We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class”
Review of Novotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Liverpool
Ranked #33 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 December 2011

my partner and I are just back from a weekend in Liverpool. We stayed at the Novotel, Hanover Street, Liverpool. we stayed in a suite, this wasn't intentional, we had booked an executive room with king size bed. The suite was amazing.. I couldn't find a single fault with it.. Even down to allowing us to have a late check out as our flight was leaving late the Sunday evening. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included in our booking, there was everything you could think of.. Only dislike about the breakfast was that the sausages were vegetarian, which would be great if this is what you liked. other than that the food was fab.
The hotel is located directly across from Liverpool 1. It cost us £16 for a taxi from the airport to the hotel was i thought was great. There is a large tesco next door and Albert Dock is a stroll away..
We will def returning :)

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivia-Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

Dear accorhotels.com traveler

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your kind words, I am sure it will serve as an encourangement to my staff! We look forward to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, Maurice Abel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,794 - 1,800 of 2,420 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2011

This hotel is in the best possible spot in Liverpool. Next to the car park and just of Liverpool one. The hotel is very modern there is a Gym and swimming pool the rooms are large and very clean the bed is so soft i can not find fault with this hotel at all highly rec-amended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gary03010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2012

Thank yuo very much for writing a review and I am please to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a good nights sleep! We look forward to welcome you again in the near future! Kind regards, Maurice Abel, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I live in liverpool but decided to stay in the hotel with friends on the busiest social night of the year. A wise decsion. The hotel is in an excellent location should you arrive by car (car park next door) or by train ( short taxi from mainline and local stations).
This hotel has the best location of all the Liverpool hotels for access to the best shopping and the best nightlife area. A 5 star hotel is not far away but the Novotel has the better location.
I've stayed in five Liverpool hotels and this was the best.

Rooms very clean, 'rainforest' shower was fun.

Breakfast buffet was well worth the money and set us up for the day.

Staff very helpful and friendly.

If you want a view from any of your rooms then you will be disappointed but if its for city break and you want to be right in the main zone don't bother looking at the others.

Have a great time in our city.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jude96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Dear Jude96
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay! We do have a few rooms on the 11th floor with a view but not as many as the hotels at the Docks! We look forward to welcome you back in Novotel Liverpool soon! Kind regards, Maurice Abel, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed here for one night due to attending a Reunion nearby.
Check in was friendly and efficient, our room was clean, spacious and quiet and on the lowest floor possible(2nd) as had been requested due to a wheelchair user in the party.
Didn't eat in the hotel as we had to leave early the following morning but check out was equally swift and a discount token offered without asking for the large multi storey car park opposite.
Hotel is in a great position for local bars and restaurants and the night staff were very quick to open up for us on our rather late (or should I say early morning) return to the Hotel
Only slight problems we had were with the lift which seemed reluctant to take us to the floor our room was on. However, we decided it was us doing something wrong with the swipe card as no one else seemed to encouter a problem. Also my partner commented that the water in the shower did not seem very warm.
Swipe cards for late night entry and in lifts added to the feeling of security around the Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear Gail J
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and thank you very much for the kinds words! We hope to welcome you back in Novotel Liverpool Centre soon! Kind regards, Maurice Abel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

We have just stayed here for 1 night with a booking for two executive rooms,We could not really fault the hotel,Its central for everything.

Check in staff were very help full and we got our rooms at 11:00am!

The rooms were spacious and very clean,The king size bed was great and I really liked the rain forest shower room. Big flat screen TV with a nice coffee machine also included.Yes next time in Liverpool we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for an High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MixedGrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear MixedGrill
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we very much appreciate your kind words. We look forward to welcome you back again in Novotel Liverpool Centre soon. Kind regards, Maurice Abel, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This is a nice hotel but for the price, isn't as perfect as you might have expected.

The foyer has lovely decor but the entry revolving door sticks and the Macs in the foyer don't always work.

Our room was very pleasant but the bathroom door didn't close properly, our room door only closed if we gave it a large shove, the carpet was dirty, the bathroom and toilet had a nasty drain smell, and our room was really hot, even though we turned on the aircon to the coolest possible setting.

The changing rooms in the fitness suite were populated with litter, and the showers down there didn't work very well.

The staff at Novotel are very helpful but not always very knowledgeable about the local area and local attractions. Breakfast was fine but for £13 it should have been a lot better. Just two choices of bread, under-ripe fruit in the fruit salad, and factory cheeses.

Overall this is a nice hotel but really should have been a lot better considering the room rate.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neatham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear Neatham
Thank you very much for writing a review. We appreciate all feedback and I am sorry that the Imacs were not always working, they have been replaced now since they had some technical issues. If you would be so kind to let me know via email, h6495-gm@accor.com, which room you stayed in I will make sure the carpet will be cleaned and we look into the other issues in the room. I do apologize that the changing rooms were not clean and tidy and will make sure this does not happen again. We hope to welcome you back in Novotel Liverpool Centre soon!
Kind regards, Maurice Abel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Okay so this isn't really a bad review there are some major plus points in staying at this hotel.

One is the location! Perfect for shopping, eating and having a generally good time however I do feel the hotel lacked a bit of charm.

It seemed so modern and up to date but yet at first they forgot to give us a wifi password which cam free with the room. This was put right when we questioned it but to me it felt like they just wanted to sell us there broadband package for £9.99 - surely this should be factored into the room price not as an add on!

I am glad we never booked in for breakfast - the line waiting to get in was nearly at the door and this was at 9.30am.

Also this is a big hotel and on our second night we couldn't even find room at the bar at 10pm to sit down and have a quiet drink. It was proper rammed.

It classes itself as 4 star but I have stayed in much nicer places, places that make you feel like you are special not just another customer.

The best thing about this hotel is the location and guess what next door they are building a premier inn!

Oh and for a lady that likes a nice glass of wine - no wine in the mini bar - luckily there is a tesco's right on your doorstep.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MacChuckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear MacChuckles
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry to hear that the hotel was not as you expected. We thank you for the feedback and will look into the items that you mentioned. kind regards, Maurice Abel, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4,300 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#27 of 99 in Liverpool
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Liverpool

Address: Gradwell Street 40 Hanover Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#10 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £55 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing