We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Views”
Review of Pumphouse

Pumphouse
Ranked #356 of 1,693 Restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View, Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Nice Views”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Very well situated at Albert Docks. The food was pub grub it was ok drinks ok wine wasn't chilled enough. Staff were pleasent.
Margaret

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    180
    100
    46
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice view of Albert Dock”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Met up here for a drink before moving on and the place was crowded with a hen party but managed to get a seat downstairs with a great view across the Docks. Staff worked hard to clear tables and bar staff did their best with lots of thirsty drinkers. We didn't eat here but will come back on a sunny day and sit outside for a meal. Ideally placed in a great location at the Albert Dock and cheaper to drink than a wine bar just a little less sophisticated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Smashing great value meal”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Managed to get a seat when Little Mix were playing at the Echo Arena. Staff were excellent who were bombed off their feet. Really nice food, and good selection for the children. Really well priced food- the burger and drink for a £1 deal is exceptional at £8 (or something like that!) we'll definitely come again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahqemg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lost its way, poor first impression, understaffed but great location”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

After visiting the Pump House, I was talking to a local chap (we are not local) about the place and he said to me "the Pump House has lost its way recently, it doesn't know what it is". I thought that described it perfectly. We walked in with great anticipation only to be severely let down with what we saw and how it was laid out. It wasn't a pub, it wasn't a wine bar, it wasn't........etc

There must have been two hundred dirty glasses on the bar waiting to be washed, one overworked but very pleasant barman and one unoccupied dirty table with plates, glass, food etc all over it. Presumably it is understaffed to add to its miseries! Just to make it worse, some loud obnoxious drunk women pushed in front of me at the bar but were severely hacked off when the barman served me first. Good for him!!

In fairness, the drinks were not that expensive and we chose not to eat there after being put off by the state of the place. I have scored low on "service" and "atmosphere" due to what we found, not the barman who did his very best and was polite given the pressure he was under. I have scored 3 for food as we did not eat there and therefore have no opinion.

Despite my complaints, I wish this place well and hope the management get their act together and pull it round. It could be great. It's already in a fantastic location.

Will we go back - sorry, but no. Not an enjoyable experience on the day we went.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twinturbomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“The best beer garden in central Liverpool”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Go when it's sunny, sit outside and soak up the view of the docks. Absolutely stunning (see my fish-eye lens pic of the view.)

Lovely staff and good service, too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklingmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pumphouse also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Pumphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing