We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #40 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in June for a business trip. As receptionist could not find my booking straight away (she had looked for about 10 mins), they instead upgraded me to an executive suite, without any push from me!

Location is great, as it is right in centre of town, next to the docks. The staff are very friendly, they give that wonderful 'Liverpool welcome'! The breakfast buffet is best I've had anywhere.

The room was spotlessly clean and had everything you could want.

Only down point is having to pay for internet access (but seems to be like that round the world these days in western hotels).

Highly recommended for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyTofield, Front Office Manager at Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Thank you for taking the time to feedback to us regarding your stay. I am delighted to hear your positive feedback, particularly, the way in which your initial challenges with your reservation were dealt with by one of our receptionists. Please be assured, we will be passing these positive comments onto our team members.
I will also ensure your feedback regarding the internet charges is communicated through the appropriate channels.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Liverpool in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,009)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,791 - 2,797 of 3,009 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

This was our second stay at the Liverpool One Hilton, the last stay was exactly a year ago and we hoped that they had got their act together but sadly nothing had changed.

We had opted for an on line offer for an upgrade to a suite if available on arrival. However when we arrived the receptionist had no knowledge of our on line arrangement even though we had a confirmation email. This was eventually sorted and we were shown a suite which we decided we would take but we were then told we could only have it for one night and would have to change rooms for the second night. Not a runner, we should have been told prior to us looking at the suite that it was only available for one night instead of wasting our time.

The executive rooms and suites are very nice with good views and well appointed.

The executive lounge however leaves a lot to be desired and bears no comparison with those at the Belfast or London Bridge Hilton where we frequently stay. A general lack of attention to the needs of the guests seems to be the norm, poor selection of snacks lack of clean glasses, Milk for coffee and tea hidden away.
It also seems to be normal in this hotel to have guests trotting in and out in pyjamas, something we have not experienced in any other executive lounge.

The breakfast, normally the high point of any Hilton stay was also a bit of a let down. Eggs are normally fried on a griddle, not however here. A large greasy, dented and scruffy frying pan is used with a large amount of oil in the bottom and the eggs submerged into same to cook just like in the old transport cafes of the past. when eventually you oily egg is cooked it is presented to you on a cold plate.

This and a general lack of appetising presentation of the breakfast offerings we found a bit of a turn off.

The charge of £15 for 24 hours WiFi is unacceptable in 2011. I realise that this is the norm throughout the Hilton group but is an annoyance to many guests.

On the positive side:-

We dined in the Exchange Restaurant both nights of our stay and both meals were truly excellent. The waiting staff of the Exchange Restaurant appeared to be mostly University Students who were without exception super and a credit to themselves and the Hotel.

This is a fine Modern Hotel nicely appointed and situated in a prime location of a super city it is such a pity that it is let down by poor attention to detail and customer requirements.

I doubt that we will choose the Hilton for our next stay in Liverpool.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enrighta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyTofield, Front Office Manager at Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2011

Thank you for choosing Hilton Liverpool for your recent stay in the City and for taking the time to feedback regarding your experiences.

I am disappointed to hear of the challenges you faced with regards to check in, the Executive Lounge and service at breakfast. Please accept my sincere apologies, and be assured this is not the usual high standard of service we seek to achieve here at Hilton Liverpool. Your valued feedback has been communicated to all relevant Departmental heads to ensure the points you raised are addressed in a timely manner.

I am, however, delighted to hear of your positive experiences in our Exchange restaurant both nights during your stay. I will also be sharing your positive feedback with the food and beverage team to ensure their hard work is recognised.

Once more, please accept my apologies, I hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Hilton Liverpool in the future, and of restoring your faith in the Hilton brand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I recently accompanied my husband to Liverpool since he had business on a Friday there and we live 4 hours away. We figured why not stay the night and see the sights of Liverpool?
It was a great suggestion!
We are Diamond members of the Hilton Hotels and are always traveling never really being disappointed with any Hilton Brand Hotels usually.
This Hilton was one that did not disappoint! Fantastic customer service, fabulous clean rooms with really comfortable beds, and great views from our room of the 'One Liverpool' sights and sounds! This Hilton is smack dab right in the middle of some of the best restaurants, shopping, and sights and just right across the street from the harbor. They (the Hilton) have a great bar and restaurant as well and an executive level.
One note though; the wireless internet isn't strong above the 5th floor so you will probably have to plug into the wire. Also, if you don't have the Valet park your car, which was £30, you have to park at one of the parking garages which will run you about £9 and is a little bit of a walk, but not much. I would drive up and take your luggage out first before you park your car.
I'll be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trishachambers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed here for a shopping weekend with a good deal - 40% off. First the good stuff. The hotel is very new, very modern and well designed. The room (a standard) was a good size, nicely furnished and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and big. The bathroom was very nice and had some high quality shower gels and soap. Our fourth floor room had a lovely view over the park and harbour. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there seemed to be plenty of them around at all times. Our deal included the breakfast buffet which we had no complaints about and only had to wait to be seated on the Sunday morning. Now some bad stuff. The car park, part of the Liverpool-one shopping centre is horrendous to find if you have never been before. The entrance is in the middle of the duel carriage-way outside, which we missed. We eventually found our way to the John Lewis car park (which is near to the hotel and included in the reduced car parking price deal) but more by luck than anything else. The receptionist acknowledged this as a problem but said nothing was being done to show parking on the web site because they had no control over it. The hotel has a really nice (and popular) bar although it isn't the cheapest. We had a drink here on Friday night taking advantage of the "2 for £10" cocktail offer but Saturday a beer and a cocktail was £14. There was a very good singer on though. There is a club opposite the hotel and we could hear music till 2 O’clock on Saturday. Perhaps ask to be put on the other side of the hotel if you think this may bother you. However, these complaints are minor and didn't detract from our stay. We would certainly use this hotel again - especially if we could get another offer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

This is an excellent base for a trip to Liverpool as it is right by the Albert Dock within easy walking distance of many attractions and next door to Liverpool One shopping centre. The hotel is what you would expect from a good Hilton - the room was comforatable with a touch of the wow factor and the beds are always great. The breakfast was good also and special mention to the staff who were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We upgraded to tan exceutive room (right next to the Penthouse) which gave you free access to the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PreeceFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I read some less than favourable reviews about the Liverpool Hilton, but now I wonder what these people want! From arrival to departure the whole experience was fantastic. The staff were very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. There was an absolutely delicious choice of breakfasts to cater for all tastes, and the services was also excellent. We were sorry to leave but we will no doubt be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryWaring, Food & Beverage Manager at Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2011

Thank You so much for your kind comments, I am glad that you enjoyed all that Hilton Liverpool has to offer and look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Lovely executive room with great views of the wonderfully restored dock area, but shame about the service in the executive lounge. Sunday breakfast - not late, not busy - but no cups, bowls or cutlery. Had to ask for hot food, many of the bowls of fruit salad were empty.
Very slow service in the bar area on Saturday night, despite cocktail waitress walking around, seemingly oblivious of customers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asitis46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryWaring, Food & Beverage Manager at Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2011

Thank You for your comments, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us

Gary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Liverpool
#36 of 99 in Liverpool
2,824 reviews
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Central Liverpool
Radisson Blu Hotel, Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Liverpool City Centre

Address: 3 Thomas Steers Way, Liverpool L1 8LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#19 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#26 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £80 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing