We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great dining”
Review of Pesto Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Pesto Bar & Restaurant
Price range: US$0 - US$33
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Central Liverpool
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great dining”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Visited pesto with family, first visit had reservations but we arrived early, no problem they seated us straight away.Had a lovely time, staff were very attentive,food excellent,restaurant was spotless, fantastic atmosphere. cant wait to go back .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine_tomk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Public Relations Manager at Pesto Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we're very glad you enjoyed your Pesto experience! We look forward to seeing you once again at our restaurant :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    71
    20
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas, Isle of Man
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service with a Smile”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Visited this restaurant on 1 July 2013. I dont live in the UK so it was my first visit and I have never heard of this restaurant. The waiter welcomed us, sat us down straight away and asked us if we would like a drink. That was a fab welcome. Very warm and friendly and rapport straight away. He even went out of his way for me when I requested non alcoholic beer. I thought that was great. The tapas were lovely and great for sharing and tasting. Very casual experience that was a lovely and relaxing dine in the sunshine. The service was very quick and completely pitched to its audience. The food was good. Not amazing food, but very nice. For me, the location and service made this experience. Well done.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Public Relations Manager at Pesto Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we're very glad you enjoyed your Pesto experience! We're very proud of the service we offer and are very pleased you enjoyed your meal in the sunshine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
“food good, service not so good”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

popped in Pesto saturday the 29th for lunch with a friend. arrived and was seated right away but then waited a while for drinks order to be taken, by which time we had decided our order and ordered right away. we ordered garlic bread with cheese to start and a couple of dishes each for main. drinks took a while to come and waited around 25 minutes before any food arrived, when it did we had our mains but no sign of our starter.i asked the gentleman where our starter was and he said he would go check. i noticed him floating around but after ten minutes no garlic bread. getting the attention of our waitress was quite difficult but when we did she just said "oh sorry, it will be about ten minutes for some garlic bread do you still want it?" i accepted but waited longer than that for it and when it did arrive the gentleman slammed it on the table with no apology or even an "enjoy" by this time we had almost finished our meal and therefore i had a bite and left it. not much of a garlic taste which was surprising as my carbonara was laced with it. we sat with empty glasses and our finished food infront of us for atleast ten minutes before we had to ask for the bill ourselves. Restaurant wasnt so busy so i couldnt understand the delay throughout our service. shame really as the restaurant looks the part and the menu is good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lallypop1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“New menu-not as good! :(”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We have been a fan of Pestos for a few years, me & my husband, and have always praised the food and service, we havn't been for a few months and decided to visit today, the service was slower than normal, with new staff, and we also noticed the menu had changed, we ordered our 'favourites' off the menu, some had been re named, the dishes were ok but not as tasty, and we noticed the chicken which used up be breast wasn't..it was a darker cut, possibly thigh or leg?! We asked the waiter and he couldn't answer us,..we were satisfied with the meal but not as happy as we used to be, which is a shame because we always used to recommend it to friends.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cazarooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing as always”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Been to pesto many times now . A large selection of food to choose from , you can order as many dishes as you feel you can eat (2/3 usually the norm depending on how hungry you are ) . Cocktails are very good , food tasty , waiters and service great . At busy times be prepared to have a little wait but the food is worth the wait :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trix_L4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pesto Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing