We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic evening” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Italia - CLOSED

Bar Italia
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: Central Liverpool
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Have not been to Franco's for a while and had been taking about it recently. Decided to pop in last night (Wed 20th March ) and glad we did. Really warm welcome, like you were family. Table by open fire, lovely. Service was friendly and attentive without being false and overly fussy. Food was amazing. We both decided to have seafood starter and went with a prawn and scallops dishe each and they were excellent, some of the best seafood we have had. Good choice of wine, very good selection!! Mains meals, again fresh and tasty, good size. Even had room for pudding, coffee and limoncello to finish!! There was no rush to get you out, had an excellent evening, the ambience was warm and the surroundings lovely. Will make sure we will be visting more often...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bradford
Level Contributor
110 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Just Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

Managed to book a table at Bar Italia / Franco's on what was a very busy night in Liverpool. Only had to wait 5 mins to be shown to our table, all four of us chose something different from the menu. The food was delicious and plentiful we all agreed and gave it 5 out of 5. The staff were very efficient and friendly,after our meal we were all given a shot of a lemon liqueur (very nice) and a lovely touch.
Next time we visit Liverpool (soon I hope) this restaurant will be top of our list to return to....highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fergie003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Nothing to dislike .. Fabulous food,lots to choose from, fabulous staff, fabulous prices. Excellent service all round!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank jkmitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northwest
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2012 via mobile

Never disappoints. Great portions of tasty pasta. Not pretentious like the place across the road and half the price.

Helpful?
Thank oldpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is one of liverpools best kept secrets, a lovely family run restaurant, now called Franco,s can,t believe there are so few reviews, each time we go there the food and the service are great whether you are eating off the a-la-carte menu or the pre-theatre early evening menu the food is just perfect, and the little touches after your meal like the plate of sweet meats and glass of limoncelli are lovely touches you don,t get in many restaurants these days.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank postehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bar Italia also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing