We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well balanced hotel”
Review of Novotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Liverpool
Ranked #33 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“well balanced hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

this is a nice hotel right in the heart of liverpool city centre just opposite bem brasil lovely stay with my wife and two children just a little end of term treat .unfortunately pool was out of use but never mind never ate at the hotel as breakfast was priced at about £13 .95 each i dont no were they get them figures from .was a lovely weekend in a lovely city weather was about 27c so it helped .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalgrush d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Dalgrush D

Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay here with us. I'm happy to hear you r enjoyed your stay as part of an end of term treat.

Our breakfast prices start at £8.95 (web only offer) and £9.95 when you book on arrival. The price goes up to £13.95 when paying on the day. Children eat free with a paying adult.

I'm glad you enjoyed the lovely weather here with us in our beautiful city.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    973
    928
    299
    78
    49
See reviews for
667
734
113
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Consett, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday in July. The staff were dis-interested when checking in, more interested in looking at bits of paper while we stood waiting.
The room was lovely and was impressed.
However the free internet was so poor I could ever check my emails. I phone reception to query about this. The woman told me twice that the internet was free, not actually listening to what I was saying. When she finally listened to what I said she said she would turn the router off and on but that probably wouldn't help. Her tone was abrupt, and my fiancé could here how sharp she was from the other side of the room.
If you stay here, be aware that you may be an inconvenience to the staff.
Also when I contacted Novotel I heard nothing at all.

Room Tip: Don't have executive room 200 if you want internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Elaine H

Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay here with us. I'm very sorry to hear about the issues you encountered during your stay. Please be assured it is not our usual standard of service. I will contact you directly so that I may have the opportunity to resolve these matters for you.

I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a lovely fresh clean hotel in the centre of Liverpool. The 3 things that stand out are the extremely friendly and helpful staff, the cleanliness of all areas in the hotel and the fabulous breakfast choices! The price was high here - £200 one night and £240 the second night - this was more expensive than the room rate advertised on arrival.

Parking was quite expensive in the pay and display car park, but the hotel gave us a discount voucher and it was conveniently right next door. There were 3 of us - 2 teens and myself, and the accommodation was a good size. The only criticism I would have about the room was that the toilet was separate from the bathroom which could have been good in allowing use while someone was in the bath/shower - but it had no sink so you had to use the bathroom anyway.

Overall a great 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Chris1806

Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay here with us. I'm so happy to hear that our staff were extremely friendly and helpful, that all areas of the hotel were clean and you felt there was a fabulous choice for breakfast.

Our prices vary quite widely based on availability. If you are flexible with your dates there are some fantastic deals to be had. Please feel free to contact our in house reservations team who will do their best to assist you with this.

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Liverpool.

Kind Regards

Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden , London
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

2 adults, 2 kids stayed in a family room (double bed and sofa bed) the room size was good enough without being cramped.

Slight difficulty trying to contact the hotel before we arrived as phone numbers we had did not work, we asked staff about this upon arrival and they apologised and very kindly included a complimentary breakfast for the following morning.

The room was very clean, bathroom separate from toilet, very nice shower.

This hotel is ideal for reaching the riverfront and all the central tourist attractions. The price was £125 for 2 nights which is very reasonable.

Breakfast was buffet style with lots on offer.

One issue for us was we had booked a hotel with a pool to let the kids have a splash about at the end of the day, the pool chemicals were very strong which meant we only went there once and it did feel very bleached.

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor room 816, it was very quiet and we couldn't hear any other guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lady55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear lady55

Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay here with us. I'm happy to hear that reception explained the issue we had with our phone number and it was resolved for you on arrival.

I'm happy to hear that your room was comfortable for you all and you received good value money.

I'm sorry to hear that the pool chemicals felt quite strong. Please be assured they are always at a safe level and if this should change we would close the pool.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Liverpool.

Kind Regards

Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Revisited again a couple of years since last visit and still very good. Really helpful, obliging staff. Clean and efficient hotel, excellent mattresses too ! Would always be my first choice for Liverpool as great location too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galwaygirl1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear galwaygirl1963

Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay here with us. I'm very happy to hear you chose to stay with us once more. I'm so happy to hear our staff were really helpful.

We look forward to seeing you on you next visit to Liverpool.

Kind Regards

Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed for one night in mid July (2 adults and 2 children in a single room). The hotel is very nice, located in the middle of town close to everything Liverpool has to offer. Staff were friendly, the room was very clean and breakfast was with great selection. over all a very good night to spend when you are on the road.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Ohad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Ohad G

Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay here with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the location, that our staff were friendly and that there was a great selection for you at breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A lovely clean hotel, good central location, nice gym and pool. Breakfast was good. The staff made it a fantastic stay they were friendly and approachable, nothing was too much trouble. Special thanks to Liam on reception.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suericht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NovotelLiverpoolGM, General Manager at Novotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear suericht

Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay here with us. I'm happy to hear that our staff made your stay fantastic. I have congratulated Liam on his service.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Matthew Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Liverpool

Property: Novotel Liverpool
Address: Gradwell Street 40 Hanover Street, Liverpool L1 4LN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#14 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#15 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#27 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Liverpool 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Lastminute, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing