We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Felt Unwelcome and Uncomfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Liverpool City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Ranked #39 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Felt Unwelcome and Uncomfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Two significant issues - associated but let me split them out

a] on returning to the hotel on Saturday evening at about 10.00pm we were not admitted to the hotel until we could prove we were residents. In an intimidating manner the bouncer on the door demanded a room key. He said he was stopping criminals and yobs coming into the hotel. As a 50+ yr old couple coming from the the Tatton flower we hardly fitted the profile - but no exceptions.

b] the hotel attemtps to attract a "young crowd" to the bar. In fine weather they set up a bar outside as well as run the one inside. They play the type of music and at the volume that will attract their audience. There is nowhere for a quiet drink in the evening.

Are [a] and [b] connected? Well it seems to me that they are. By turning the ground floor of the hotel into a night club you are inviting in those most likely to carry out the acts described by the bouncer to justify his actions.

You may find it hard to believe but I have no objection to young people drinking and dancing and taking over the ground floor of the hotel to such an extent that the hotel has to employ bouncers to control the situation. (I remember with fondness some 18 - 30 holidays !!) But I do object to not being told that this occurs.

Other issues - simple things
1. not being recognised as HH member and having to ask for access to Executive Lounge
2. at breakfast each morning having to try 3 salt cellars before finding a fucntioning one - are they not checked when the tables are set
3. no notice apologising for the fire alarm evacuation - how hard is it to have a pre-prepared script saved under "Fire alarm apology to guests" and printing out a couple of dozen to put in lift lobbies stating "it was a false alram, everything is safe, apologise for inconvenience" or similar
4. the basin and toilet were fixed too high - children could not cope - stylish but not funcitonal

On the plus sidethe room was quiet, the bed comfortbale and the room cleaner over the weekend on the 5th floor was very good

Room Tip: go to top floor to escape noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianmLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme J, Manager at Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Good Morning. We employee door staff to ensure the security of residents and to help ensure guests have a safe entrance to their room that does not involve coming in through the bar entrance. As we are a city centre property, we attract a wide range of guests and offer a quieter bar on the 7th floor in our Executive Lounge. I would like to apologise for you not being recognised as a Hilton Honors Member, as we value your brand loyalty. I understand the inconvenience of the alarm sounding during your stay with us and also agree you should have been issued with an apology letter. If you have any further needs, please do not hesitate to get in contact with me directly.

Kind Regards
Graeme
Assistant Nights Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,166
    807
    344
    193
    113
See reviews for
354
1,163
84
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
601 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 753 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We revisited this handily located Hilton - between the dock area and Liverpool One.
As Diamond Honors members we were a bit disappointed to get a room overlooking the bus station but it was very clean and comfy.
The Executive Lounge was much improved on our last visit. This time there were nice canapes, a decent breakfast and helpful staff. The Pima bar service was good both nights of our visit.
An enjoyable stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bathpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme J, Manager at Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We would like to thank you very much for your loyalty to Hilton. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and make good use of the Executive Lounge. I will feedback to the team, so they are aware of the review regarding their good service. We hope to see you again in the fututre

Kind Regards
Graeme
Assistant Nights Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had afternoon tea here today with three work friends and have to say the service as well as the food left quite a bit to be desired. The sandwiches tasted like they had been sitting in a fridge for most of the day - I would expect from a hotel of this standing for them to be made to order and fresh. Unfortunately the cakes were not any better - there was a very strange concoction of a tart with apple puree on the bottom and some very strange Barbie Pink Icing/gloop on the top, which we all scraped off. Must try harder Hilton, maybe Paris likes Barbie pink gloopy tarts but we all agreed that it was the most synthetic cake we had ever eaten. Not to be repeated I am afraid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingmad60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme J, Manager at Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
I am sorry to hear your experience of afternoon tea was not what you expected. Our team members strive to ensure the expectations of all guests are both met and exceeded. We would like the chance to offer you and your friends the experience you expect. Please contact me directly if you would like to accept our offer

Kind Regards
Graeme
Assistant Nights Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Me and my partner had been wanting to see what it was like at the Hilton here in town for a while and the day the giants came to visit Liverpool seemed like the perfect excuse!

Check in was very quick and efficient and check in staff were brilliant and really nice. We stayed on the Friday night and paid extra for an executive room which included access to the executive lounge which I have to say was really worth it, up until 10pm we had access to soft drinks, teas and coffees as well as cookies, crisps and peanuts. Between 6pm and 8pm you could also get beers, ciders, wines and sangria and to eat they provided lots of nibbles these were regularly replenished and the staff on hand were lovely and helpful as well as being friendly and chatty. As well as all this it also included a continental breakfast in the mornings meaning of course toast, pastries, yogurts, cereals, fruit etc but here they also provided sausage, bacon and scrambled eggs this was well worth paying the extra. The room itself is just lovely to sit in too. We have used the executive lounge in the Crowne Plaza L,pool Speke and it doesn't even compare they could learn a thing or two from the Hilton!

The room itself was lovely and we requested a quiet room and got one on the 6th floor I have to say I was expecting noise with it being very busy in town and it being a Friday night but once we entered the lift and the doors closed we couldn't hear anything. Our corridor and room were so quiet despite the bar down stairs having singers and a DJ on and the windows were brilliant keeping out outside noise and being on the 6th floor we had a great view of town, The Malmaison Hotel should take note on how to soundproof a room! The room was nice and clean with everything you needed this included mini bar, nibbles to purchase as well as robes and slippers. The bathroom was also nice with separate bath and shower and lovely toiletries were provided.

We had a few drinks in the hotels Pima Bar which was really nice to sit in and the bar staff were brilliant as was the singer who was on. We also sat outside for a bit which was also nice. Back in our room we decided to order room service it was late so we only had a choice of a few things as there are only a few items you can order 24hrs everything else you can order up until 10pm. We had planned on ordering a meal in our room earlier on but the snacks in the executive lounge were so good we were not ready for anything else till later on. One thing we tried to order which stated could be ordered 24hrs couldn't be ordered, initially I was told they don't provide it after 10pm but once I pointed out the menu stated you could order it I was told they would have to speak to the chef and was later told they had none left, I think basically the menu must need updating in the rooms. We settled on a pizza each and coke, the pizzas were around £14 or £15 each and I'm about 99% sure these were Chicago Town Pizzas, we have these quite a lot at home so knew they were and we were quite shocked to be charged the price we were charged also one between two is more than enough so we ended up with waste ordering two as there was no information regarding size and they didn't come under the sharing menu. There is a £5 tray charge which is standard really and you can also order your breakfast to have in your room. We didn't do this on this hotel visit as we had the exec lounge but we do like to do this quite a lot when staying at hotels it usually costs about £16 pounds each or a few quid less for just the continental plus a tray charge this I think is quite expensive but seems to be a standard price for most hotels however here in the Liverpool Hilton it cost £16 of £17 for just continental and if you want to include a cooked brekkie it's just over £20 each plus your tray charge. I have to say I'm really shocked by this and I have to say a little bit disgusted just over £45 for 2 people to have breakfast in their room is very steep even for a top hotel and I'm shocked by the pricing because they give such a brilliant deal with the executive lounge!

The only other issues we had was although the rooms have air con it doesn't seem powerful enough as on that particular warm night we still felt to warm in the room. We had recently just come back from Doubletree Hilton Chester and air con their was amazing. Mentioning the Doubletree brings me to the wifi as The Hilton charge £7.50 for 24hrs for 3 devices (many hotels do still charge) but there are some hotels such as Doubletree by Hilton who don't charge and a lot of smaller hotels/B&Bs don't charge I just don't see why this should be charged as it is such a basic these days and hotels such as the Hilton charge more than enough for rooms to not have to charge for wifi.

The hotel itself is very secure you can't even open or use the lifts or get access to the stairs up to the rooms without your key card which is great and makes you feel safe especially with it being a town centre hotel.

In general a brilliant hotel with brilliant staff, I would recommend!

Room Tip: Executive rooms on 6th and 7th floor are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David0ff82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme J, Manager at Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are very pleased to hear your extremely positive review. The executive lounge does offer a very quiet and private space and coupling this with an executive room is the perfect match. We have complimentary wifi available currently on the ground floor. If you stay again in the future just pop to reception for an access code. We hope to see you again soon at Hilton Liverpool

Kind Regards
Graeme
Assistant Nights Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked for two nights to see the Giants - we chose the hotel for location and it is perfectly, conveniently positioned by Liverpool One for shopping and opposite the Albert Docks. The staff were friendly, efficient and helpful (changing our room to a higher level to ensure we had a quiet room). The room and en-suite were clean, well proportioned and furnished in a modern style. The house keeping staff were particularly friendly and obliging, providing additional extra towels and changing the duvet for just sheets. The Giants walked past the hotel!

Car parking at Liverpool One is chargeable, but highly convenient and you also receive a voucher ticket from the hotel to reduce the car parking cost. Whilst wifi is available FOC in the public rooms, it is payable in the bedrooms - something that is hard to reconcile when just about every brand recognises the importance of providing wifi as part of the overall brand / package / experience!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room away from the lifts and higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme J, Manager at Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback. We strive to ensure our guests receive the service they expect. We offer complimentary wifi on the ground floor at reception, please ask for an access code if you stay anytime in the future. We hope to see you again in the future

Kind Regards
Graeme
Assistant Nights Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Well situated hotel , close to all the amenities of Liverpool 1 and the Albert Dock.Room comfortable if a little small . Decent bathroom with good class toiletries . No free wi-fi . Breakfast average .Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme J, Manager at Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the positive feedback. We strive to ensure our guests receive the service they expect. We offer complimentary wifi on the ground floor at reception, please ask for an access code if you stay anytime in the future. We hope to see you again in the future

Kind Regards
Graeme
Assistant Nights Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Booked this as a treat as were out in Liverpool as it saved us the hassle of getting a taxi home (we live in the city)

We've stayed in other Hilton hotels and to be honest, this one doesn't really live up to the rest. It's a lovely new building, and we quite often end our nights in the bar here, so it made sense to stay the night this time round.

I'm guessing it was because it was night time and the entertainment had already started, but the receptionist couldn't hear us (or the customer before) and seemed to have lost interest in trying. Reception has always been separate to the entertainments area in every other hotel we've stayed in, but perhaps a wall was too much to ask when this was built six or seven years ago.

We had booked room only and were asked about breakfast, which we declined. When we got to our room, we called reception about the mini-bar, and were told "You were asked about extras on check in and you said no" in a pretty brusk manner. Oh well. No over-priced Pringles for me then!

Room was nice and spacious, air conditioning worked to a degree (you can call reception to ask them to boost the power a bit if you're still too hot) and the TV was good. We only used it to sleep in though but it did look as though it wouldn't be too uncomfortable to spend a few hours in during the day.

Bed was firm, view was of the bus station (odd numbered rooms will have this) but as a base it served it's purpose adequately, albeit for a price.

Room Tip: even numbered rooms will likely get you a view of the city centre rather than the bus station. h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme J, Manager at Hilton Liverpool City Centre, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We appreciate the feedback you have provided. We are happy to hear you are a regular guest to Pima bar and have positive feedback regarding the bedroom. I have passed on the concerns raised to the relevant departments, if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me directly

Kind Regards
Graeme
Assistant Nights Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Malmaison Liverpool
#31 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,585 reviews
Posh Pads Liverpool ONE
#8 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Liverpool City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Liverpool City Centre

Property: Hilton Liverpool City Centre
Address: 3 Thomas Steers Way, Liverpool L1 8LW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Spa Hotel in Liverpool
#16 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#17 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#26 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Liverpool City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotelopia so you can book your Hilton Liverpool City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Liverpool Hotel Liverpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing