We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Quiet & Good Location”
Review of Novotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Liverpool
Ranked #37 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Quiet & Good Location”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights on business. Hotel is very easy to find from Liverpool Lime & Central. Close to shops & the docks. Room was clean, beds comfy. My only issue was the separate loo which I found odd due to the energy saving bulb, which meant going to the toilet in a very dull quite small cupboard! Breakfast was adequate & the staff were friendly and eager to assist. Pool was closed but advised we could use the Marriotts for free. Will stay again for business & pleasure.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank EmilyyJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear EmilyyJayne

Really pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us in Liverpool and you found the hotel was well located and our were staff friendly. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Liverpool.

Kind Regards


Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    956
    918
    297
    77
    48
See reviews for
655
724
113
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Overall a good locationin Liverpool, but the overall experience let me feeling a bit average. Unfortunately the swimming pool was closed for maintenance when we were there, which was a shame. The rooms were ok, but small and a little cold. Small things in the room could hve been improved including: The iron, the Wifi, The plug sockets.
Breakfast was good and the overall rate reasonable.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AndrewCNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear AndrewCNewbury,

Thank you for your feedback however I was disappointed to read you were only satisfied with your stay.
The pool was closed temporary for repair however we had made arrangement for our guest to use a local pool free of charge.
If you have time please do call me so I can identify your room number so I can look at the iron board and sockets 0151 702 5100.

Thank you for you feedback.

Kind Regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pooler, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We stayed here one night while on a Globus tour and found it to be very nice. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The buffet breakfast and group dinner were good. It is a great location for walking to the renovated upscale Albert dock area, the John Lennon memorial sculpture, convention center, The Beatles Story Museum, the re-created Cavern Club where the Beatles performed and the pedestrian entertainment street.

Room Tip: It is a new modern sleek hotel and all rooms are contemporary design. Very nice. No one in our gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LRJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear LRJean

Ii'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us in Liverpool and you found the hotel was well located to everywhere you wanted to visit. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind Regards

Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights for a long weekend in early february. Upon arrival, it was a good surprise to find out that the hotel has given us two connecting rooms (we were four). One of the rooms was very spacious and had all the necessities (big bathrooms etc with alarm) for a wheelchaired person (not in our case). The hotel is super well situated, just few minute walks to the docks and the shopping areas (and train station). On the second day, we had a birthday cake delivery and the hotel staff happily provided the plates, spoons and knife despite it being an external order (from experience, some hotels are rather grudgy about that). Would definitively book again for our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x8luna8x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear x8luna8x

I'm really pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us in Liverpool. I hope that you enjoyed the Birthday celebrations and I'm happy that our staff were able to accomodate you and the rest of the party.

We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind Regards

Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain Ash
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Really modern hotel with everything you would expect for a city centre hotel. The location is brilliant, only a 3 minute walk from Central station; 5 minute walk to Albert Dock; 2 minute walk to the shopping area and a 5 minute walk to the Cavern Club / Matthew Street. The only negative I would of is the prices of the food; £9 for an omelette and breakfast was £14 each. Much better value and quality to take a 1 minute walk (turn left out of the hotel) to a very nice bar/restaurant. Would definitely stay at the hitel next time I visit Liverpool, but will go elsewhere for food.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JonConcrete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear JonConcrete

Really pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us in Liverpool and we were perfectly located for everywhere you wanted to go. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind Regards

Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Very good location. Nice room. Partner enjoyed the swimming pool. However if I had paid anything close to the full price I would have been most unhappy. For a hotel of this class the breakfast was appalling. They don't know how to make porridge, the cooked food looked exhumed, only low quality bread available. Staff are generally helpful if a bit lacking in personality.

Room Tip: If you want a city view ask to go as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greyfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Greyfoodie,
I hope you received my return email regarding your comments form our online guest satisfaction survey and I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Matt Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Good location, all attractions are within walking distance. The rooms are clean & spacious, pool & steam room are good although there is no cold shower close to the steam room. We didn't eat in the hotel, breakfast is easy to find at reasonable prices very close to the hotel, we ate in the restaurant right next door full English breakfast for £6.50 & it was lovely. Checking in & out was quick & efficient. We would stay here again if we got the right deal.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Dawn W

Really pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us in Liverpool and you found the hotel was well located. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Liverpool.
Kind Regards

Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,012 reviews
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,579 reviews
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Liverpool

Property: Novotel Liverpool
Address: Gradwell Street 40 Hanover Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing