We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 stars well deserved” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Liverpool
Ranked #36 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Barrow-in-Furness
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“4 stars well deserved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The Novotel, Hanover Street, Liverpool is a 12 minute walk from Liverpool LIme Street Railway Station. Upon arrival we were impressed by the crisp, clean and modern reception area. We were greeted by friendly staff and given the relevant information regarding the spa and hotel facilities.

The bedroom was a nice size and also impressive with a modern bright design and contained a fabulous sized bed! All the usual complimentary toiletries and an amazing power shower, the best I have ever used. The location of hotel is a maximum 10 minute walk from Albert Dock and Liverpool One and a fantastic base to explore Liverpool's culture.

Hotel pool was very relaxing, with nice subtle lighting, hubby also used the gym and said it was adequate. Breakfast on both mornings was fantastic, great choice and excellent service. Staff were 5* One evening we had a drink in the hotel bar which had a real nice 'buzz' to it which fitted in well with this lively and friendly city. An extremely enjoyable 2 night break using the Tesco Club card Deal and we would not hesitate to stay here if we visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shieldzy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    912
    877
    284
    74
    42
See reviews for
621
700
109
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, lovely well presented Hotel. Friendly check in staff and loved the modern decor and feel of the whole Hotel.
We stayed in an executive room and were more than impressed! The room was huge as was the bathroom, We loved the coffee machine, the ipod dock, the mini bar and the slippers and dressing gowns, just what a 4 star Hotel should be!!!!
The location was good too and it was a leisurely 10 minute walk to all attractions.
You must visit the restaurant across the road from the Hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank croesoicymru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst on business with several colleagues. The hotel gave us a fantastic corporate rate B&B and reception staff were friendly. The hotel, is at first glance, extremely modern and contemporary though the rooms are a little disappointing compared to the rest of the hotel. My room, though a good size had a flimsy wooden door to the bathroom, that kept getting jammed so I had to apply some force to both open and close properly. After a long day I ventured down to the 'Spa' having first completed a H&S questionnaire and been handed a swipe card for the door and locker key. At first I thought "ooh this looks nice"......The locker door would not lock but as I was only one of 3 people there I didn't worry. The pool was small but nice along with the built in jacuzzi bench though I was miffed to see that the steam room was 'Out Of Order', ( I was mortified as this was to be the highlight of my day!) as was the adjacent shower. Also, none of the two hand dryers were working. Disappointing and could have been avoided with a smidgen of care. After a comfortable night sleep, the breakfast was fabulous and checkout smooth though confused as my colleague escaped a £40 bar bill due to a computer error yet I copped for mine! Overall, nice hotel, great, central location, friendly staff but the pool/spa needs fixing up!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vitaminlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

Having stayed at this hotel twice before iin the last year, only room available was executive room. The room was facing a apartment block and this blocked out all the light, the room was big but looked like it had not been cleaned. I was speaking to the housekeeper who was very friendly and she was saying they had just had a co pany of 80 ballet dancers staying and they had checked out that day and she had been very busy. Our room really looked like it havnt been touched or at least done very quickly. The bathroom was clean but the room needed and good polish and bed looked untidy, not what i was expecting for a room at the price we were charged. Another problem which we have had before is the sink in the bathroom always get blocked. I agree with other reviews it is a very good location for eveything you want to do in Liverpool, but next time i think i will be back at the Hilton Liverpool One

Room Tip: Go to the Hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HattieDouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location, bang in the middle of Liverpool One, the central shopping precinct, restaurant area, and right next to the Albert Docks. The shops and restaurants nearby are all excellent.
The hotel itself is excellent, with modern and comfortable facilities. Flat screen TV, and bar fridge. there is even a pool downstairs, although we did not get a chance to try it out. For the kids there was a video game in the restaurant area.
We were on the 11th floor with an excellent view.
Breakfast was excellent, with helpful and attentive staff.
Only downside for me was no free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

The excellent position of this hotel makes it an ideal place to stay to sample liverpools many sights and sounds
Leisure facilities very welcome after a 'hard days night'
Many good pubs abd eating places nearby but our first night meal in the hotel was excellent

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank bannock070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Liverpool

Property: Novotel Liverpool
Address: Gradwell Street 40 Hanover Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Novotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing