofa beds in the living area had proper mattresses and were very comfortable. The apartment had all the amenities you could ask for and more. We also got an excellent price for these fantastic apartments.
The location is fantastic its a 2 min walk one way to the main shopping area and a few minutes walk the other to Concert Square. There is a tesco express around the corner. I would highly recommend these apartments and would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toots95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
0.1 mi away
The Nadler Liverpool
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 100 in Liverpool
4,348 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posh Pads Liverpool ONE
Posh Pads Liverpool ONE
#5 of 100 in Liverpool
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Adagio Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Epic Apart Hotel - Seel Street
0.1 mi away
Novotel Liverpool
Novotel Liverpool
#36 of 100 in Liverpool
2,474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Liverpool
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#28 of 100 in Liverpool
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staycity Aparthotels Liverpool - Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staycity Aparthotels Liverpool - Duke Street

Address: 37-41 Duke Street, Liverpool L1 5AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range: £50 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Staycity Aparthotels Liverpool - Duke Street 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
56 Serviced apartments at Lever Court, located in the city centre, right next door to the Liverpool ONE development. Finished to a very high standard, all apartments come complete with FREE Wi-Fi access, flatscreen TV, free view and Sky Sports Channels and fully-equipped kitchens with dishwasher, washer/dryer, oven, microwave and fridge freezer. 24 Hour Reception and Car Parking facilities are also available. A selection of apartments also have balconies, en-suite bathrooms, air-conditioning and panoramic views across Liverpool's distinctive skyline and famous waterfront. Finished off with its own private Courtyard and superb service, offering an ideal base for both the business and leisure traveler alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Staycity Aparthotels Liverpool - Duke Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lever Court Apartments By Stayliverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing