We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a safe bet.”
Review of Cafe Sports Express - CLOSED

Cafe Sports Express
Price range: US$25 - US$25
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Central Liverpool
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a safe bet.”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

A nice, well atmosphered, well priced place to eat. The food is very nice and the customer service is excellent. Probably the best carbonara I've tasted and all at pub food prices.

They've never steered me wrong.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    10
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great day”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Went to cafe sports express bar and had a nice meal all the staff very friendly then sat outside in the sun and had a few drinks the place was really busy (maybe due to friday afternoon), as people have said in other reviews maybe to many TV's but not that big of an issue.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good for sport and alfresco drink”
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

Never tried the food, but great for sitting outside in a little sun trap. I fear they've bought TOO MANY tellys for football though. Visit to see what I mean. Good selection if beers and staff friendly. Will always tract a stag/hen crowd as its a sports bar next to the buerkeller.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clicelillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good for sport”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Loads of TV's and we got the last seat (City v United) ... we were recommended the cafe as having a wide range of beers. It does not ... Lager or Guinness ...

Food ... acceptable, but if it had not been for the TV's and the fact that other places were empty (or closing at half time ... what was all that about Yates') ... we may have tried elsewhere.

It was certainly close to the hotel, but that was by mistake ... we walked right up to the cultural quarter and then via recommendations etc ended up here and then noticed the proximity to the hotel.

Seek further afield me thinks if you want food or ale. Dive in if you want TV and lager ...

PS : Seems Jamie Carragher likes Chicken and Bacon as every dish he recommended (even the healthy option) had Chicken and Bacon in it ... alright for athletes, but really !!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2112Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
177 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Barely Adequate”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

The good points - pencils and a colouring in menu for our 4 year old, lots of TVs to watch sport and the speedy service (we had to get to Disney on Ice!). The bad points - the toilets were dirty and in need of a good clean, the food was bog standard - really Jamie in what sense are oven chips acceptable these days? and the food all felt microwaved and in no sense freshly cooked. Very disappointing given that a Liverpool footballer has put his name to it.

Helpful?
Thank davehelen1709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Sports Express also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing