We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay at Hovotel”
Review of Novotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Liverpool
Ranked #32 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice stay at Hovotel”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel during a weekend stay recently. The hotel has a great location in the central part of Liverpool, for example near the harbour and Albert Dock. Walking distance to many sights.

The hotel is new, modern, and spacy. The staff are friendly and helpful. We had breakfast there, and it was OK. A bit crowded, but we were seated quite fast.

Overall a nice stay at Novotel in Liverpool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear dag s
Thank you for sharing your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    942
    902
    289
    77
    43
See reviews for
642
715
112
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend from Thur 24th - Sun 27th October on a family break. We were welcomed warmly on arrival and checked in quickly. The hotel is modern and there is even an Xbox in reception to keep the kids entertained.
We stayed in a Superior Queen Room which was more than adequate for a family of 2 adults and 2 children (7 & 9 year olds).
The pool was not overly busy and we spent an hour on each day of our stay in the pool with the children.
The breakfasts start early and end late (11am on weekends) and there was plenty of selection from cooked and continental.
The hotel is in a great location beside Liverpool One and all the tourist attractions are within easy reach.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenhillsBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Grennhillsbelfast,
Thank you for sharing your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your family break.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in Liverpool whilst there for a night @ the theatre, being within easy walking distance for everything in the city centre, bedrooms are just o.k but don't like the idea of the toilet not having a hand wash basin (unhygienic ) bar & restaurant area uninviting. Reception staff were very pleasant & helpful, wouldn't want to stay for much longer than 1 night though.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BullitU_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Bullitu_k,
Thank you for sharing your review. I am pleased you found the team hospitable. We do have a number of rooms with the W/C in the main bathroom. Please let us know your preference on reservation next time and we will pre allocate you one of these rooms.
Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hotel has a lot of plus points - friendly staff, nice modern rooms, a small but modern pool and gym, good value for money. However not at all good for sleeping!! There's a nightclub a few buildings away and the clubbers come out anytime between midnight and 3am, shouting away down the street. So just impossible to sleep with the window open and what we thought was air conditioning didn't work at all. We asked at reception and got the same answer as Traveltime333, that it's not air conditioning just air cooling, and that seems to mean it just pumps air around without changing the temperature. Combined with the warm duvets it makes for an uncomfortable night.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the car park which is where the night club is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBLALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hereford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

3 night visit and first time for liverpool ,everything walking distance .Staff were helpful when trying to select a restaurant for the evening. Novotels are very open plan .Reception ,breakfast area and bar all in the same area but it works really well and gives a very informal atmosphere to the ground floor .We loved Liverpool and would certainly stay here again and the price on your website was a fair deal .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear paradisefinder,
Thank you for your great review and I am pleased you are looking to return.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hi,stayed in this hotel last month on last min booking,was booked into another hotel but it was terrible,so phoned this hotel same day and just about had rooms for us,so glad they did,staff were great,rooms spotless huge shower,the location was perfect near to everything shops bars,docks all short walking distance,first time to liverpool and i will be going back,lots to see and plenty to do,only went for weekend not enough time to see everything so next time i,ll go for longer,just across the way from the hotel great restraunt eat as much as you like lovely food and price very reasonable,this hotel is perfect for shopping and sight seeing,this hotel is in the shopping centre by m/s,

Room Tip: if you like to peaple watch ask for room in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harvey776264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear harvey,
Thank you for your great review and I am pleased we could accommodate you a short notice on your last trip.
We hope to welcome you gain on your return trip.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Found the hotel without difficulty but thanks to poor directions from reception, we spent ages driving around having missed the car park. For anyone about to go there - turn left after Tesco and Home Bargains BEFORE the hotel!!! Discounted parking at the Q park (Tesco) is £9.50 per day.
Location is fantastic though. 10 mins to Albert Dock area and about 15 to the Anglican Cathedral and bit more to the R.C. One. The Liverpool 1 shopping area with lots of restaurants as well as shops, is directly opposite. Maps were available on reception but unlike in other chains I have visited, no effort was made to tell us about the area.
Rooms were standard Novotel fare ( not as nice as European ones) bit the odour of drains from the bathroom on night two was terrible. Avoid room 217! Even with the air conditioning off, there is a constant low hum during the night - my husband didn't notice it but my daughter and I did! The fridge / mini bar was useful - a small bottle of water is £2.50 so pop to the nearby Tesco instead! We had an inward looking room so no view. Try to get a high floor and you may get more light coming in.
Breakfast was a bit chaotic but the selection of food was good.
The pool is small and the changing area a bit grubby with several locker doors hanging off their hinges and a dirty floor! If you aren't bothered about the pool facility, the Premier Inn next store is another great location! If you do want to use the pool, you have to queue at reception to get a swipe card and locker key. Choose your time / member of staff as the first person we asked wandered off after our request and we had to wait for someone else!
Would definitely return to Liverpool but now that we have found our way around the city, would probably not choose this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shades100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Shades 100,
Thank you for your review and I am pleased you found us well locate for your trip to Liverpool. Please do call me if you would like to discuss any of your comments further 0151 702 5100.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Liverpool

Property: Novotel Liverpool
Address: Gradwell Street 40 Hanover Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#13 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing